We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The room was musty and mold was present on the vents”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Springs Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Hot Springs
Higginsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The room was musty and mold was present on the vents”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My husband and I went to Ths Springs for a relaxing Spa experience. We were given a room with a less than desirable view, The room was very musty and there was mold on the vents. The room was unclean and decor was dirty and old. We felt sick within minutes of being in the room and were unable to stay. We paid a $25.00 charge to cancel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
These guests were shown the room prior to them booking it to stay for the evening. After the guests saw the room they decided to take the room. After using the spa facilities on-site, the guests then decided not to stay. They never said that their were problems with their room. Therefore we charged a $25.00 cancellation fee to the guests and let them leave the property. Our Housekeepers went back to the room and got it ready to rent for the next guests. The guests who eventually booked the room for the evening were very pleased with the room and had no complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    66
    71
    69
    121
See reviews for
81
126
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This is a hotel on the main drag of Hot Springs -easy walk to the Bath Houses. While not as bad as some of the reviews it was not 'horrendous or terrible' Found it to be average in quality and after arriving and seeing downtown I expected worse. Room was clean but dated as was the lobby, facade, parking. Staff was friendly and helpful and only glitch was room was not ready until late in the afternoon. The whole area was dated. Was less impressed by the other buildings in Hot Springs - aside from the Bath Houses Hot Springs not up to date.........

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We may as well have slept outside. First room we got the toilet leaked bad, then the next room we got still had other peoples soap and shampoo in the tub. The toilet leaked from the handle in this room. The carpet looked horrible like it never gets vacuumed or cleaned. The front desk seemed unhappy to be working there. The balcony still had cig butts on it and hadn't been swept off. Nothing about it made you feel like you were in a clean room. Will never come back! The pics look better than the actual thing. My daughter has asthma and she had a lot of trouble breathing well. The vents were covered In dust bad. I slept with my clothes on. We didn't dare use the coffee pot no telling when it was last cleaned. It was below awful.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coryography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarey, Guest Relations Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay.

We apologize for the cleanliness quality of your room. We do pride our hotel in service, quality, and especially cleanliness. We are taking the proper steps to address the problems you had during your stay.

Please keep us in mind when you visit Hot Sprins again, and we will take take the proper steps to treat your stay as comfortable as possible. We will make your stay better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hot Springs hotels

Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I went to Hot Springs to relax for a long overdue vacation. I do not travel without my dog. After several hours of searching the internet to try to find a "pet friendly" hotel I picked this one. The hotel was FULL of drunks that were extremely loud and of course made my dog bark. The manager Fran,who is the rudest person I have EVER came in contact with, put me through pure HECK over my dog barking even though I was told by a staff member that the drunks were agging on my dog by making barking noises. I was a hostage in the room because if I ever left the room the manager Fran would call an ORDER me VERY RUDELY to come back and "take car of my dog".

This hotel IS NOT PET FRIENDLY.
To try and make a super long HORROR story short, It iwas also 85-90 degrees in our room because Hot Springs was "Unseasonably" hot and per the manager Fran's remarks "This is a old hotel and it takes 3 days to get the heat changed over to air conditining. So open up your door on your balconey." Then when you opened up the balcony door you had the pleasure of seeing and hearing all the drunks that were around you hooping and hollering and URINATING off their balconies onto yours. Don't bother complaining because nothing will be done. I tried. It must be alirhgt to the management to have drunks making the hotel sound like a loud bar and screaming and hollering but heaven forbid a dog bark in a "pet frindly" hotel.

I could go on and on but I hope you get the point. This IS NOT the place to go and relax, and the Manager.........well hope you get the point about her.

There were 2 pluses........the resturant has excellent food and service and the Spa was wonderful with great staff.

BEWARE OF THE MANAGER FRAN IF YOU GO HERE!!!!!!!!! SHE HAS A VERY SHARP TONGUE AND DOES NOT MIND SCREAMING AT AND DEGRADING THE GUESTS WITH IT.!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We are very experienced travelers and while The Springs Hotel is dated the perks are great. Wonderful staff make up for worn out furniture, great view of downtown from a private balcony balances out the shabby lobby. The rooms are very spacious and the staff bent over backwards for us. We will defiantly stay here again but would pick a different spa.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akrsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shreveport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We found The Springs to be clean, the lobby is really nice and our room was clean and spacious with nice beds and linens. The spa was very nice and the staff wonderful. We didn't eat in the hotel but enjoyed dinner at J's Italian Villa AWESOME!! We will be back in February with the inlaws to enjoy Hot Springs and will stay at The Springs again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Came in to town after a 5 hr drive to find downtown blocked off. Called hotel who said we would have to wait 2 hours because there was an UNEXPECTED Veterans Day parade going on... (This would be the 12th ANNUAL parade !!!) finally got into the room & it's a dump. Mold on ceilings, iron burns on carpet, lamps don't work. Tried to make the best of the night and would move on tomorrow ... Ordered from restaurant - really nice staff, but lousy food. On the way back to the room we had to dodge AT LEAST 3 ceiling leaks. They had towels down almost as if they gave up! I understand old ... But this place needs serious work. I would have rather stayed at Motel 6 instead of this place. Packing up and leaving in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleewaldrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
The Springs Hotel and Spa management apologizes for the poor experience you had with us. We pride ourselves on great customer service and ensuring that all guests have nice accommodations. Unfortunately the hotel has no control over city parades or the city streets being closed to arriving guests. We do, however, have control over the state of our rooms and have never had any complaints on moldy ceilings. The hotel did a "spring cleaning" over the winter season, beginning in October, and cleaned all 133 rooms top to bottom. As for the ceiling leaks in the lobby, leaks happen from time to time in a historic hotel and all leaks are dealt with in a timely manner. The towels were down in the lobby for our guests' safety while the problem was being resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
#28 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hot Springs
Candlewood Suites Hot Springs
#24 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#14 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
#23 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Hotel & Spa

Property: The Springs Hotel & Spa
Address: 135 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Springs Hotel & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Springs Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Hotel Hot Springs
The Springs Hotel And Spa
Springs Hotel Hot
Downtowner Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing