We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Springs Hotel & Spa
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Garland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location - Average Hotel”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights during spring break. After reading the reviews, on tripadvisor, I was a little nervous, but took a chance. Overall, I'd give the hotel an average rating. Nothing outstanding, but not as bad as some people were saying. The hotel is certainly dated. If it were not for the new flat screen TV in the room, the room could have come from about 1975. Despite complaints of hot water problems on this site, we had no such issues. Room did not have a hair dryer, but a call to the front desk remedied that in about 5 minutes. We did not take advantage of the newly-opened restaurant, but it looked fine. Bar looked just okay, with a limited beer selection. Had a room on a smoking floor (I really hadn't thought to say non-smoking, since I have not had a smoking room for 10 years, at least). Smoking down the hall pretty much stunk up the whole floor. Loud next-door neighbors was a problem, since we essentially shared a balcony with them. I would guess we were the only room affected by their noise, however, so that is more of an issue with the guests, not the hotel. (neighbors dropped in at 2:15 a.m. for a little pick-me-up, I guess, then back at 4:30 a.m.) Location is wonderful, since you are within blocks of everything downtown. The beds could be better, but I say that about a lot of places. For the price, it is difficult to have much of an issue with the hotel. Could they do better? Sure. Is it a good price for what you get? Yes. Just don't expect five-star accommodations for a three-star price. That's just not the way it works.

Room Tip: Had a third floor "mountain view" room on the end away from the front desk. If I had my c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    68
    73
    70
    125
See reviews for
87
130
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights for a business trip to Hot Springs. There was some trepidation after reading negative reviews, but it was really a satisfactory stay. Parking is a little scary, since the lot is cut into the hillside behind the hotel. It is located about 200 yards from the site of the 1984 Arlington Hotel parking lot landslide which destroyed several automobiles. It did not inspire confidence when I noted a few large rocks that had slid into the lot. I recommend parking well away from the cliff. The hotel is definitely old school. The lobby is very nice; I did not avail myself of the restaurant. Front desk employees were friendly and helpful. Rooms were old and worn, but clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a burn mark in the carpet caused by a hot iron. The best feature of the hotel is that it is convenient to downtown and close to some good restaurants.

Room Tip: Apparently the mountain side of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahrlebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We just returned from a long week-end in Hot Springs. It was our annual trip with 4 other couples to visit the horse races. We wanted to find a new hotel to stay in the downtown area. We chose the Springs and we were all very pleased. We had stayed at the Arlington in past but the owners have really let the rooms run down. We found The Springs Hotel to be an older hotel but clean. It has much better bathrooms and we were street side with nice view. The staff were all very nice and Lance the manager was very friendly and helpful. We had a great time and would stay there again. We ate several meals at the restaurant and the food was very good.

Room Tip: choose high floor street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jujuwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozark, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My mom and I stayed here one night while my daughter visited the ASMSA campus down the street. This was the closest hotel, and it was also much less expensive than anything nearby. I knew from the rate that it would not be super luxurious, but on their website they stated they made $1 million in renovations in 2008. I don't think those renovations quite made it to our room. The bathroom looked original, but it was clean. The carpet, sofa, and bed covering were worn, but clean. I would recommend this hotel for people who aren't planning on spending lots of time in the room (old tv and not a good wifi connection) but want a good location. We were lucky enough to park right in front of the hotel but had to leave early in order to avoid a ticket. The back parking looked scary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rochelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We love Spring in Hot Springs and of course Oaklawn. The Springs Hotel and Spa is one of the few downtown hotels to offer one night reservations during racing season and at a reasonable price. Staying downtown is where you want to be. Art Galleries, Hot Springs National Park and clubs and restaurants within walking distance. If you want modern I would suggest one of the chain hotels, but you will miss the charm of downtown. Lobby very nice, rooms fine, parking acceptable, staff very helpful and onsite restaurant just opened. We didn't try it, as we have our favorites Angels down the street and Pancake house for Breakfast. Would love to stay longer and try the restaurant.
If you love downtown Hot Springs this is a great option. We do like the Arlington next door, but at twice the price and a two night minimum during Oaklawn decided to give the Springs a try. Glad we did.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front the balcony faces the street so you want on a higher floor. Quieter on the back w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironside54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is an older hotel, as the other reviewers have already mentioned. The lobby is quite nice, the staff is superb, and the location is great if you plan to enjoy the historic district. My take on the place:
*Considering the location, the parking is quite acceptable. It is free and the lot is well lit, and it is not too far from the back door.
*For the age of the hotel, the rooms are attractive and pleasant. The bathroom IS tiny and the receptacles are few and far between for today's standards, but all in all it was well appointed with a granite shower enclosure and granite counters in the bathroom and nice linens on the comfy beds. Nice pillows as well. The room was perfectly clean and smelled fresh.
*The cable TV is not the greatest, but frankly I didn't come to Hot Springs to watch TV!
*The location is great, with a nice little family restaurant either next door or two doors down. WE enjoyed hearing the sounds of the street, especially the horse-drawn carriages clopping back and forth, however, if you want quiet be sure to request a room on the back (mountain) side of the hotel. It was great being right in the historic district since we just walked out the door to visit the local shops...no messing with trying to find a parking place.
*For a hotel in this price range, I've never experienced such an attentive staff. NEVER.
*We had a bit of an issue with the hot water, but the hotel was completely booked for a volleyball tournament when we were there (LOTS of teenaged girls showering) and the old boiler just couldn't keep up, we just showered at off peak times.

This is not a 5 star hotel, but it is quite nice and it is competitive pricewise with a Comfort Inn or Quality Inn type motel. YOU CANNOT BEAT IT FOR THE PRICE. When you factor in the exceptional service, why go anywhere else? I hate that reviews have nit picked every tiny flaw in this place because it is a really, really enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammyomammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This property needs updating--just a little shabby considering there are other hotels competing for business. The best thing is that the location is right downtown near the springs and bath houses. The parking and reception areas are horrible and not at all secure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
#27 of 45 in Hot Springs
274 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#6 of 45 in Hot Springs
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#11 of 45 in Hot Springs
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#20 of 45 in Hot Springs
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
#24 of 45 in Hot Springs
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Hotel & Spa

Property: The Springs Hotel & Spa
Address: 135 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Springs Hotel & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Springs Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Hotel Hot Springs
The Springs Hotel And Spa
Springs Hotel Hot
Downtowner Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing