We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go to this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Springs Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have never written a negative lodging review. This hotel provided me with the worst experience ever. The 2 people at check in took forever to register us. We specifically asked about quality of wifi and said it was good. Neglected to tell us that wasn't working on our floor. Funny thing is that there many open rooms they could have let us go in. The tv was all "ant races." They didn't tell us that the noise outside on the street side was incredible late into the night. No hair dryer in room. The staff didn't care at all and no apologies from management. Totally indifferent staff. They weren't able to provide us with receipts due bad printer. The waitress in the restaurant was ice. The hotel is in a decent area. I can put up with almost anything except for indifference and incompetence
Skip this joint and go to the Arlington instead

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel. If u do stay away from street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

The hotel has recently went through an exchange of ownership, but now the previous owners have taken it back. With the change, new management was brought in who was not taking care of the hotel. We are currently trying to straighten everything out, but things are looking up. We hope that the changes we are making: flat screens, housekeeping personnel, front desk personnel, and on-going maintenance corrections will make our guests satisfied.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we apologize for any inconveniences. We really are a great hotel in a prime location. If you are ever back in Hot Springs, please try us again to see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had paid for and booked a room for the 26th and 27th of april back in febuary. We showed up on the 26th and was told we had reservations but room was not prepaid. Took about 20 minutes to finally show them paid reciept and get the room. We go to the room to see bad burn marks in carpet and stains everywhere on carpet. The bathroom has mold around the tub and the sheets on the bed are stained. We had an appointment which also we confirmed two weeks ahead of time for bath and massage set for 1:30 pm on the 27th that also was prepaid for. Showed up, no reseverations for 2 at that time for us but maybe they could fit us in on sunday. I had enought and checked out on saturday at 2:00 pm and they don"t do refunds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

The hotel has recently went through an exchange of ownership, but now the previous owners have taken it back. With the changes new management was brought in, who was not taking care of the hotel. We are currently trying straighten everything out, but things are looking up. We hope that the changes we are making: flat screens, housekeeping personnel, and on-going maintenance corrections we will make our guests satisfied.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we apologize for any inconveniences. We really are a great hotel in a prime location. If you are ever back in Hot Springs, please try us again to see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our name is the Skidmores from Jonesboro the hotel is nasty ,no hot water, hotel staff were rude untrained and ignorant to say the least . My wife complained to the manager but no help we had to switch rooms because of smell and the tv woudnt work the maint. man was super nice the other front desk help Donald he is special I think also really rude didnt get the others names but none the less rude as well . The second rooom had no hot water and no air. we had a great time no thanks to the hotel. 4- 24 to 4-27-14 My wife also suposedly talked to the main property manager who flew in from texas he looked like he slept in in his clothes in a dumpster, the resteraunt was horrible they made us eat in the bar the food was raw after an hour of waiting there reply was they didnt think they were gona be busy that night what a crock.

Room Tip: all rooms are bad pictures are misleading (BAD HOTEL) Do not stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

The hotel has recently went through an exchange of ownership, but now the previous owners have taken it back. With the changes new management was brought in, who was not taking care of the hotel. We are currently trying to straighten everything out, but things are looking up. We hope that the changes we are making: flat screens, housekeeping personnel, and on-going maintenance corrections will make our guests satisfied.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we apologize for any inconveniences. We really are a great hotel in a prime location. If you are ever back in Hot Springs, please try us again to see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is what it is, a trifecta of noisy, dirty, and smelly. I wouldn't be quite as disappointed if I hadn't been duped into staying here with Priceline's bait and switch Express Deal. This place was at least 1 1/2 stars lower than what Priceline claimed I would get. The only reason I didn't give it 1 star is because the towels are decent. If you are bothered by traffic noise, musty or cigarette odors, poor maintenance, or obvious filth, then this isn't the place for you. Also, the internet doesn't work and the employees seem rather unhappy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank t-phile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

The hotel has recently went through an exchange of ownership, but now the previous owners have taken it back. With the changes new management was brought in, who was not taking care of the hotel. We are currently trying straighten everything out, but things are looking up. We hope that the changes we are making: flat screens, housekeeping personnel, and on-going maintenance corrections we will make our guests satisfied.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we apologize for any inconveniences. We really are a great hotel in a prime location. If you are ever back in Hot Springs, please try us again to see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The lobby is very misleading with its beautiful marble and waterfall. Should have turned around and found something else when 2 people in front of us had reservations and they mysteriously lost them and had to park behind the hotel in a not so safe place and walk back to the hotel. Didn't feel safe in the elevator going up to the 8th floor where we was Spose to have a view of the city but got a view of dumpsters and vehicles. Walk into the room where the smell of mold hit u in the face and there was burn marks all over the carpet and several spots on the floor that had been patched with different pieces of carpet. Walk in the bathroom finding urine in the toilet. Cheetos crackers and no telling Wat else was under the edge of the bed. Took a shower and stood in a foot of water cause the drain was clogged and the water went from cold to scalding hot was never just warm and comfortable. After no sleep and very irritated was checking out and had to wait for employee to get done with her complaining cell phone call to I'm guessing a family member about having to work on sunday. I will never stay here again and I wouldn't recommend anyone else to either!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel during your stay in Hot Springs.

We do have a great lobby and we appreciate your comment, but our rooms are just as nice and quaint. I read that we had missed a couple of items in the room, which is inexcusable. We will get with our team to make sure we are more thorough in our cleaning. Our parking lot is very safe and we have no problems with our parking area, rest assured. We will make sure that our front desk staff is trained properly and be more tentative to our guests. I do apologize during your checkout process, but sometimes an important life detail may arise that is unavoidable.

We do apologize for you not getting the city view. We have many requests for the city view, and sometimes we are not able to accommodate all of the requests. The city view is great, but so is the mountain view. The mountain view is quiet and relaxing, depending on a person's perspective.

We will keep trying to do better. We have a great hotel and staff and we know we have some faults at times, but are one of the only hotels in the smallest national park in the U.S. We have many shops, restaurants, and BATHHOUSES! All within walking distance. We also have balconies within all of our rooms. So, please don't let this review deter you away from one of the best hotels in Hot Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Checked in early on Thursday March 10, 2014. The young lady at the front desk was very nice. Went to our room on the 7th floor to discover NO hot water and cold water was brownish red when we turned it on. Hotel manager stated the hot water issue would be fixed by 4pm and to run the cold water until clear and it would be safe to drink. Then discovered all TV's in the rooms were not working properly and could only receive 7 channels which were mainly local stations. Needless to say, we did not watch the Master's golf tournament. 4 pm came and no hot water. Asked for some type of compensation and was told 25$. Went back to room and tried to turn on airconditioner. Long story short, was told that airconditioning on 7th floor did not work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsyw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

WE are extremely disappointed with your experience at the Springs Hotel & Spa. We did have hot water issues due to a plumbers error connecting the pipes. We have since fixed the problem and the water is clear, good, and hot or cold. This was a trying time for us as well, because were unable to solve the problem with three plumbing companies. Each plumber had a solution, but no solution worked.

The televisions have since been analyzed and we believe this problem to be fixed. We are currently updating out televisions to flat screen and we think this will alleviate the problem.

I hope that this bad weekend will not deter you away from us in the future. Your experience is not a typical experience, just as long the plumbers can fix any problem that may arise. I thank you for giving our front desk clerk a complement and we will let her know. Again, we are a great hotel on Central Avenue and we hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed two nights and had a great view. Enjoyed being downtown and within walking distance of shopping and music. Very friendly staff. Will definitely come back. Reasonable priced with awesome location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellyw425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and thank you for your lovely comments. We appreciate you so much. Come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
#32 of 45 in Hot Springs
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#4 of 45 in Hot Springs
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
#25 of 45 in Hot Springs
202 reviews
6.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
5.3 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#14 of 45 in Hot Springs
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Hotel & Spa

Address: 135 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: £47 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Springs Hotel & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Springs Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Hotel Hot Springs
The Springs Hotel And Spa
Springs Hotel Hot
Downtowner Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing