We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let the lobby fool you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Springs Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Hot Springs
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't let the lobby fool you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The outside of the hotel is pretty run down, but the lobby is really nice and renovated. The rooms however are not very modern. There are no refrigerators in the rooms, and the beds are double not queen beds. The balcony in the back overlooks a parking lot or what looks like a concrete mountainside. Not very appealing. The front side is right on the street and very noisy. It is definitely not worth the cost of the room.

Room Tip: The suites may be a better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgoodner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
We are in the center of the historic district of Hot Springs and are surrounding by older buildings. We believe this is part of the charm of our hotel. The springs themselves are just a few paces from our lobby door and from there one can find nature in all its glory: the waterfall of the hot springs, the hiking trails and views of the city and mountains. The majority of our rooms offer either a King bed or two double beds (we do offer a limited number of suites). Many of our rooms now have flat screen TVs and all have cable TV. Most of our rooms have private balconies. There is not a better place to stay than our hotel in Hot Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    65
    70
    68
    119
See reviews for
78
124
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Well very sad too say just got back from The Springs Hotel and Spa. It was not a long stay but enough to say was not like the pic's you see on line.. Was dirty and no one that worked there ever said one word to us while we where there other than one elderly gentleman who was nice.
Got to our $109 room and I was not happy at all! It was very small, very old and not up dated at all. The view of the pool was the best attribute and it was nice.
There was coffee in the room but no coffee pot. We called down two times they never sent us one! Then went down and told them in person nothing was done still. Asked for more pillows well they never came either! There was no coffee down stairs in the mooring. But a coffee machine that you could get a cup for a buck.l The bar was shut down because they had not payed there taxes posted on the door.
So to sums this up, stay down the road and you will be better off and it will cost lest and you will get a free continental breakfast and most likely someone who might care a bit more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
We apologize for no coffee pot in the room. We try to make sure there is a working coffee pot in every room. We should have found you one. In a small town, the restaurant business is very competitive and sometimes difficult (especially in a seasonal town like Hot Springs). We had no affiliation with the restaurant that closed. We are, however, surrounded with an abundance of great restaurants in walking distance. There is one pancake house next door to our hotel and another one across the street (both are great and offer breakfast and coffee).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hot Springs hotels

South Haven
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in the historic district and is of course old. This we were expecting. The air condition thermostat was broken in our room and when we called the desk, we were told maintenance had already left for the day and desk person was only one there. We were finally able to adjust it with a pair of tweezers. Room was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faithlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Yes, we are in the historic district in America’s smallest National Park. Sometimes the thermostat on air conditioners can be confusing. We are happy that your room did ultimately cool down and that you found the room to be clean (we take great pride in our cleaning staff). Thank you for your stay at the Springs Hotel & Spa (we are one of the few hotels that has the spring waters pumped directly into our Spa).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
408 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a pretty cool old property...and the staff was absolutely great...terrific location in Hot Springs...right in the middle of everything...but really...its kind of run down...they really need to do some renovations...the main lobby area is pretty nice...but the rooms are pretty dated! We still enjoyed it...and again...the location is great!

Room Tip: Get a room up high...overlooking the street...thats the best part of this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cary and Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It is true our staff is terrific and our location is fabulous. We are located in the heart of America’s oldest National Park and just two hundred yards from the hot springs (and what a wonder to behold). Our rooms begin on the third floor, so everyone has a view of the park from their private balcony. It is true, we are a historical hotel in a historical setting but our rooms are clean and comfortable. Thank you for staying with us. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Husband and I planned a quick get away for our anniversary. This place absolutely ruined it. The room was old our bed was broken and lopsided then to top it off there were spiders everywhere all over the patio. The help at the front was rude and said there was nothing they could do. We checked out and came back home because it was absolutely horrible - there was no way I could feel okay with spiders everywhere. They also
refused to give us a refund. Completely a terrible horrible hotel. Please don't stay here. We worked and saved so hard just to be able to get away for our anniversary and this place ruined it completely even the Maintenance man said they should shut the place down. I am so disappointed all we wanted was a romantic getaway and we got nothing of the sort

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank hj1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Yes we do offer private patios in each room overlooking America’s first National Park. But being outdoors sometimes means dealing with insects. We are surrounded by mountains, springs and acres and acres of woods. Everything works in the hotel, from the elevators, AC, TVs, and electronic doors. We believe we offer a unique experience to our guests and we believe our beds are quite comfortable. hot water,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

we just recently stayed there for two days which felt like a week the hotel is very old looks good from lobby but when we got to our room it was old and the paint was chipping our toilet had crap in it wouldnt flush took us like ten trys to get it down and the tv remote didnt work on tv had to stand there and change channels we told the girl at front desk and a she said they would be up to check it all out and they never showed up and our tub want draining then our room wasnt cleaned we left all morning for it to be cleaned got back called front desk the old guy on phone said he would get a hold of the cleaning lady that she should have straightened room and made beds then she knocked on door and dropped off towels and coffee that was all didnt even vacuum or anything no microwave in rooms just a 1920 stove fridge sink combo the pool is also closed on monday which is bull they didnt even try to clean til like 4:00 we have the mineral bath and massasge on saturday and they where unorganized the machine in my tub that creates bubbles didnt work right she kept having to come in my room not very relaxing then there was mold all over celing and it was peeling everywhere the massage was pretty good a little rough but the girl who did the massages wasnt very good at all then they didnt give me my clothes i was walking around in a sheet no robes or anything then after my massage they forgot to bring my clothes to me had to ask so i would stay somewhere else at least til they remodel it it was cheap but now i know why also no parking in front its all behind hotel up a steep hill

Room Tip: listen to the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fvs111, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Occasionally the remote on the TVs needs new batteries. We carry them at the front desk. If you had trouble with the toilet we would have given you a new room had you asked for one. If a “Do Not Disturb” sign is attached to the door, the maids will not come in the room. They will, however, bring fresh towels and coffee to your door. We are in the Historic District where parking is limited on the street. We do have two large parking lots behind the hotel (which unlike other hotels in the area are always free for our guests). During the summer months when the pool is used heavily on the weekends, it is necessary on Mondays to chemically treat the pool (and to close it for the day). We are upgrading our rooms; we now have flat screen TVs in many of them. Thank you for your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Springs Hotel and Spa rooms are massive, and the bed I had was a king with feather pillows which I love. I travela great deal for pleasure and I'm over 6' and 280 lbs so I enjoy a bed that has room. I slept like a baby. The wifi was great. The room had a balcony with a great view. The hotel was very quiet and the resturant within was excellent. Staff friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldWennerstr... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
#28 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hot Springs
Candlewood Suites Hot Springs
#23 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#18 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
#24 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Hotel & Spa

Property: The Springs Hotel & Spa
Address: 135 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Springs Hotel & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Springs Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Hotel Hot Springs
The Springs Hotel And Spa
Springs Hotel Hot
Downtowner Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing