We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lakeside atmosphere”
Review of The Boathouse Restaurant - CLOSED

The Boathouse Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Trussville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great lakeside atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stopped here on Friday, July 5th on the recommendation of our Innkeeper. We decided to breakout of the Bathhouse Row touristy area and start here. We started our "progressive" dinner here for a drink and appetizer.

We sat out back by the lake to view the water. It was too early for sunset. There was only one table of folks so we likely beat the dinner rush.

We decided on the crab dip and chips for appetizer. It arrived promptly and was very appealing. The chips were fresh and the dip had a golden crust on top. It was very good.

This looks like a great place for dinner or a group out back on the deck, watching boats come in and enjoying the sunset.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank maximac222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado springs
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok with good outdoor lake view”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The food is just ok but the outdoor dining with a lake view is good. It is pretty good bar food and a view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sneakypeter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Formerly Doe's Steakhouse”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Went there with a group of girls for dinner and was impressed with crab dip appetizer and several other menu items. We ordered a variety of things from the menu and there were no complaints. We called ahead and even got a room to ourselves.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daffodildawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, price a little high”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Good food but the price was a little high for what we ate. Good drinks and good live music. Would go again

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tigerfan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our first time at this restaurants and it was pretty good. I liked the outdoor seating and also the live music although he was a bit loud and got a little silly at times interacting with his "audience" of little girls and their mommies. Everyone's food was good though and the service was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msfeebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing