We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zip Lines at Ouachita Bend

Zip Lines at Ouachita Bend
Ranked #3 of 11 Tours in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A full service 7 line zip line course including hiking between zips.
Rowlett, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The people that run the place are very good at what they do. Be ready for a good hike! I wasn't ready for the high altitude. We left one of our water bottles and Cindy went out of her to meet up with us to return it. The views were very nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy S, Owner at Zip Lines at Ouachita Bend, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We try to make our zip line tours fun and safe for everyone. I hope you will come back on your next visit to Hot Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
239 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, attentive guides, safety-focused operation, and FUN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The web site advertises that this adventure combines zipping with hiking, so hopefully all are now aware that there is some hiking between zip lines. But the guides are courteous, provide rest stops, and take a slow pace if needed. Some of the 7 zip lines take off from platforms, accessible by ladder structures, so there are a few ladder steps required, too! However, we talked to a 73 year old who loved this adventure as much as we did! We loved ziplining through the trees and over the green valleys, on zip lines that were long enough and safe enough that we could lay back with our arms and legs extended to experience the thrill of flying! We had been reluctant to go in July because of concerns about the heat and bugs, but used bug spray prior to zipping, and found there was a pleasant breeze up in the mountains! The friendliness, attentiveness and safety-first and environment-protection orientation of the owner and guides exceeded our expectations. They even provided "free" metal water bottles with their logo, and 2 kinds of hand sanitizer in the porta potty, and posted group photos on Facebook!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasMomTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Zips were fun but hike was tiring!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We went zip lining during our family reunion. Our guides were awesome! The zips were great! The scenery was amazing! But we were unprepared (our fault - we are out of shape) for the hikes between some of the lines. Overall - I would absolutely recommend the adventure .. but if you're an out of shape cubicle surfer like me, be prepared!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SharonFromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
226 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Interrupted by weather but great fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We've been visiting Hot Springs annually for about 7 years now - this was a family trip with an 11 yo in the party. We've also tried ziplines in other locations (Gatlinburg, Vermont, MegaCavern). So we decided to try this while we were in town. The price was reasonable compared to the other ziplines we have taken. When we arrived, we discovered why. This was the first one we’ve been to that did not really have a establishment/structure – it is rugged and rustic with only a parking area, canopy, and a container building. So bring what you need, plan on using a port-a-potty, and bring a snack! (We brought a picnic lunch that we enjoyed at nearby Lake Catherine State Park) We were a little taken back by the limited amenities that were not what we had seen at other places but proceeded with the adventure. This excursion was also a little different in that you had to hike between the lines (rather than zip from tree to tree or platform). The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. You will not need to have any knowledge of how to connect on the line, brake or return on a line if you were to stop short – they staff take care of all aspects of the launch and stop. You just enjoy the zip experience! A storm approached while we were out and we only completed a portion of the course. They evacuated us from the course and happily refunded a pro-rate of our fee. Despite the weather cutting it short, it was a good experience and the rain, evacuation, and huddling in the container building made for quite a story to tell! When we visit the area again, we would return to do this again. I would highly recommend this if you are looking for a high adventure – zipping is a thrill!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome zip lining in the mountains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We went in early June it it was an amazing time. The group was just the right size (8 of us) and there was little waiting. Be ready for a good hike but the countryside is beautiful and it's a fun 3 hours. We'll definitely do it the next time we are in Hot Springs and highly recommend it to anyone looking for adventure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zip Lines at Ouachita Bend also viewed

 

Been to Zip Lines at Ouachita Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing