We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phil's Restaurant

Phil's Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 269 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Phil's, it is our goal to make you feel like one of the family! We want your experience at Phil's to be just like coming home for a meal with your family. Join us, and "make yourself at home." Phil Dugan began his journey in the restaurant business in 1970. He started when he was fifteen years old working at Jud's Steak House. He then worked twenty-six years for Western Sizzlin Steak House. In June of 2001, he opened Phil's Family Restaurant on Grand Avenue and in 2014 made the move to 2900 Central Avenue directly across the street from the entrance to Oaklawn Park Race Track. Phil's offers the best in southern style home cooking - just like home, but without the mess! :-) We hope to see you time and time again - as we welcome you, your friends, and your family to OUR family!
Greenbrier, Arkansas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Right across from Oaklawn's new entrance in a nicely decorated, clean building. Had a HUGE breakfast this morning with unbelievable portions. Delicious food and good service. Hubby had pecan pancakes with his meal - 2 plate-sized, thick ones - very good! My only negative is the same one I have everywhere and that is the gravy made from a mix. At least Phil adds real sausage to his, but still............it's not hard to make good sausage gravy from a roux. The lunch menu on the board sounded good. They're open 7 days a week but only till 2:30.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
(Just recently realized how to reply and connect with our guests on here.)
I wanted to connect and let you know we definitely appreciate your support and time in writing a review for us and helping us to spread the word about Phil's Restaurant!

THANK YOU!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    17
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great new location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Phils has moved to a new location directly across fron the new entrance to Oaklawn
Excellent Breakfast and lunch!
Large portions and good service!

Helpful?
Thank Elo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
(Just recently realized how to reply and connect with our guests on here.)

As always, we appreciate your support!!! You are always a great supporter and help in getting the word out about Phil's and the great job Phil does sharing his love of food and cooking with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Hill, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Won der ful!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Food was Good, the people were Great and experience was Great. Love it. Just be prepared, they serve a LOT of Food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank msgmathis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
Just an update in case you hadn't heard already.... we are now at 2900 Central Avenue, directly across from the new entrance to Oaklawn Park Race Track. We still have huge portions to make sure you are satisfied and full when you leave!

Thank you for the support and time in sharing a review about us.
(Just recently realized how to reply and connect with our guests on here.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best breakfast place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Phil's is the place to go for a big, hearty Southern breakfast. Be hungry when you go, they give you lots. Try an omelet or the plate-size pancakes. Everything is cooked to order, so you can have it exactly as you want. They also have great lunch specials -- chicken fried steak, pork loin, etc. The restaurant is in the Howard Johnson Motel. It doesn't look like much from the outside. The inside is decorated with antiques and holiday decor. Don't go for the looks, go for the great food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mpar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
Just an update in case you hadn't heard already.... we are now at 2900 Central Avenue, directly across from the new entrance to Oaklawn Park Race Track.

Thank you for the support and time in sharing a review about us.
(Just recently realized how to reply and connect with our guests on here.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Phil's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing