We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! ”
Review of Phil's Restaurant

Phil's Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 274 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Description: At Phil's, it is our goal to make you feel like one of the family! We want your experience at Phil's to be just like coming home for a meal with your family. Join us, and "make yourself at home." Phil Dugan began his journey in the restaurant business in 1970. He started when he was fifteen years old working at Jud's Steak House. He then worked twenty-six years for Western Sizzlin Steak House. In June of 2001, he opened Phil's Family Restaurant on Grand Avenue and in 2014 made the move to 2900 Central Avenue directly across the street from the entrance to Oaklawn Park Race Track. Phil's offers the best in southern style home cooking - just like home, but without the mess! :-) We hope to see you time and time again - as we welcome you, your friends, and your family to OUR family!
Restaurant details
Description: At Phil's, it is our goal to make you feel like one of the family! We want your experience at Phil's to be just like coming home for a meal with your family. Join us, and "make yourself at home." Phil Dugan began his journey in the restaurant business in 1970. He started when he was fifteen years old working at Jud's Steak House. He then worked twenty-six years for Western Sizzlin Steak House. In June of 2001, he opened Phil's Family Restaurant on Grand Avenue and in 2014 made the move to 2900 Central Avenue directly across the street from the entrance to Oaklawn Park Race Track. Phil's offers the best in southern style home cooking - just like home, but without the mess! :-) We hope to see you time and time again - as we welcome you, your friends, and your family to OUR family!
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! ”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable breakfast and the food is great! The omelet and pancake were really good and the service was friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jani O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
(Just recently realized how to reply and connect with our guests on here.)

We are thrilled you enjoyed the omelet! They are one of our customer favorites and definitely huge and filling!! I love mine with the biscuits and gravy not to mention the hash browns (even add a little gravy on those as well... yummy!!!)!

THANK YOU for your review and support!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    22
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This place gives you more food than you can eat
Great food and service!
Prices are really good!
Try it! You will like it !
Breakfast is great, try a pancake!

Helpful?
2 Thank Elo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
(Just recently realized how to reply and connect with our guests on here.)
We definitely appreciate your support and time in writing a review for us and helping us to spread the word about Phil's Restaurant!

The pancakes are definitely a favorite of our guests for breakfast, especially with the added blueberries or pecans! :-)

THANK YOU!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Homemade goodness at a great price!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My son and I stopped in to Phil's for breakfast, but found that they only serve it till 11:30. So, for lunch I had the daily special which was meatloaf, potatoes and green beans. (They have other sides, this is just what I chose). It was very good and plenty of food for just $5.99! My son had the club sandwich that also was yummy and large enough to take a bit home with him.
Phil's has special plates that they feature each day. Like Lazagna on Mondays and Chicken & Dumplins on Wednesdays...Both of which I look forward to going back to try. This is not a "fancy type" resturant as it is in a refurbished house...but that is fitting as this food is really Home Made Goodness.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
(Just recently realized how to reply and connect with our guests on here.)
I wanted to connect and let you know we definitely appreciate your support and time in writing a review for us and helping us to spread the word about Phil's Restaurant!

We are so honored you guys chose to allow us to be a part of your day! The meatloaf is one of my many favorites! As for the Club sandwich, OMG, it is delicious and definitely HUGE!

THANK YOU!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Phils is great!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Phils is a great family Resturant just across the street from the new entrance to Oaklawn
They have a great breakfast and daily lunch specials that vary every day and are very reasonable
All in all they deliver beyond expectations

Helpful?
1 Thank Elo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
THANK YOU for the kind words!!! Always a pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltom City, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly tasty on a budget...locals eat here”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Visited this restaurant on a wednesday,went back on friday..after racing season so it wasnt busy..seated ourselves and were promptly menued and offered beverages by a very friendly waitress..the prices were very good for all breakfast offerings..our order was served hot and was cooked to order and very hot,all condiments were brought without asking and coffee refills came just in time..pancake as big as the plate..Phil came out and asked all the diners about their meal..seems like the place is frequented by the locals and we liked it so much we ate here twice during our four day stay..better than the chains and very convenient to race track and bathhouse row

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
(Just recently realized how to reply and connect with our guests on here, sorry for the delay!)
I definitely want to say THANK YOU for allowing us to be a part of your visit to the Hot Springs area! We do have a LOT of local regulars and love seeing them as well as all our new friends who are visiting the area!
We hope you will stop by again on your next visit to the beautiful Hot Springs area!!!

THANK YOU again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Phil's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing