We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for the Money”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is an old hotel with a lot of "character". If you're looking for a luxurious hotel, this isn't it. This hotel has the look and feel of a hotel from the early 20th century.

The rooms have high ceilings and very few decorations. There was a small TV in the room with basic cable channels; probably 20 channels total. The bed was LOUD when you sat down on it. You can hear sounds from other rooms on the floor. I heard several people singing Happy Birthday around 11:00PM on night. My friend across the hall said he heard someone's dog all night. The bathroom is on the small side. The water pressure in the shower was very good and I had plenty of hot water both times I've stayed at this hotel.

Parking is a little cramped; but, there is extra parking in an adjacent parking lot. The adjacent parking lot didn't give me a warm fuzzy feeling; but, my vehcile was still there the next morning.

The hotel is within walking distance of the bath houses and down town shops. The Pancake Shoppe (cash only) is just a few minutes walk. Decent restaurants, Walmart, horse track, etc are a short drive straight down Central Ave from the hotel.

Overall, the hotel is OK for the money if you're looking for a place to spend the night without a lot of frills.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    81
    49
    39
    59
See reviews for
44
119
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Park Hotel
This historic hotel was built in 1929 and opened to the public in 1930. It is not nearly as large as other old historic hotels in Hot Springs, such as the Arlington, and, while others such as the Majestic have closed, the Park has apparently been operating continuously since 1930. Reasonably priced for the area at $86, our third floor room with two twin beds was small with a small but adequate bathroom with good water pressure. Beds were comfortable but sheets were not fitted and were a bit small for the mattress, thus would not stay tucked, making for a somewhat uncomfortable night. There is a Civil War book shop just off the lobby which has an extensive selection of Civil War books and memorabilia. The hotel website mentions that President Harry Truman frequented the hotel, staying in his favorite room, # 401. The in-house restaurant (Angel's in the Park) was nice, open for dinner only, with a full bar and varied, predominantly Italian, menu. It is located on Fountain Street, just beyond the huge Arlington Hotel and across the street from the upper entrance to the National Park Grand Promenade which runs behind Bathhouse Row from Fountain street to the downtown area and provides access to the historic area as well as to trails that branch off and up Hot Springs Mountain. There is an automated elevator for guests and, though we did not see it operate, the 1929 elevator, requiring an operator, is supposed to still be functional. All in all, our stay was pleasant and enjoyable. The staff, especially Chakita (sp?) at check in at the front desk , was friendly and helpful. I would recommend it for anyone for at least one night just to experience the historical ambiance, but it would be fine for longer unless you want something more luxurious.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haynesville
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Pictures on internet are deceiving and the Park Hotel looks nothing like photos. It it very poorly taken care of, cracks in walls, no curtains, blinds do not close to block light and blinds are Dollar Store quality. There also is no coffee pot, microwave, air conditioner , no refrigerator or other amenities that travelers are used too. Does not supply enough towels or wash cloths, etc. Heard staff at front desk talking about us complaining about the hotel to other front desk employees. Park Hotel employees are not professional, nor professionally dressed. I booked 2 rooms with 2 double beds and these beds were like oversized twin beds. My brother had 2 rooms which one was a suite and come to find out while discussing with my brother I was charged double the price for my 2 night stay than my brother. Park Hotel should be considered Park Motel and a stay by the hour for a guy who wants a woman for a couple hours, as this is not a place to stay and be comfortable. Owner does not keep this place up to par, it is run down to the age of the civil war. Beds squeak, but there should be another word for squeak, cause if you roll over or move in the bed it wakes up everybody. Mattresses are as old as the civil war. This was a very uncomfortable place to stay and it is way over priced. Personnel do not smile and do not like you complaining. I say, RUN, RUN, RUN away from this place. I could go on and on, but this my first stay and last. After arriving and seeing place and room I discussed with front desk clerk that it was 2:30 am when I arrived and I couldn't promise her that I would be staying the next morning and clerk told me that there wasn't any refunds less than 48 hour notice, so be prepared if you decide to book this stay for your blood pressure to go up.

Room Tip: There is no good room. Place RUN down and parking is awful. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hot Springs hotels

Rogers, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The renovation and cleanliness of the hotel rate at least a B+. The staff is VERY accomodating. The hotel is walking distance from all downtown attractions, bars, clubs & restaruants. The rooms are pretty small, but not cramped. We stayed over Arkansas Derby weekend and thank goodness we needed neither air conditioning nor much heat! There is NO air conditioning and the heat is via a nice portable ceramic heater. Our room faced the park and was magnifican and our windows opened to let in the fresh air. Our traveling companions indicated their windows did not open, but then, they are not the most mechanical-minded folks on the planet. The shower on Derby day was luke warm (likely because so many people were showering) but the shower on Sunday was perfectly hot. Be aware that the showers are not for the larger of the American population. The nice lobby bar was only open from 5:00pm to 11:00pm, but had a very large selection of liquor. The complementary morning coffee and crumb cake is available at the bar early in the morning and both were very good. There is a restaruant, but we did not eat there, however, the menu seemed quite varied and priced reasonably. Unlike some Hot Springs hotels, the elevators ran pervectly and quickly! Parking is free and we had no problem finding spaces even after returning to the hotel after midnight. The walls are paper thin, so be prepared to wear earplugs or run the ceramic heater to drown out the noise. The bed was very soft and condusive to a nice sleep.

Room Tip: We did not know about it until we were already checked in, but there is at least one room with a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapeezarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

The Park has a beautiful lobby, and I love Angels, the restaurant downstairs. That's why I'm giving this hotel 3 stars. I would not recommend staying in this hotel. We booked a Queen room, and it was the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. There was little to no decor, no curtains, no coffee pot, and not enough pillows on the smallest queen size bed I've ever seen. Very few and hard towels and SO noisy in the morning. The bathroom was the worst part...tiny with the worst shower ever! Water would not get hot, the shower head was so low, and the water stream felt like needles going into your skin. This hotel is less expensive than many others, so if ALL you need in a hotel is a place to sleep, it might be ok. If you want any other room amenities, go elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Floors are sticky and dirty, linens filthy. Charged us 30 bucks more a night than they quoted. Space heater in the room instead of heat. Tv doesnt work, all lightbulbs but one are blown. Paint is peeling on walls and furniture, and tables are dirty. Staff was nice though, but thank God we r gone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillyme01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have stayed at the Park a few times now and we are always happy there. The exterior of the hotel and interior (lobby, restaurant, and halls) are very unique with original décor and lots of photo ops for you camera enthusiasts. The rooms are simple and dated - but clean and comfortable. You should try to reserve a king bed room - almost twice the size of a queen bed room. Our last room was a King (room 206) and it was huge. Also had a couch and a mini fridge. The location is great. My husband and I love going to the Ohio Club which is a short walk, and the Pancake Shop (great breakfast!) On our latest stay we ate dinner at their restaurant located in the lobby, Angels in the Park. Very good! I had the chicken portobello ravioli in pesto sauce and chocolate creme brulee, and my husband had the fish and risotto. Not huge portions - but they were satisfying.
The desk clerk, Chiquita, was very accommodating and professional!!
The temperature of the rooms are centrally controlled and there are no ceiling fans (would be a good addition by the way...). But so far, we have been satisfied with the temp of our rooms. If you stay during the winter months, it may be a little cool. Be sure to bring some warm PJ's.
Just REMEMBER - this is an OLD hotel. Do not expect the Ritz! But it is quiet and charming. The staff is accommodating. Its in a great location. And its always CLEAN! A TV in every room, but no coffee pot. They offer free coffee in the lobby and also coffee cake in the mornings. No hair dryers in the rooms, but you can borrow one from the front desk. There is also a museum on the first floor and a wet bar. Just a neat hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidiJoy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
#25 of 45 in Hot Springs
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#11 of 45 in Hot Springs
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
All Seasons Lodge
All Seasons Lodge
#33 of 45 in Hot Springs
48 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#20 of 45 in Hot Springs
145 reviews
5.4 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#14 of 45 in Hot Springs
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel of Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel of Hot Springs

Property: Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Address: 211 Fountain St, Hot Springs, AR 71901-3520
Region: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Park Hotel of Hot Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hotel of Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hot Springs
Park Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing