We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and unique”

Rolando's Restaurante
Ranked #6 of 277 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy and unique”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had the sampler platter and it was great. Good atmosphere, nice wait staff, and different food. If you like Mexican (not Tex Mex - it didn't claim to be ;) then you will like Rolando's! I would agree that their famous flaming queso dip was just so-so.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    312
    109
    46
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Food Around”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I come to Hot Springs once a year and eating here is a must each visit. My personal favorite is the talapia with tequila caper sauce but everything on the menu is excellent. I hate I cant pack Rolando's up and take them home with me. Great service, great salsa, great drinks and great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We had lunch yesterday at around 1:30 and were the only ones there.
The flaming Queso dip was a pretty presentation but lacked flavor. It's stringy and has to be eaten with a fork. The black bean and corn salsa was boring.
The fish tacos came out in a hodgepodge if ingredients all piled together. You had to dig to find the tortillas' and is also best eaten with a fork. At first I couldn't see any black beans and rice, later uncovered when I ate a cucumber. They were mashed together. The Popeyes burrito was enjoyed by my on guest however the accompaniments lacked flavor. The Quesidilla was average and disappointing.
This is a cute trendy place but certainly not true Central American cuisine
$$ for lunch.
Won't return most likely

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArkSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great Central American cuisine! Food is not spicy...like Mexican dishes nor bland like some Cuban dishes. Popeye's burrito...way to go. Outside patio is quaint and live music was a nice touch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best downtown Restuarant (IMHO)”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Whenever I'm in Hot Springs, I always try to eat at least once at Rolando's. It's has wonderful unusual central American style food that has always been delicious. This time we shared (between 3 of us) the guacamole dip and the Queso Flamdo (a(real) Monterey jack cheese dip. The guacamole was delis, not sure what they put in it, but it's a little different from other guacamole and it was great.
The two dips were more than enough for the three of us as an appetizer. I had the Shrimp Quesadillas a flour tortilla stuffed with sautéed shrimp, cheese and vegetables topped with tomatillo sour cream sauce, cilantro and parsley. More than enough food for me. Actually too much. (seems to be a trait of restaurant in America, wish they had a smaller portions on the menu) But the food was outstanding. Our waiter was not pushy and informative and helpful.
Excellent place to eat if you're downtown. Will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank archytecture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rolando's Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Rolando's Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing