We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”
Review of Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gables
Ranked #9 of 19 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My bf and I stopped here as part of a cross country road trip. We initially reserved for 2 nights, but had such an amazing time that we stayed longer. The B&B is a 5-10 minute walk to all of the bathhouses and downtown area, and while there weren't too many people around (I suppose I'd agree with the area being somewhat "depressed," at least in the winter time), I never felt unsafe (walked around on my own at night with no issues and no anxiety). The place itself is very unique and I loved walking around the downstairs and looking at all of the decor. Yes, it's quirky and "cluttered," but that's part of the charm, imo. There are many places to lounge and read, and the porch is spacious, with a lot of swings and rocking chairs.

There are four rooms total, so the place is nice and quiet (at that time we were the only ones there, so it was even more so). We stayed in the sunshine room and found it perfect. Yes, it is small and won't fit very much, but it came stocked with everything from needles and thread to wine openers to candles and fluffy robes. The bed was large and comfortable. Also, the in-room heart shaped bathtub was amazing, and along with the candles, electric fireplace, and a ton of DVDs, it's easy to never want to leave. I will say that as the tub is large, there is no shower, so washing one's hair without flooding the surrounding area might require some contortion or assistance. Also, there's only a thin door between the bathroom and the rest of the room, and no fan, so privacy in that respect is basically nonexistent. If you're a new couple, you get familiar with each other...very quickly. :) The internet worked well - there was a brief outage, but Judy and David are always around and available via cell phone, so they took care of the issue and called up back right away, despite it being fairly late at night.

The hosts were great. I read in some reviews that if you didn't leave precisely on time you would get penalized, but nothing like that happened. We were running late on the way out and it wasn't even an issue. Judy and David were sweet, very accommodating, and easy going. Always around and easy to reach in case there are any issues, and full of suggestions for places to eat, visit, etc. There's parking behind the inn, though the incline is steep, so caution (or an SUV) is needed to not leave the bottom of your car on the cement. There was plenty of street parking as well. Breakfast was great - there was always a muffin, then something with eggs and bacon (a croissant sandwich, a scramble with potatoes and cheese, etc), orange juice, coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. It wasn't anything extravagant, but both of us were pleased and satiated. The china was differently themed every morning, and it was absolutely delightful.

The sunshine room was a bit pricey for someone traveling on a budget, but so worth it for the peace and romantic environment, and if you pay cash after the deposit, you get a discount. Plus, there's a facebook discount as well.

It was our first B&B experience, so I don't have much previous expertise here, but I thought the place was fantastic. I really can't wait to come back - it was one of our favorite places out of the whole trip. The people in Hot Springs were so kind, there were so many fun things to do and see, the bath houses were a total treat, the restaurants were solid, and the Gables was the perfect place for us to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semichek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    10
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Boston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My wife and I got married at The Gables and have celebrated our anniversary there many times since. We enjoy the close proximity to the historic district. David & Judy are wonderful folks and a pleasure to visit with. To see the house during the Christmas season is a real pleasure. We look forward to our visit each year.

Room Tip: Have experienced all the rooms and the Governor's Room is the biggest and best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 689gregf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed two nights on our way from Central Texas to Little Rock. Judy and David (owners) are very nice. Be sure and take advantage of the cash discount upon check-in after making your deposit online. The online reservation system is nice. We were ready for a good rest after driving over eight hours and really liked the quality of the bed. The hosts had good recommendations on restaurants and bath houses downtown. The B&B is very convenient to Bath House Row. David prepared very good food both mornings for the 9:00 AM breakfast. We stayed in the Lillian room. The bathroom was a might small. We checked out the other three rooms and they are all very nice and interesting. The house was built around 1905 and has much history. We will stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Our accommodations (Governor's Room) were very satisfactory. David and Judy are very nice people and do not interfer with their guest. Breakfast was very good and well presented.

It is located in the Historical District which is somewhat depressed but did not appear to be an unsafe area. Is with in walking distance of downtown Hot Springs.

The Porterhouse Steak & Seafood Restaurant is close by and offers excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Je F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband & I met friends for a weekend in Hot Springs & the four of us stayed at the Gables Inn. Judy & Dave warmly greeted us at our scheduled check-in time, & we comfortably settled into our rooms. We stayed in the Sunshine room. It is not a large, oversized room (the Governor's Room is more spacious if that's more your style) but is functional & tastefully decorated. The furnishings are nice, and the bed was very comfortable; we slept great. We joined our friends and other guests for breakfast both mornings. Dining "with the Presidents" on the Presidential china was unique and a nice touch and a good conversation starter. The food itself was nice but not anything extravagant. If you are looking forward to a more traditional, hearty meal, consider going to one of the local restaurants. We very much enjoyed coming back to the Inn at day's end! The area is quiet & peaceful (even during a HOG Rally), and the large porch is the perfect place to sit (there are chairs and porch swings) and relax and visit! Thank you Judy & Dave for your hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

My husband and I went to The Gables Inn for our honeymoon, and it was the perfect choice. The owners were very nice and inviting, and they cooked the best breakfasts for us. Our room was just beautiful, and the jacuzzi tub was awesome. They even offered movies to watch if you stayed in, and just walking around in the parlor was great. All the places we wanted to see were right by us, too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolingnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We were really looking forward to our stay at this establishment. After all, the website had lovely pictures and reviews were good. However, we knew we were in trouble when we turned on the block the house was located on. This neighborhood is ROUGH! Even though we were close to downtown, we did not feel safe walking there. You would like this house if you like cluttered, tacky, museum-style accomodations. There must have been 20 different pictures, paintings and statuets of Jesus in the upstairs hall and breezeway alone. The lobby and the house in general was FREEZING, so you were confined to your room if you wanted to be warm. Breakfast was very dissapointing. Microwave eggs, bacon so thin you could see through it and one piece of white bread toast. Other issues..no wireless internet. This day and age it is inexcuseable, especially when trying to find places to go and things to do. We left early and were not given any refund-not even on the spa package that we did not use. These folks are nice-no problem there, but they are charging champagne prices for a Boone's Farm product.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank sistat0668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#11 of 45 in Hot Springs
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
861 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
#4 of 45 in Hot Springs
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
#27 of 45 in Hot Springs
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables

Property: Gables
Address: 318 Quapaw Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901-5203
Region: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing