We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midnight Sun”
Review of SunBay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SunBay Resort
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had a girls week and stayed here while exploring Hot Springs.
Pros: Our room was clean, comfortable and very much like other timeshare condo properties I have stayed. Convenient to downtown where we did visit attractions and a Bathhouse Row spa. The on-site restaurant was casual and a bit pricey but served top notch steaks and seafood of a 5 star restaurant. We attended a free for guests watercolor art class.
Cons: Two a/c units were on our balcony making it cramped and noisy when they were running. Outside the master bedroom window was the pool that was brightly lit all night. The bedroom needed room darkening curtains and only had miniblinds. Our room was on the first floor, one level above the ground(pool) level.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elleyshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for SunBay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed for about 5 days and were received nicely. Resort is clean and well kept. The boat dock people were friendly and we enjoyed the clean fresh water lake boating for the days we were there.

Room Tip: Just the TX recepetion isn't that good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed in the Lodge - which is the original part of Sunbay Resort. A little outdated, but very clean and comfortable for my wife and me. Had a 2 bedroom unit - about 900 square feet of space with two baths. Again - a little small and outdated, but very clean and comfortable for my wide and me. Very close and accessable to all restaurants and attractions. Would come back to this place. Desk workers were exceptional in recommendations and very helpful to us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indytex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

It was our second night at Sunbay and about midnight the doorbell rings. A security guard and awaken everyone in the condo to tell me that my vehicle was in the wrong parking spot. So I go out and move my vehicle to appease this humdinger of a security guard (who was wearing a badge that said "Security" like thats gonna make a difference). After I moved my vehicle I asked him that if he had anymore problems with us could he not ring the doorbell after 10. He proceeded to tell me that this was his parking lot and that if he had to wake us up at three in the morning he would. Just be cautious of booking a room here because the unimportant people take their unimportant meter maid job way too seriously. Great place to stay but just one ignorant over compensating security guard.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelParker0742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The condo just seemed to be lacking in every sense. The best perk is that the air conditioning never went out (the internet, however, only worked about 10% of the time). The guest bedroom has a vent that is connected to the hallway (our room was right by the outside entry on the second floor which lead us to be woken up at 7 am every morning by people either entering the building or getting ice from the machine.) There was no view from our room, which was said to be the "hidden treasure". All of the experiences could have been forgivable, except that the housekeeping was minimal (we actually called someone up to clean the wall in the master bedroom our first day because it has some nasty residue that was somehow missed.)

Room Tip: Do not pick the 2nd or 5th floor if someone is staying in the guest bedroom, no privacy and no sleep...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMayeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The SunBay Resort in Hot Springs has two areas, one, referred to as the Lodge, is the older of the two and the Villas are the more modern units. We stayed in the Lodge on the fifth floor of the six-floor main building. They do have a quaint floor identification system, similar to that we found in several European countries...that is the first or ground floor is called the Ground Floor. The next floor up is called the first floor. The first time we took the elevator down we hit the "1" button and arrived on the first floor, but still one floor above the lobby, desk, etc. Just takes some getting used to. The parking is ample and close to all the buildings. Check in at the front desk was quick and easy. They seem to have a least two and usually three young ladies at the desk at all times. Mostly they just seem to be sitting around waiting for something to do. Our fifth floor two-bedroom unit was obviously an older condo, but has been very well maintained. The square footage was adequate, but the kitchen was tiny to say the least. It was strictly a one-man (or woman) operation. There is no garbage disposal and that's a minor inconvenience. Our view from the very nice balcony, out over a Lake Hamilton inlet, was great and we appreciated that, especially in the morning while enjoying that first cup of coffee. We enjoyed the king size bed in the master and the second bedroom had a queen size. Several items emphasize the age of the units...the TVs are CRT units and of course generally much smaller than the newer flat screens. The telephones are Princess units directly from the 70s. Two bathrooms are a nice feature, as is the Jacuzzi in the master bath. The dining room furniture is sturdy and functional. The living room is furnished with a large soft easy chair and couch, both upholstered in leather. They do have twice daily trash pickup and that 's a nice touch. They also provide daily copies of the Hot Springs Sentinel-Record newspaper. We were also pleasantly surprised to find out they provide free laundry facilities complete with soap. In room Wi-fi is also provided at no charge. There are room air-conditioners in both the master bedroom and the living room; they can be a bit on the noisy side at times, but that's a minor point. Overall, the SunBay Resort, Lodge facilities, are decent, clean, comfortable and well maintained, although in need of some modernization. The do have an on-site spa and restaurant (the Back Porch), although we didn't try either. The resort is right on a Lake Hamilton inlet and a convenient drive to the downtown area, local shopping, markets, etc. We did take the evening dinner cruise on the Belle of Hot Springs Riverboat and enjoyed that outing along with some local shows, hot spring spas, etc.

Room Tip: The upper floors provide the best view of the lake.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

First off, my room was great! Updated, clean, comfortable, Great view, but that's where it stopped. Restaurant was not good. Pool was extremely dirty! There was a layer of scum and bugs on top of the pool and I'm surprised the health department doesnt do something. Hot tub was very clean however. It was overall not a bad stay but they need to improve a few things.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wearj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
1.2 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
899 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#14 of 45 in Hot Springs
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
5.5 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#7 of 45 in Hot Springs
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Hot Springs
Staybridge Suites Hot Springs
#9 of 45 in Hot Springs
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBay Resort

Address: 4810 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71913-7499
Region: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Hot Springs
Price Range: £101 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunBay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing