We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for budget room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tomahawk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tomahawk Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value for budget room”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Seasoned US motel users may not agree fully with this review so please make allowances for the fact that we are newcomers to this sort of accommodation. We stayed here for 3 nights and paid US$63, plus tax, per night, which was at the bottom end of the price range for accommodation we had used on this 4 week trip. The room was small and did not have many of the facilities that we had had previously, viz., microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer However, it was very clean, very comfortable and the .Polish owner, Theresa, most helpful and friendly. So we felt that the room was adequate for our 3 night stay and represented reasonably good value for money. Cortes is within a very easy drive (9 miles) of Mesa Verde and offers a variety of restaurants, supermarkets and an interesting Cultural Centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johncourt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    99
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
92
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was my third stay during the past two years. The rooms are basic motel Americana, circa 1980. Clean, pleasant enough. The operators are pleasant enough. But, compared with similar motels, we generally pay in the $50-$60 range a night. This one is in the $70-$80 a night..Not necessarily a deal breaker, but definitely higher priced than others. And there is no off-setting ambiance, features, etc., that makes it worth it. It is an easy stop on the road from New Mexico to Utah. Not the worst choice, but you might find a better deal if you look around.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have stayed here so many times over the years. For the money it was worth it. The owners are very nice and respectful. They provide great customer services and information about local events and things to do. My last day wasn’t so great. I noticed the bed was getting old and hard to sleep on and our main issue is, there was very little water pressure this time. Which was one of the main reasons why we stayed at this motel. Maybe it’s due to cut back or lack of customers. But I hope the owner reinstate the high pressure water of the showers. Then we’ll be back. Thank you…

Room Tip: Don't pick a room by the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Tomahawk is a cool old style motel no chain here. Off the main drag of Cortez but still quite enough for a good nights rest. The owners are very nice and rooms are clean, prices are fair and cool old style neon sign out front! This place works for me when I come thru to mtn bike the Cortez area.

Room Tip: There is a lower level' Annex ' further away from hi-way, that is kinda cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sscharin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It's nice to see these older motels being kept alive. In a lot of towns these places are just abandoned eye sores. Our room here was a good size, clean, had a very comfortable king size bed, working WIFI, and for the area, priced economically. You can back your car up to your room door, so it is convenient for unloading/loading the car. You can stay at nicer places in Cortez, but you will pay a lot more money to do so. It is located on the main highway going north and south on the west side of town, whereas Mesa Verde is several miles outside of town on the highway going east through town, but Cortez is not that big, so the extra drive is not long. The pricier places are on the east side of town. For a one night stay in a clean place, it was fine.

Check in was quick and easy. There is coffee and tea in the office. There are several eating places not far away, and downtown Cortez with lots of eating places is not too far away either; however, you will probably need to drive there.

Even though the motel is right on the highway, our room was quiet.

The old original Tomahawk Inn sign was still there and lit up at night. My spouse decided he had to take a picture of it because it is so classic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 210SATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Tomahawk Lodge is a basic 50’s/60’s era motel a little past its prime. It’s just OK for a one night stay. The room and furnishings are a little tattered and worn but marginally acceptable. They have free internet but no breakfast. The outside looks like every other mom and pop strip motel build in the 1950’s. The nightly rate of $70 was on the high side, but compared to Holiday Inn at $150 it was somewhat of a deal. If this motel were in your average town instead of a high tourist traffic area close to Mesa Verde a $50 rate would have been a premium!
The lady who runs Tomahawk was nice enough and reasonably accommodating. I guess you get what you pay for (or sometimes slightly less!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed for one night following positive reviews here on route to Mesa Verde. I wasn’t expecting an exceptional place but I have to say I was very disappointed.

It is slightly out of the main area so you have to drive out for your evening meal.

Teresa the owner was very pleasant and welcoming and said she would always make fresh coffee in reception whenever we wanted. Unfortunately, the ‘smell’ of the two very large dogs did not make the reception area very appealing. I always ask at reception if they can recommend anywhere to eat in the evening. I was told that they couldn’t really think where to recommend but that previous guests haven’t complained about anywhere. I don’t understand why someone who has lived here for so long couldn’t suggest a good place.

The room was small and the furniture, fittings and linen old and tired. Nothing welcoming or appealing and we were glad it was only the one night (to be honest, we wished we had not bothered). A/C unit was extremely noisy and old fashioned. It shows amenities as having a pool – well the small outside pool has obviously not been used for many years so don’t expect to be able to have a dip.

Previous reviewers have said that they expect the owner will smarten things up – well she has been here for around 18 years so how long will it take? She was a lovely lady but also charges top dollar for this room and no breakfast (well coffee and pre-packed little pastry).

I would not recommend this place. It is not quaint, it is well past its sell by date and needs a complete overhaul. Rates are high because of location – so what is money spent on????

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
2.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.9 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomahawk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomahawk Lodge

Property: Tomahawk Lodge
Address: 728 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-4009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full attention to our gusts needs. Bi-lingual managers - English and Polish. Located very close to major attraction such as: Mesa Verde, Crown Canyon archeological center, Four Corners, Hovenweep National Monument and many more to explore. Call us for the best rate while planning your adventure in Archeological Center of America - Cortez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tomahawk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomahawk Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing