We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro and Spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tomahawk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tomahawk Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Retro and Spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this motel, and enjoyed it thoroughly! Definitely spotless, clean and a pleasant aroma to the room. Aromatherapy is my thing, and this room did not have any odor at all. Just a clean fresh smell. Bed was very comfortable and linens were fresh and clean. As you can tell "clean" is the word for this room. It was close to Four Corners and Mesa Verde National Park, the two reasons we were visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandlady1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    99
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
92
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twin Peaks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We needed a quick stay traveling through CO. The owner was just wonderful! She was warm and caring, made sure we had everything we needed. The room we had was spotlessly clean, and comfortable. We thought it would be noisy right off of the road, but it was very quiet, and you could park right in front of your room. There were no frills, but I will take clean and safe any day. I hope others take a chance on this roadside treasure, most of these older hotels seem to be going by the wayside. We travelled the whole month of July, and it was one of our more pleasant stays. We will stay here again when we visit our friends in CO.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseUrbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is an affordable older motel. The hostess was very nice and accommodating. The rooms were simple but clean and the bed comfortable. No eating places within walking distance but only several blocks away. No breakfast to speak of but did serve coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimjady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome by the owner instantly made us feel at home, and the room was absolutely spotless. Unquestionably the cleanest motel room I can remember, very quiet even though seemingly all rooms were filled, and what a wonderful change from dirty, noisy rooms! We slept better here than we did anywhere else on a two-week trip through the southwest. We already plan to return to Cortez, and will definitely stay here again--we recommend that you do too! It is a true gem.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheProseccoLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

There is a very nice couple that runs this establishment. A direct quote from my wife, "this is the first motel where I feel like the sheets and towels are actually CLEAN!" My wife is a clean freak and was very nervous about staying in such an older place. This was one of her favorites! When you get up in the morning roll on down to the Silver Bean for a cup of joe!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Nice place. The couple that runs it is super nice! It was older, but clean and tidy. The location was nice, and checking in and out was easy. No breakfast, but close to the 'Silver Bean' coffee place which is a place you must see!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Grove
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Cute little motel. Nice clean room. Quiet and pleasant. Owner very friendly and helpful. I got a very good nights sleep in spite of the neighbors sitting outside and talking till late. Coffee and sweets in the morning at the office.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
2.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.9 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomahawk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomahawk Lodge

Property: Tomahawk Lodge
Address: 728 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-4009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full attention to our gusts needs. Bi-lingual managers - English and Polish. Located very close to major attraction such as: Mesa Verde, Crown Canyon archeological center, Four Corners, Hovenweep National Monument and many more to explore. Call us for the best rate while planning your adventure in Archeological Center of America - Cortez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tomahawk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomahawk Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing