We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable”
Review of Tomahawk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tomahawk Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
RapidCity,SD
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable”
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Do not be afraid to stay here. Rooms very clean & comfortable beds. Lots of hot water for showering. One level hotel with parking out front. Very nice owners with the largest great dane dog I have ever seen. Safe and quiet location.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    99
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
92
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Forlì
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Nice place near Mesa Verde Naional Park.
Silent, large, clean and confortable room.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dana81_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

What you have in this town are the overpriced chains, including a big new Baymont where the snooty attitude rivals the Lodge at Jackson Hole and prices to match! Hello... it's a BAYMONT!! Also, there's an Econo-lodge with prices nearing the three digits.
On the other end are all kinds of filthy trashy dives costing $39/night. This is one of those rare properties in the middle. As with many of the other reviewers, the owners keep this place up and it's clean. They even replaced the windows with something more substantial which seem to keep out a lot of the road noise. However some of the traffic noise still does come in through the doors.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I agree with all the other reviewers. This is your basic old time motel, no frills, no problems. My only thought was that maybe we should've paid $10/15 more and gotten a nicer place that had a free breakfast. When you add the cost of breakfast, the $82 ($75 plus taxes) doesn't seem like such a bargain. We found all of Colorado to be fairly expensive, but $82 for a basic, Motel 6-type room seems a bit steep to me.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bverbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Ocean
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

There are two ends to the main street in Cortez. On the east end are all the chain motels, and the prices are really high. On the west end are the locally owned places, and most are run down and pretty scary looking. The Tomahawk is on the west end and is notable for being clean and comfortable. But bear in mind, if you like frills this place is not for you. There is no clock, no shampoo, no fridge, no hair dryer. You get a nice, clean bed, a small TV and a clean bathroom, but really nothing else. There is an internet connection, but it is pretty slow. There is a TV, but no premium stations.

On the other hand, it costs about half of what the chains charge on the other side of town, so for the budget conscious, this is a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailsequoyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Exactly what we expected based on the reviews and for the price. This is not a 5-diamond resort, but it is clean, comfortable and very affordable. It was convenient for exploring Mesa Verde and Four Corners region. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean too, which can be unusual with older motels. And we were glad we could check emails with the free wi-fi too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onroadfromoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

As the previous reviews have noted, this is a clean, centrally-located motel which is an excellent value. The rooms must have been somewhat updated with an efficient, quiet air conditioner. The staff are helpful, but please note that there are limitations to the services offered. Unless you specifically ask for more, you get exactly two bath towels, two plastic cups, and two pillows for a queen room for two people. There is also no shampoo, no clock radio, no in-room coffee and no breakfast except for caffeinated coffee and tea in the lobby. The motel is advertised as quiet, but during our stay, the only non-smoking rooms were next to the highway which is mostly quiet at night when the traffic dies down, but not during the day. They have a small swimming pool, but it was unheated and frigid in July. The location on South Broadway is central enough in Cortez and in the region, but it is located on the declining side of town. However, we did not feel unsafe despite the fact that the motel only had doors to the parking area in the classic motel style. All-in-all, it was an acceptable place to stay and quite affordable for those on a budget. Reservations can only be made via the telephone. Google the motel for the toll-free telephone number. As far as we could tell, internet reservations are not possible.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
2.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.3 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.9 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomahawk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomahawk Lodge

Property: Tomahawk Lodge
Address: 728 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-4009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full attention to our gusts needs. Bi-lingual managers - English and Polish. Located very close to major attraction such as: Mesa Verde, Crown Canyon archeological center, Four Corners, Hovenweep National Monument and many more to explore. Call us for the best rate while planning your adventure in Archeological Center of America - Cortez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tomahawk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomahawk Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing