We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Tomahawk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tomahawk Lodge
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Reviewed 30 September 2010

While this property doesn't have a lot of ambiance on the outside, the room was super clean. The owner couldn't have been nicer when we asked for a little extra soap (really small bars!), an extra pillow and restaurant recommendations. We'd requested a refrig when we made the reservation and it was there, cold and ready for us. Although there isn't coffee in the room, the owner assured us it would be ready at 7am the next morning. It was, and it was good. This is a no-frills type of motor motel, but it is clean, convenient and a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

Basically I'm in agreement with the other reviewers. This is a no-frill, budget "mom and pop" operation. "Mom" is a great lady from Chicago by way of Poland who has owned the place for 15 years with her husband (and a couple great danes). They keep the place extremely clean and comfortable. There is WIFI and plenty of cable TV channels and you get to save money too! The pool is clean if you're into taking a dip. While places like the Best Western are surely comfortable and offer more amenities, they are 2-3 times the price, so depends on your travel budget. This is a pleasant place and a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thamnosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. It is a kitschy old motel that is immaculately maintained (from what I could see). The owner is the most charming lady. On our first day we forgot to take the Do Not Disturb sign off the knob so our room didn't get serviced. I went to ask for a couple more pillows and some TP, and she scurried off to get them, then scurried back to the room, emptied the garbage, and then before she went out the door she actually bent over and picked a piece of lint off the floor. Now that is service! LOL Also since I was having dog withdrawals I asked to see her Great Danes; they are beautiful dogs!
The motel is located at the south end of town but the drive into town is only 5 - 10 minutes. The area felt very safe to us so that wasn't a concern for us.
The value I would say was fairly good, but only because Cortez hotels are very expensive. But put this motel anywhere else and I would consider it a little overpriced.
Just remember if you stay here that there are no complimentary items, only tiny bars of hand soap (there isn't even kleenex). So don't forget your shampoo like I did! Also there is no online booking, you have to call the motel to make a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilynn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stayed at the tomahawk for one night on a motorcycle trip through Colorado. We had visited Mesa Verde in the afternoon. The staff was very friendly, when asked about restaurants gave us a coupon for a local restaurant, which by the way was excellent. If you are visiting the area stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snomofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

A nice place -- has character (in a good way!), unlike boring boxy hotel buildings. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again when we're in Cortez.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank ColoTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Room was clean and comfortable. What really set this motel apart was the service. The host was very friendly on our arrival and any time we needed anything, was very prompt in helping us out. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadRunner980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Greeted by a friendly woman who made us feel very welcomed. Rooms were clean and a good size. I recommend this motel over the high priced chain motels.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
2.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.3 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
144 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomahawk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomahawk Lodge

Address: 728 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-4009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range: £51 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full attention to our gusts needs. Bi-lingual managers - English and Polish. Located very close to major attraction such as: Mesa Verde, Crown Canyon archeological center, Four Corners, Hovenweep National Monument and many more to explore. Call us for the best rate while planning your adventure in Archeological Center of America - Cortez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tomahawk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomahawk Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing