We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canyon of the Ancients Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We have stayed at Canyon of the Ancients Guest Ranch in McElmo Canyon twice and immensely enjoyed our stay both times. From the time we arrived until we reluctantly headed home, Garry and Ming, our warm, generous and enthusiastic hosts, made us feel welcome and comfortable. We stayed in the Cowboy Cabin, which is perfect for a couple. We enjoyed cooking simple meals in the small but well equipped kitchen, with the fridge stocked with fresh eggs from their chickens. We loved waking up to the incredible desert views, with cows and sheep grazing nearby. Garry and Ming not only gave us the grand tour of their ranch, but also showed us some of the amazing, ancient rock art nearby. Highly recommended for a relaxing weekend in beautiful southwestern Colorado.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank dharmatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 73 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and our 2 year old stayed at the Canyon of the Ancients and where overwhelmed by the place, the atmosphere and the hosts. They have done everything to make our stay unforgettable!!! We stayed in the log cabin which was cozy and warm but provided all comforts we have been used to on our high end travels. It is a fantastic spot to have a break from bit cities, routines and day to day hassles. The hosts have taken care of us like being a family member and made the difference big time (in a positive sense!!!). We can only recommend this place to everyone who is looking for something special!!! (and don't forget to visit the Suttcliff Winery next door)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank schtriez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Hakuin_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zu zweit auf jeden Fall die Cowboy Cabin :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JeanAime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy581217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
19 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
18.9 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
22.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
17.8 mi away
Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area
6.6 mi away
Kelly Place
Kelly Place
#1 of 5 in Cortez
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon of the Ancients Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon of the Ancients Guest Ranch

Address: 7950 Road G, Cortez, CO 81321-9515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cortez
Price Range: £160 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canyon of the Ancients Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing