We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but clean and comfortable with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
231 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quaint but clean and comfortable with great service”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This motel reminded me of the motels I stayed in as a kid in the 70's. Wood paneling on the walls, hot and cold taps and a small vanity. But what it may lack in modernity it makes up for in price and service. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. Shower pressure was great (although it took some figuring out for the temperature due to the hot/cold taps and if someone else used water in the room the temperature was affected). The family who ownes and runs the motel were very nice and accommodating and gave us some great information about area attractions and restaurants. This motel is a good value, not expensive and no frills. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 64familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    181
    47
    12
    9
See reviews for
106
188
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The staff couldn't have been nicer. Just the sweetest, most helpful family. But since the inn was located a bit off of the main part of the city, was a little dated, etc., it wasn't a super luxury stay, even considering the price. I think if I was traveling alone, it would have been fine, but my travel partner was a bit paranoid about our safety that she pushed up chairs against the door before we went to sleep that night. The family was super nice, though, but I was thrown a bit when they asked me to list my car info (make/model/license plate number) so they could know when to clean the room (if the car was gone and they'd see that we'd already left for the day).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This family owned motel is a great value for your money if you need a place for the night. It is a short drive outside the main part of town, but has a view and plenty of open space. The owner is very helpful in providing information about Mesa Verde, the surrounding area, and places to eat. My room was on the small side, but very clean. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom has hairdryer, shower/tub combo. Towels were on the thin side and appeared worn. This motel does not serve breakfast, but there is a coffee maker and a small refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: Contacting the hotel directly may get you a better rate than booking on the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Based on TA reviews we decided to try this very economic motel in Cortez. This is the place to go if you want a place that offers you what you need to spend a night without paying for things you don't actually need.
The room was not large but adequate, bed huge and very comfortable, good heating, bathroom was very good with excellent shower, everything was very clean as all previous reviews mentioned. The towels however were thin and on the small side which I didn't like. There was WiFi, a microwave and a small fridge. There is a TV on a wall bracket on one side wall that is low enough to hit it accidentally.
There is no breakfast included , expected for the price,although there is a good coffee maker in the room
In summary, a no frills place that costs less than half the others and is most adequate to spend a night offering you a very worthy basic package
I recommend it without reservations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

No. It is not luxurious. And no, it is not at all contemporary by any means. But hey, whilst the furnishings may not be new, they are all working and in good order. And the place is VERY clean. And the rates are very competitive. And the owners are very nice & pleasant.

The rooms are spacious, as well as the bathroom. Every room has its own outdoor access, in other words; this is your classic American motel. And for as far as I am concerned: the standard for it! Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Only so much you can do with an older motel, but, the owners live on site and you can tell they do their best to keep up the property. The rooms are still old style but clean, it was far enough off the road so I slept just fine. A few minutes drive into town for food or services. Wifi, Tv, fridge in the room were good.
Value for $ was okay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The family-owned White Eagle Family Lodge provided just the perfect location for our family reunion over the Christmas-New Years break. The Lodge is cozy, exceptionally clean and so accessible to facilities in town as well as for long walks in the nearby Hawkins Preserve. We appreciated finding accommodation that is not fussy or so upscale that we had to spend our energy making sure the 4 youngsters didn't "touch." The owners Connie and Steve are friendly and efficient, helping to make our 10 day stay a relaxing and enjoyable experience. The price is right, too! The reviews on TripAdvisor were absolutely accurate in this case, and we have already advised friends and family to check out the Lodge and the rooms in the motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
3.0 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
2.1 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,705 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
187 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge

Property: The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Address: 2110 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Eagle Inn is a small property with a variety of 16 regular rooms, Kings, Queens, Double Queens and Doubles, and a few rooms with three beds. We also feature a larger vacation rental with three bedrooms, 2 bath, laundry, kitchen, deck (with great view). Our focus is to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable, and friendly accommodation. We are too small to provide 24 hour desk service, and request our guests to check in by 9pm or call on the day of arrival for late-check-in arrangements. Thanks to all for the great reviews and friendly suggestions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing