We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The White Eagle Inn is a great value. The room was quiet, clean, good sized, and the owners were very friendly, eager to please, and happy to give travel/local site advice. The bed was comfortable, although I would have liked a bigger selection of pillows (mine was a little hard, but it didn't give me a neck ache). It didn’t come with breakfast, but we did have a refrigerator and access to a microwave. I prefer a do-it-yourself breakfast anyway, and "free breakfast" offered by other hotels is built into room fees, so I saved money. We ate some meals at the picnic table, which had a great view of the mesas behind our hotel (no view from the room). The only complaint was the free wi-fi was very slow. The hotel is at the outskirts of town, 5 minutes further from Mesa Verde National Park (the reason I was there) than most of the Cortez hotels, but we saved at least $30 per night, so we thought it was worth it. Besides, that meant any place we might want to stop in town (City Market grocery store, restaurants) were on the way to our hotel on the way back from the Park. The best rated Chinese restaurant was on our side of town, so we would have headed there anyway.

Room Tip: The hotel only has one floor, so nobody above/below. All the rooms were the same distance from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soloFemaleDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    180
    46
    12
    9
See reviews for
103
186
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
261 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Rooms were comfy and very clean. This would be a good place for larger families. The staff is very friendly and it is family owned. I felt like a guest in their home. Nothing fancy, but just good clean accommodations.

Room Tip: Reserve a room before arrival. They were completely booked when we arrived at 3pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
350 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This motel has only 12 rooms. The family at reception is very helpfull and can give you lots of information. It is a good base for exploring mesa verde national park. It is a short drive to the town center. The price is correct. The furniture is outdated, but this is the only negative point I can think off.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didsbury, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was looking for a cheap place to stay while driving through the Cortez area on my way to the Grand Canyon.

The motel is located on the far west end of town, so it's a few minutes drive to the downtown area. The place is a Ma and Pop operation and the owners definitely cater to their customers. I was greeted at the front by a very friendly girl who checked me in and gave me a discount ticket for a local restaurant. I was also given a suggestion for a scenic drive to Monument Valley that turned out to be a great route.

So, I stayed in a single queen room. The room is very small, but the motel is also quite old and appears to have had some minor renovations, but is otherwise reasonably well kept up. Due to the age of the motel none of the wall plugins have a grounding hole in them, so many modern devices can't be plugged in without an adapter (the front desk has some if you need them). That being said, the plugins can be few in the rooms and you may have difficulty plugging in several devices. The rooms don't have a microwave or fridge unfortunately. The bathroom was rather spacious though with plenty of counter of space and the usual toiletries.

The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioner was nice and quiet.

The only issues of note: the carpet in the room was in need of replacement; it was quite dirty. As well, there was a rather large gap between the floor and the door that allowed a noticeable amount of light in by morning giving concern to possible bugs or other unfriendly guests that could get in through there (although I didn't see any). But otherwise the room was very clean and was very quiet during the night.

In short, it's a good place to stay for a night, but it may be a bit cramped for an extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a great family owned and operated hotel. the location in Coprtez means it is convenient to Mesa Verde and the whole host of sites in the area, including Hovenweep national monument, Canyons of the Ancients National Monument, and even the adjacent sites in Utah like Natural Bridges and Canyonlands the needles district.

The rooms are much larger than typical hotels. The customer service is outstanding. We called to let them know we were going to be getting in late, and they told us our room numbers, left our doors unlocked, and the keys inside!

The style of the hotel is older, but it is extremely well maintained and clean, judging from the 2 rooms we used.

The only con is that the electrical system in the rooms is a bit sketchy. Like the rest of the hotel, it dates from the '50's, so there aren't enough outlets. There are none in the bathroom, in fact. Not a biggie for us, since we are typically out all day anyway.

Room Tip: Call ahead and let Connie at the desk get to know what you want out of your trip. she knows the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A couple of miles from the main junction and on the main road. Clean room and toilet. Rooms are a bit small but just enough. We had left behind a few items on check out and we were able it pick it up on our way back. It was nice of them to have kept it neatly packed for us. No break fast included. Very friendly owners.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murali8121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stopped here with 3 other mountain bike friends b/c a spring snow storm was blowing in and it was going to be a slow drive North. We opted to stay here b/c of the good reviews and low price. The hotel was nothing fancy but it was very clean. The staff was very nice and we were treated well. I would definitely recommend staying here if need a place to stay in Cortez!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 which had 3 beds and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tree_dhyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
3.0 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
7.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.9 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge

Property: The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Address: 2110 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Eagle Inn is a small property with a variety of 16 regular rooms, Kings, Queens, Double Queens and Doubles, and a few rooms with three beds. We also feature a larger vacation rental with three bedrooms, 2 bath, laundry, kitchen, deck (with great view). Our focus is to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable, and friendly accommodation. We are too small to provide 24 hour desk service, and request our guests to check in by 9pm or call on the day of arrival for late-check-in arrangements. Thanks to all for the great reviews and friendly suggestions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing