We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain City, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great for our family of five! The rooms were clean and the people who run the place are friendly. It has all the amenities we needed including an in- room fridge and great wifi. With that being said, be aware it is a mom-and-pop place and not some big hotel chain. Everything is very, very clean but the rooms would benefit from some updates. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lawsonm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    180
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
103
183
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Been on week long motorcycle
And this hotel was cleanest and best value of trip!! I highly recommend it! It's a smaller older hotel but the rooms are nice and staff great! Don't miss this gem! It's the way service used to be!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bay, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Although a small size room and bath, it was clean and well furnished. We found this a good place to stay for 2 nights while we visited the Mesa Verde. The manager was very nice to talk to on the phone and in person.

Room Tip: Call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeeCeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned at the end of May. We spent most of our time at Mesa Verde NP. It was a nice room for the price. The service was great. The managers were very friendly and responsive. Having a 'fridge in the room was nice. The TV remote did not work in our room and the room is pretty small. The motel is located on the Southwest end of town about 5 min from downtown. We would stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fredi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The White Eagle Inn is a great value. The room was quiet, clean, good sized, and the owners were very friendly, eager to please, and happy to give travel/local site advice. The bed was comfortable, although I would have liked a bigger selection of pillows (mine was a little hard, but it didn't give me a neck ache). It didn’t come with breakfast, but we did have a refrigerator and access to a microwave. I prefer a do-it-yourself breakfast anyway, and "free breakfast" offered by other hotels is built into room fees, so I saved money. We ate some meals at the picnic table, which had a great view of the mesas behind our hotel (no view from the room). The only complaint was the free wi-fi was very slow. The hotel is at the outskirts of town, 5 minutes further from Mesa Verde National Park (the reason I was there) than most of the Cortez hotels, but we saved at least $30 per night, so we thought it was worth it. Besides, that meant any place we might want to stop in town (City Market grocery store, restaurants) were on the way to our hotel on the way back from the Park. The best rated Chinese restaurant was on our side of town, so we would have headed there anyway.

Room Tip: The hotel only has one floor, so nobody above/below. All the rooms were the same distance from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soloFemaleDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
260 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Rooms were comfy and very clean. This would be a good place for larger families. The staff is very friendly and it is family owned. I felt like a guest in their home. Nothing fancy, but just good clean accommodations.

Room Tip: Reserve a room before arrival. They were completely booked when we arrived at 3pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
350 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This motel has only 12 rooms. The family at reception is very helpfull and can give you lots of information. It is a good base for exploring mesa verde national park. It is a short drive to the town center. The price is correct. The furniture is outdated, but this is the only negative point I can think off.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
3.0 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
7.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.9 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge

Property: The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Address: 2110 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Eagle Inn is a small property with a variety of 16 regular rooms, Kings, Queens, Double Queens and Doubles, and a few rooms with three beds. We also feature a larger vacation rental with three bedrooms, 2 bath, laundry, kitchen, deck (with great view). Our focus is to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable, and friendly accommodation. We are too small to provide 24 hour desk service, and request our guests to check in by 9pm or call on the day of arrival for late-check-in arrangements. Thanks to all for the great reviews and friendly suggestions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing