We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, No, No! Stay somewhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Made reservations 6 months in advance for a 2-night family stay in August 2013. Using internet searches and Tripadvisor, I thought I found another good value motel. WRONG. First, the continental breakfast was "discontinued" even though the motel website still advertises it. No rate reduction or reimbursement for the inconvenience. In addition, the air conditioning was unplugged and didn't seem to cool when we first turned it on. I removed the filters on the unit to find 1/8" of filth (YUK!) covering the vents which I needed to wash off in order for the unit to cool. Only 2 bath towels, a fridge that wasn't plugged in either and the cancer causing 3-cigarette-packs-a-day reception office didn't help to improve my impression. Finally, the free wi-fi was anemic and worked if you're outside and near the office. The wi-fi was virtually non-existent in the rooms (we tried phones, tablets, laptop). The motel is predominantly a crash pad for migrant workers and does not really cater to tourists and their comfort. Based on other reviews, this motel may have displayed better quality in the past. If you only need a bed and a bathroom, then this motel may be adequate for your needs. If you want to feel comfortable, safe and clean please find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana B, Owner at Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for your unsatisfactory experience.
Sometimes it takes a less then positive comment to nudge the train back on the track before this truly is a train wreck. We are working hard for a more pleasant experience for both the working class of America and the weary traveler.
The smoker has been fired. The refrigerator is plugged in. The A/C is plugged in. Thank you for cleaning the filter.
Please try us again.
Sincerely,
Dana- owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 69 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

Karen T pegged it perfectly. My mom & I stayed here in early July and it met our needs exactly. Don't stay here if you're looking for luxury accommodations, but it is a good low-cost, clean motel from which you can base your day trips to Mesa Verde, Four Corners and Monument Valley areas. With mom's AARP rate, we were out the door at $58.90 per night, which is not bad for high summer season in Colorado. The owners are extremely hospitable, a breakfast with fresh fruit is provided every morning and most essential of all, they're pet friendly!

As a note, there is natural gas drilling currently happening in the area and there were quite a few contract workers staying here on a long-term basis. We drove up at close to 10pm to find a little fiesta happening in the parking lot (Mexican music playing out of pickup trucks, field workers sitting outside drinking & playing cards). I was a bit concerned about this and mentioned it while checking in, but Dana explained the situation and said they were harmless. Just as she said, they proved to be no problem during our 3-night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I was traveling alone with my 14 yr. old dog and pulled in to Cortez tired and road weary. Drove around Cortez looking for a place to stay. The Sleeping Ute Motel looked safe and clean. I was pleasantly surprised. Had a very family feel while checking in and even though the gentleman at the desk (owner) was in a babysitting crisis he made me the center of attention. He also only charged me $5 for my dog vs $10. Room was clean, free wi-fi that worked continuously not like other places I stayed on my trip and also had a microwave and fridge . It had a lovely courtyard and was close to restaurants. For breakfast they served fresh fruit and muffins and coffee and tea. I only stayed one night but it would be a perfect home base for touring the Four Corners area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrrogersmagiccarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here in August, 2011 on a two week trip to Montana. The room was a good value, clean. Owners were very nice and helpful. The best thing was the breakfast - lots of fresh fruit, coffee cake, coffee and tea. You don't often get fresh fruit at a motel breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChuckBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

It was a flashback into the 80's, maybe the 70's. Needed some minor repair and updating but clean and actually we slept better here than at some of the "nicer" motels. Staff were very helpful and nice. Don't stay here if you want a "nice" motel. If you need a clean and affordable place - it will work.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KAREN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

lucked into this one, $45 a night (cheapest on-line price in town= 88), new owners have poured their hearts and souls into fixing place up; very comfy bed with high quality linens, spacious room, wi-fi that actually worked (on this trip, almost all motels advertised wi-fi, but over half the signal was poor or none, at big name chains)... picnic tables under trees out back with great view of sun setting over sleeping ute mountain while you picnic... owners are nicest people i have met on this trip and very helpful
a true diamond in the rough... for a basic no frills stay, not for the high-faluting spa set

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
2.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
0.2 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.2 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
139 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel

Address: 531 South Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range: £55 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, quiet, spacious comfortable rooms. Located walking distance to downtown Cortez and restaurants. Free wifi and unlimited long distance phone calls within U.S.A. Queen size beds, AC/heat, Mini- Refrigerators, Microwave Ovens, Pets Welcome. Enjoy the Old West and our shady Picnic areas. Cortez is the hub of the Four Corners Region and point of interest on the Grand Circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing