We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Sagle, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel was as comfortable as any we stayed at during our four week vacation in the Southwest. An older unit, everything was redone and spotlessly clean. New paint, new mattresses in the room, some of the thickest towels, and a very pleasant host and hostess, the owners. I don't usually stay in non chain motels but we ended up here and were completely delighted. These are people justifiably proud of their new business and their attention to detail shows. I just wish more people would consider rehabbing older motels like this one, they have a charm lacking in the chain franchises that look so new. Yes, we would recommend this motel to all our friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    5
    7
    10
See reviews for
25
20
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Two of us stopped in here on the way to the Grand Canyon. We were happy with our room, except that there was a wi-fi problem. Sonya and hubby worked to find us a room a bit closer to the wireless access point and let us switch rooms. Both rooms were clean and neat. Everything worked fine, except the wi-fi. They had someone coming that evening to fix it, though, so I don't think it was a permanent problem. The rooms had fridges and microwaves, fluffy towels, and little shampoo/conditioner/lotion bottles. I have seen coffee makers in some hotels, which this one doesn't have, but I didn't need it because there was fresh coffee and tea in the morning at the office. And freshly made muffins keeping warm on the woodstove! And there were plenty of electrical outlets in the room, so we could plug in phone chargers, computers, hubby's CPAP, etc, without any trouble. We were only there one night, but we slept well, the bed was comfortable, and it was nice and quiet. Sonya was nice and friendly, her husband (Sorry, I forget his name) was helpful and friendly too. And their little dog Taz let me pick him up and even gave me a kiss on the nose. All in all, if they get the wi-fi thing fixed, we'd definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: If you want to use the internet, ask for a room close to the wireless access point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

i had left and was getting very tired then I saw this cool neon sign then an old chuckwagon so pulled in ...what an awesome place nice people and a very clean room it felt like well I stayed three days fresh made breakfast clean big rooms
and very nice owners ...I havent slept like that in a while ...I will remember my stay and return as many times as I can...thanks Sonja and Ronnie your the best

Room Tip: 208 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

You feel very welcome at this place.
Nice big rooms, free coffee and delicious homemade muffins in the morning.
If you need good advice on where go, what to see or where eat the friendly hostess will gladly help.
A little worn down, but not a problem compared to the price.
Very close to Mesa Verde and Cortez city main street.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TorstenKampmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

my boyfriend and I are moving across country and stopped in mesa verde. the sleeping ute mountain motel was located within a very convenient distance and very easy to get to. the rates are probably the best in the area, and although it is not a five star hotel, the hospitality of the owners is unbeatable. the owners are dedicated to their business and it is clear they really enjoy what they do! they had fresh beignets and orange juice in the morning and a friendly smile :) we did not want to stay at a chain motel and instead opted for a local business and were very pleased with our stay. we would come back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janestraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This motel was like a mirage at the end of a long drive, except that it was real, and really great. The rooms are spacious and tidy with freshly ironed sheets, a sitting area, and separate vanity area.

The owner, Sonya, was incredibly sweet and hospitable, made us feel really welcome. I will stay here again and recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j3sj3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

They have home made breakfasts that are delicious. The staff is very thoughtful. Sonja is knowledgeable about the area regarding places to eat and sights to see for the kids. The rooms are clean and spacious. This is a family oriented motel and the staff will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel

Property: Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel
Address: 531 South Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, quiet, spacious comfortable rooms. Located walking distance to downtown Cortez and restaurants. Free wifi and unlimited long distance phone calls within U.S.A. Queen size beds, AC/heat, Mini- Refrigerators, Microwave Ovens, Pets Welcome. Enjoy the Old West and our shady Picnic areas. Cortez is the hub of the Four Corners Region and point of interest on the Grand Circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing