We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best service ever!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The owner Sonya is so nice and sweet, she will do everything to make your stay perfect. For breakfast we had homemade Luisiana sweets and fresh fruits. You can definitely tell she cares and loves her job and we will definitely stay in this hotel again!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Preslava S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    5
    7
    10
See reviews for
25
20
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

True, one can tell the motel is not brand new but honestly, I d rather sleep in a good bed, have a clean place, than have fancy carpet in a noisy, disgusting room!

The manager is extremely friendly. She prepared welcome sweets for the breakfast. You can tell she loves what she is doing. She took over the management of the hotel 4 months ago so if you had a bad experience in the past, you should definitively give it another try!! No bad review can stand any more ;)

You can beat the price/quality ratio! Very close to Mesa Verde.

Microwave, fridge (don't turn it on "max"!!), bath tub in the room. Ice machine in the motel. Big room with 2 queens.

I gave 4 points instead of 5 because there were a couple of burn due to cigarettes here and there and the covers could use a wash.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After a long days drive the welcome we received by Sonya at the Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel was most appreciated. We were headed north as we came into town and this motel is located on the left. There are no left turns in that area and our GPS took us around the block to get us headed south so we could pull in. Believe me, it is worth going around the block for! The room was large and comfortable, furnished with two queen beds at a reasonable price. Everything was spick and span - the top sheets are even ironed! We asked if we could stay later than the usual check out time. No problem. I even lost my room key and offered to pay for a replacement, but was assured that it was not necessary and was issued another key. The service could not have been better and everything is offered with a smile. The breakfast is homemade and served fresh with good coffee. We will definitely come back when we travel through this area again. Thankfully, I did find the key in the end!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Wow, what a gold mine in the heart of the Four Corners Mesa Verde area! Clean, spacious rooms with privacy and gorgeous views. Sonja and Ronnie are highly resourceful, generous and accommodating as well as knowledgeable about the area. Low rates that are unbeatable anywhere in town while providing a yummy breakfast of freshly baked goods, fruit and coffee. Rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, large screen TV's, high heat and lots of hot water with towels that are to die for. I travel to the area frequently and will only stay at the Sleeping Ute Mountain for a friendly, generous staff that will go the extra mile so that you can enjoy your stay and a great night sleep!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagle, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel was as comfortable as any we stayed at during our four week vacation in the Southwest. An older unit, everything was redone and spotlessly clean. New paint, new mattresses in the room, some of the thickest towels, and a very pleasant host and hostess, the owners. I don't usually stay in non chain motels but we ended up here and were completely delighted. These are people justifiably proud of their new business and their attention to detail shows. I just wish more people would consider rehabbing older motels like this one, they have a charm lacking in the chain franchises that look so new. Yes, we would recommend this motel to all our friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Two of us stopped in here on the way to the Grand Canyon. We were happy with our room, except that there was a wi-fi problem. Sonya and hubby worked to find us a room a bit closer to the wireless access point and let us switch rooms. Both rooms were clean and neat. Everything worked fine, except the wi-fi. They had someone coming that evening to fix it, though, so I don't think it was a permanent problem. The rooms had fridges and microwaves, fluffy towels, and little shampoo/conditioner/lotion bottles. I have seen coffee makers in some hotels, which this one doesn't have, but I didn't need it because there was fresh coffee and tea in the morning at the office. And freshly made muffins keeping warm on the woodstove! And there were plenty of electrical outlets in the room, so we could plug in phone chargers, computers, hubby's CPAP, etc, without any trouble. We were only there one night, but we slept well, the bed was comfortable, and it was nice and quiet. Sonya was nice and friendly, her husband (Sorry, I forget his name) was helpful and friendly too. And their little dog Taz let me pick him up and even gave me a kiss on the nose. All in all, if they get the wi-fi thing fixed, we'd definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: If you want to use the internet, ask for a room close to the wireless access point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

i had left and was getting very tired then I saw this cool neon sign then an old chuckwagon so pulled in ...what an awesome place nice people and a very clean room it felt like well I stayed three days fresh made breakfast clean big rooms
and very nice owners ...I havent slept like that in a while ...I will remember my stay and return as many times as I can...thanks Sonja and Ronnie your the best

Room Tip: 208 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
0.2 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
1.1 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel

Property: Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel
Address: 531 South Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, quiet, spacious comfortable rooms. Located walking distance to downtown Cortez and restaurants. Free wifi and unlimited long distance phone calls within U.S.A. Queen size beds, AC/heat, Mini- Refrigerators, Microwave Ovens, Pets Welcome. Enjoy the Old West and our shady Picnic areas. Cortez is the hub of the Four Corners Region and point of interest on the Grand Circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing