We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This place is currently being turned around by a new owner. The price was great given the local comparisons. The rooms were average for a motel, they could use some updating, but they were clean. Only complaint was the strong chemical smell in the room when we first got in, just needed some airing out. The owner really made the place special. Breakfast was homemade and very tasty. I really wish them every success in their plans for this place, as it just needs some updating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank JamasWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Booked a two rooms on Priceline for $70, based on a 3 star rating and lots of good reviews on Trip Advisor. Saw a sign coming into town for $39/night. Drove into the parking lot, had a bad feeling. Thinking we might have found a diamond in the rough, asked to see our rooms. Owner was not happy with us when we asked how she got a 3 star rating. Rooms were in very bad shape, decades of smoking, hard use. No way the wives were going to go for it. Left under a hail of "choice" words from the owner. If you can get it for $39, you won't find a cheaper place in Cortez, but you will get what you pay for, almost.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I agree with fellow reviewers in that you can't beat the price and this place currently is not for everyone. It is going to take some time and diligence to turn this into a consistent 5 star review. Yes, the essentials are there but it's still hit and miss on even those. Definitely ask to see the room first. We went through 3. It's not that we are overly picky but the first room had part of the curtain rod missing so you could not close the curtains all the way. Room 2 had an extremely thread bare carpet which was coming up and again curtain issues. That seems to a prevalent theme in the rooms as room #3 didn't have all the curtain hooks attached to the rod either but was the best of what we saw. It's the little things. A box of tissue would be a nice touch as would vacuuming behind the the nightstand. We needed to pull it away from the wall to plug in my husband's cpap machine and there must have been an inch of dust and dirt behind it. Finding that makes you wonder about everything else. Also bring flip flops or slippers, it is not a place I would walk about barefoot on the carpet. Not only are rocks tracked in with your shoes, but the carpet is showing its age and it's cleanliness is suspect.

The beds are new, so fairly comfortable. The pillows not so new, so again it or miss. One rock hard foam and one soft one. More than two per bed would be nice as they are smallish pillows and barely fit the bed. There were no blankets on the bed. Only sheets and the bed spread. Since we never know if the bedspreads are washed for each new guest, we always remove and fold them and store in a closet or out of way space. A blanket and a triple sheeted bed would be a plus. Yes it was summer but you can still get cold with the A/C.

Each room is large with two queen beds, a mini refrigerator and microwave. The furniture and decor is dated. Each room has a flat screen TV but they aren't installed at eye level while sitting up in bed. It's too high up on the wall and the cords are messily tacked, not even together, across the wall to a surge protector. Again, it's the little attention to details. A longer corded surge protector would have made all the difference.

There was plenty of hot water but we only had maid service on our first day. On day two, as were were leaving the maid yelled at us asking if we needed our trash emptied or any fresh towels. We came back after a long day of exploring to find that was the extent of our maid service for the day. Our room was not freshened up. The morning beignets, crepes, fruit and coffee is a great touch. I just wish everything was more hit than miss. I probably would not stay here again. A little too rough around the edges.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first. Room in the two story building will have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Older motel currently being remodeled by the current owners. What they've done so far looks very nice. Best price on kayak & all we needed for a night passing through. Very friendly owner & she makes a home made Louisiana breakfast of beignets and crepes. Very yummy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First the upsides: 1) Sonya and her husband (sorry, forgot the guy's name) are great people, the salt of the Earth. 2) The price is right, especially if you make your reservations early. 3) All the essentials are 100% solid. The shower has plenty of hot water with good pressure, the bed was nice and firm, the sheets were clean, I had plenty of clean towels, the climate control worked very well, the door locked securely, and the location is great. If I visited the area again by myself, I'd stay there in a heartbeat.

That said, the place is pretty rough around the edges. The carpet is in bad shape, coming up in places, and the sink/vanity area could use some work. Someone more concerned with interior decorating than I am could point out many other things; suffice to say that folks who care about that sort of thing probably wouldn't want to stay here. I am not one of those people, but, not to be any more sexist than necessary, I know women who would be a little skeeved out, and I probably wouldn't recommend Sleeping Ute to families.

Room Tip: If you have time, you might want to ask to see the room first before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuthehistoryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Your basic room with good beds and was very peaceful and quiet. Stayed two nights and would return again in the future. Sonya was so friendly and made us feel at home. She recommended some great places to eat which we appreciated and enjoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gooddbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Reached Cortez and the Sleeping Ute Motel after a day of sight-seeing and a little motorcycle trouble. Sonja greeted us with open arms. We show up at all motels at one time (6 people, needing 3 rooms of different configurations). She worked with us and made our stay great. Also, breakfast is made and when one of our guys missed the cut-off time for breakfast, she made his hot and fresh. Who could ask for anything more!! Great location, super friendly service and she even let us play with Taz, her Chihuahua, so we could have some puppy love before traveling on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
2.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.2 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
144 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel

Address: 531 South Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range: £56 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, quiet, spacious comfortable rooms. Located walking distance to downtown Cortez and restaurants. Free wifi and unlimited long distance phone calls within U.S.A. Queen size beds, AC/heat, Mini- Refrigerators, Microwave Ovens, Pets Welcome. Enjoy the Old West and our shady Picnic areas. Cortez is the hub of the Four Corners Region and point of interest on the Grand Circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing