We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff but property a bit of a Dive”
Review of Travelodge Cortez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Cortez
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but property a bit of a Dive”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The check in was friendly and easy. When as how many pillows in the room the staff member said 3. I requested a 4th pillow. At entry to the room, there were only 2 pillows, so I called the front desk to request another pillow, however was told, they were none available. The property could use some work including some better cleaning. The hallways were very dirty. The room was not cleaned thoroughly. There was water all over the bathroom floor. It took an entire large bath towel to clean it up. The bath fan was a fire hazard. We notified the front desk of the danger. The TV was so fuzzy it could not be used, neither could the internet. Staff attempted to re-set the internet connection but was not successful. Will try to stay somewhere else if ever in town again.

Room Tip: See the room before purchasing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    54
    80
    50
    41
See reviews for
93
98
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great bargain ... our room was clean and quite. We had a room very close to the front lobby so that we could walk to the nice breakfast they had. My only complaint would be that the ice machine was up the hill and I had to drive up the hill to get some ice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 257Becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

News owners were very helpful and pleasant, room rates great , continental breakfast good.. We spent much time out riding on bikes so not needing a luxury motel .. For the price excellent - would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtaylor450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Cortez based on Tripadvisor reviews. Although it was very clean, we felt that the room we were given was not the same as previous reviewers had stayed in. We were given a room near the reception area. There were several people sitting out front in plastic chairs provided by the hotel and entrance to our room was very dirty. I felt that this hotel was being used to house people who had no other place to stay or no permanent housing. Felt very uncomfortable when we found out later that night that our security latch did not work although the lock did. On the plus side, it was clean, the bed was comfortable and the air worked. Be aware that this is a very old hotel and if you decide to stay here you might inquire if some of the other rooms in the back are upgraded. Don't stay in the row of rooms attached to the reception area. Reminds me of 1950s motels along Route 66. Also continental breakfast was weak. We grabbed orange juice and got breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishlass2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanab, UT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We noticed evidence of a sizable number of long-term residents en route to our room. The room was acceptably, though not exceptionally, clean whereas the hallways, stairways, exterior walkways were dirty and inadequately maintained. Amenities provided were minimal--shampoo and bar soap, no lotion or conditioner--as was the 'breakfast.' There was no fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board and only ONE washcloth. The air conditioner was worthless--all it produced was a lot of noise. Even though it roared all night, the room temperature never approached cool.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, a good night's sleep and a good breakfast stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janm410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked the Rodeway Inn in Cortez because of good reviews on Trip Advisor. However, the motel was extremely disappointing. When we first arrived, we noticed that most of the parking spaces were occupied, many by trailers and other work vehicles. We then noticed the charcoal grilles outsides some of the rooms, the numerous kids that appeared to be living there, and many folks sitting outside their rooms. We quickly concluded that this motel has a large percentage of its room occupied by long term transient residents. The room was clean but very Spartan. The breakfast the next morning had little to offer and many of the its offerings needed to be restocked but no one on the staff was around to do this. The price was very reasonable but we would have gladly paid more for a more comfortable and less threatening location. The town of Cortez has very little to offer and its eating establishments would be rated at the bottom for service and quality. Our suggestion is to drive thru this miserable town and have a better experience elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room in another city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBoyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I try to use Choice Hotels for the points and this one was inexpensive and had acceptable ratings. But I got to my room and started to wash my hands and realized they hadn't left any soap in the room! Lucky for me I didn't need the advertised iron and ironing board, because they weren't there, either. I was in an upper level room and the floor creaks and I can hear the carpet padding breaking down as I walk around. The coffee pot is on the wooden dresser and the veneer is "bubbling" from the repeated moisture that happens there. The linens are clean, at least.

Room Tip: Look further, unless you absolutely need to save some money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
0.3 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
0.4 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cortez

Property: Travelodge Cortez
Address: 1120 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3346 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Cortez)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet property with immaculate, 100% non smoking rooms with smoking areas available outside. 9 miles from Mesa Verde National Park and walking distance to several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA and HRS so you can book your Travelodge Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Cortez Hotel Cortez
Cortez Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing