We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Travelodge Cortez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Cortez
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2009

My bf and I stayed here for a night while on our way to Mesa Verde, about 9 miles away. It was a nice stay. The front desk clerk was really nice and friendly. Free wi-fi. The room was spacious and clean. The only gripe I had was the size of the bathroom. It was tiny and could only fit one person. Water pressure for the shower was AMAZING though. Nice!!! :)
Restaurants and shops are nearby. There's a really good Chinese restaurant about a mile or two down called Hunan Chinese Restaurant - try that place for lunch. They have some authentic dishes.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sktravelbug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    59
    93
    59
    53
See reviews for
112
112
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Temple City, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

For the price of this hotel, I was expecting a lot better. The non-smoking room was dirty and smelled of recent smoke. The refrigerator and microwave didn't work, the A/C was not up to the task of late July heat, and the pool was closed. After checking on the continental breakfast in the lobby, I walked down to the McDonalds instead.

All in all, a disappointing stay.

  • Liked — Close to restaurants
  • Disliked — Room was dirty, smelly.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcfjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Middle Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I just needed a room for the night and this Roadway Inn was the least expensive hotel. It looks kinda scary from the outside and the inside reminds me of a college dorm. The fridge was impossible to figure out how to turn on. It was outdated-but that's not more important than clean, which it was. The button on the ice machine was broken and the hallway was smelly as heck.

But, my son had fun swimming in the pool. For some reason I felt safe and comfortable there. Some of the other guests were really nice. The view from the parking lot is amazing. It's close to stores and restaurants. Internet worked fine.

The next day we headed to the Four Corners. Not much selection when it comes to that area. Cortez is the only decent town.

  • Liked — View, Price and Location
  • Disliked — Smell and Ice Machine Broken
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thrillcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2007

The rooms are very dirty, the carpets are sticky and the room smells funny. window is very small and feels clastrophobic. Internet connection is not available.

The Russian manager pointed a finger at us and told us that rooms are dirty because of customers like us..... naturally they need a lesson in customer service and a fast inspection from the health department!

simply avoid!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hanuman_bs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Co
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2006

This hotel was a mikstake, and a disaster. We stayed here for 3 days over Memorial Day, and I'm hard pressed to remember a worse hotel.

Rooms are filthy, smelling of cigarettes and dog urine. The pool and hot tub are completely out of commission with no evidence they will ever open again. Bathroom sink was stopped-up the entire time, necessistating us to use the bathtub to brush our teeth and wash our face. Carpet in hotel room had all kinds of mystery stains, and smelled. All public areas are filthy, haven't been given a cleaning in years. Cigarette butts everywhere. Why did we stay more than one night? Because the other hotels in Cortez were booked because of the holiday weekend, and we were stuck. Altho in hindsight, sleeping in the car would have been more pleasurable.

Helpful?
8 Thank Ibandib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 823 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2005

Nothing special. We were disappointed that the pool was still closed in May although the web site promised it open. We were given a "half in the basement" room, which looked a bit spooky from the outside, but was better inside. We missed the continental breakfast, because we hit the road at 5am. This property gives you what you expect, but nothing more.

Helpful?
3 Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.4 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cortez

Property: Travelodge Cortez
Address: 1120 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3346 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Cortez)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet property with immaculate, 100% non smoking rooms with smoking areas available outside. 9 miles from Mesa Verde National Park and walking distance to several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Travelodge Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Cortez Hotel Cortez
Cortez Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing