We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low cost overnight near Mesa Verde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
National 9 Inn Sand Canyon
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Low cost overnight near Mesa Verde”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a minimal but clean older inn. The prices are extremely reasonable and the facility has WiFi. It is locate adjacent tot good dining facilities.
The rooms have a microwave, refrigerator, and cable TV.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    18
    19
    41
See reviews for
20
35
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

hotel manager was nice, but that's where it ends. our room was filthy, furniture was held together by clear packing take. had a huge hole in cushion. bathroom was filthy, sink falling away from wall. only had 1/4 roll toilet paper and there was no more. we didnt even take our luggage in, we slept in our clothes, got up got change of clothes from car showered and left. we also found out from several locals that that is not a hotel you want to stay at. been known for drug deals and biker hang out according to locals. the pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned in over a year.I would NOT advise anyone to stay there and if you do thrust me its at your own risk. I would love to see the CEO of national 9 chain stay there

Room Tip: stay away there is an econolodge right down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Buena Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have stayed in this motel and would like to go again if I visit Cortez, CO. Front desk staff was very inviting. Rooms are good. I paid for queen size room and got King size room with no extra charge. It was hot weather and front desk person offered me a bottle of water. I would recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: Choose rooms front side of motels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lets start off with that the staff lied to us on the phone about the price as we arrived they charged almost 20 dollar more. Second, the rooms are as worse as they look from the outside. The smell was terrible, the AC was off and not working. The rooms are old and dirty. The beds have dirt marks and the bathroom has mold and dirt every where. There is no warm water and the toilette is not working. The pool I cant find words to describe this the same as for the staff who was just rude. I recommend to stay away from this place, there are more motels in Cortez who are cheaper and better. STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alk0487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The front desk area was ok and the Front person was nice. Could use a few more English lessons. The first room was dirty and the Door had been kick in but the repair was done with Plaster. Went to another room and it was a bit nicer, I sat on the couch and sunk to the floor. The Hotel is very old 1950 and they are still using the same furniture. The pool was green. The cleaning staff were small little kids with adult supervision. They may have been homeless and given a night free stay for room cleaning. In one room there was a man passout on the unmade bed he didnt move all day. The cops only show up a few time to stop a fight between to women in the parking lot. The parking lot was very small. At this price what do you expect.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank walter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The rooms were dirty and the TV only worked part of the time. The front desk person was nice and when we asked for anything they where very accomidating. But for the price and just a place to sleep it was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethW0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The motel looks extremely run down from the outside. And in our room everything looked like it had been broken and fixed at least two times. Actually we felt like a lot was done to keep an old and rundown motel working, clean and in a half way decent condition without spending too much money on it. You can say that this motel is run with the goal to minimize costs. Why have three light bulbs, if two are enough for the bathroom? As this attitude helped us to minimize travel costs, I will not complaint about it, justbgive a fair warning to those who do mind about these things.
We were quite happy to find a room that was everything we needed for a very reasonable price. We had a fridge, microwave and free WiFi. The WiFi connection was actually a very good one. The room also had a TV, but we didn't use it. We didn't use the pool either.
Breakfast could be improved, but the coffee was offered for free and was decent. On our trip we had far more expensive motels that didn't offer as much. The food that was offered was indeed minimalistic, but if we hadn't brought some food that we liked better we would have been able to get a simple breakfast for free.
In short: If you want a nice place, this one isn't for you. But we found it a great place to stay for an incredibly low price.
And as someone mentioned it: The guy at the reception - probably the owner or manager - was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AP9669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
0.7 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.7 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
0.8 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National 9 Inn Sand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Property: National 9 Inn Sand Canyon
Address: 301 W Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3132
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Inn Sand Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your National 9 Inn Sand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Sand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing