We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, mellow retreat, archaelogical paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelly Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelly Place
Ranked #1 of 5 Cortez B&B and Inns
Woodland Park, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, mellow retreat, archaelogical paradise”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

What a great B&B to relax and enjoy the great Southwest! Marc and Jerene are excellent hosts and prepare excellent breakfasts each day. After a day of hiking in Canyon of the Ancients, a nice cold pitcher of beer on the patio is perfect. Close to everything in the Four Corners Area; Mesa Verde, Ute Tribal Park, Canyon of the Ancients, Hovenweep. We are now regular guests. Best time to visit is Spring and Fall.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce012354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    33
    7
    11
    9
See reviews for
47
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is a fabulous setting, particularly for hikers. Room quality varies considerably, so talk to the owners before booking. I had one of the rooms with a queen size bed and bunk bed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pine walls gave it a "camp" feel. Good soundproofing.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

10.2 miles west of Cortez right up next to the Canyons of the Ancients. You can hike in from the B&B. If you want quiet peaceful outdoors this is the place. Breakfasts were great... and really good quality food. Mark and Jerene are really helpful and friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Mesa Verde is about 20 miles away, easy to get to and from in a day. There's no phone, no TV, no hairdryer in the rooms, but the common area is always open and has a computer and reading/study materials (and snacks always available). The only negative is that you can hear people in the next room. But even with that, we would definitely stay here again. It's so comfortable and easy going, the people staying there seem to mingle and mix and tell of their experiences each day... it's a fun place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunCitySojourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We only had 1 night at Kelly Place and I wish we could have stayed longer. The grounds are beautiful and full of history and stories about the Pueblo people and the staff is very knowledgeable. We had a great breakfast with everything you need to fill you up for a long day and we spent the whole time talking and hearing stories about the studies going on at Kelly Place. We then had a shortened hike (sadly we had to leave early and get on the road) around the ruins with a very knowledgeable archeologist who took the time to explain how the people lived, what the different structures represented and how the heritage is evolving over time.

A truly hidden gem and a great experience for anyone who wants to learn more about these ancient people.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaC700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

If as a traveller you seek out places to stay that have magnificent scenery and offer a wealth of things to learn, such as an 'old school' lodge at a National Park or a simple beach house along a dynamic coast of the Mediterranean, then you might do well staying here. We just spent the weekend, for the 2nd time in the last 3 months. We will be going again. And again. First off, there is wonderful Southwest scenery. However, it is the opportunity to learn, in different ways, about many things, that has fairly captured our imaginations. It seemed like a great, 3 credit college course in just 3 days. So go if you are truly inquisitive. In fairness to those who have given Kelly Place poor reviews, I won't argue with your perspective; I'll simply say to others that if you like to have your jammies fluffed and your egos massaged, then this is not the place for you. Oh, and the breakfasts were quite good, down home kinda good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank polaris22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My husband and I have visited Kelly Place a couple of times now with our two kids and highly recommend this lovely place. The owners are quite accommodating, especially with two energetic teenagers, the rooms are comfortable, clean, and quiet, and the meals are carefully prepared and delicious. It's amazing how peacefully we sleep in this relaxing and serene setting. We've even seen deer walk right by us casually as we're taking a morning stroll together.

My kids have enjoyed staying at Kelly Place in the past so much that they asked to return because there's an archeologist on site who can talk to them about various digs in the vicinity, and we've all enjoyed going on an educational guided tour of the Ute Native American Reservation to learn more about the ancient civilization, even enjoying cultural dances and folk music only minutes from where Kelly Place is located. My kids have been able to bring these learning experiences effectively back to school with them, and all of this is within minutes from Kelly Place. We also decided to return to Kelly Place because my husband and I have enjoyed wine tasting only a few minutes nearby, and watching the luminiscent sky setting over the cliffs as we sat on the patio each night while our boys were off exploring. Kelly Place is a winner in our family - definitely our favorite getaway!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WordsofWisdom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Stayed 2 nights. Tiny and dirty room. Unhelpful staff. Poor quality breakfast

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anzere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
12.5 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
17.0 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
12.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
6.4 mi away
Canyon of the Ancients Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Place

Property: Kelly Place
Address: 14537 Road G, Cortez, CO 81321-9575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between majestic Sleeping Ute Mountain and the sculpted red rocks of McElmo Canyon, Kelly Place B&B has been attracting visitors since 1980. Explore prehistoric sites, including pueblo ruins and a fully restored kiva on the self-guided tour of Kelly Place property. Hike from here into Canyons of the Ancients National Monument on our northern border through the natural beauty of pinon-juniper canyons to remote cliff-dwellings. Relax in our Spanish-style courtyard, gazing at the 10,000-foot mountain and watching brightly colored birds while sipping a glass of local McElmo Canyon wine or a frosty beer on tap from our local brewery. Experience our relaxed southwestern hospitality, fruit trees and scrumptious home-style breakfasts. The adobe-style lodge features a comfortable lounge area with music, library, computer, dvds and games. Lodge rooms, cabins, RV and tent sites are available. Cabins have cooking and grill facilities, some with fireplace and a jetted tub. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kelly Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing