We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend time with the Ancestral Pueblans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelly Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kelly Place
Ranked #2 of 5 Cortez B&B and Inns
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spend time with the Ancestral Pueblans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My daughter spent a week at Crow Canyon Archaeology Center near Cortez, so I opted to make a vacation out of the trip from Denver to retrieve her. Kelly Place -- with artifacts and kivas on the property -- was the perfect spot. We day tripped to Hovenweep, Mesa Verde, Canyon of the Ancients (on an archaeologist-led hike that started at our cabin door!) and Dolores, and my daughter showed me all she had learned. I would have loved to have had a kitchen to make dinner less of an issue, but the fridge in our cabin helped us manage picnic lunches and snacks, and breakfast was hearty. Comfy bed, quiet nights, nice people. We sat outside at twilight and watched the bats! With my daughter now applying to colleges to study anthropology, I predict more trips to this region and more excuses to come back to McElmo Canyon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Duplex Cabin, which was a little more private than the lodge rooms, with a microwav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa80005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    31
    7
    11
    9
See reviews for
46
43
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I wanted a place to enjoy some peace and quiet, be able to exercise daily, and be close to the Four Corners exploring we wanted to do. We looked into Durango, but at $225 per night, was too steep for us. We began searching within 60 miles of Durango, and found Kelly Place Bed and Breakfast. The place eas a little hard to locate driving there, but oh my!, what a wonderful surprise and pleasure. We opted for a Cabin, instead of a room, but the rooms are as big as the cabins. It had a nicely equipped galley, good restroom and washing facilities, great bed, and a swamp cooler. Thats all you need in this climate. The sounds at night consisted of crickets and frogs, and I drank my coffee on the porch and watched a mother deer and fawn graze the geounds. Fruit trees line the property, but that isnt the best part. The whole property sits on the edge of the Hovenweep Settlement, and has arcaelogical diggings and pottery displays from 1200-1300AD. The owners are a wonderful couple dedicated to making your experience there as complete as the adventures you will find. By the way, we shopped all over from The Bluffs, Mexican Hat, Monument Valley and the best price on an authentic Navajo Rug was at Kelly Place. The breakfast was done buffet style and was different daily. Hats off to the chef, owner as he did an outstanding job every day. Home made granola, jellys and jams, eggs quesadilla style, quiche, fresh fruit, coffee, tea juices, and just about anything else you could ask for. All of the mentioned places are within 100 miles of Kelly Place and Mesa Verde is 40 miles up the road.

What Kelly Place isnt..... If you are looking for. Television, Cellular Service, or internet in your room, forget it. I was able to check my email at breakfast daily, where they have a wireless station, and there is a land line, but cellular is off the radar. If the kiddoos are looking for video games, or the boob tube, ot wont happen. Substitute hiking in the beautiful open countryside of the acreage owned by Kelly aplace, or opt to go about a mile or two down the road to the Canton of the Ancients park and hike their up to 6 miles. Wildlife is there, but we didnt see any snakes, an occasional deer, rabbitt. Always be preparred, as this is 6500-7000 feet high, and air is thin. Take lots of water, stop and enjoy the wildlife and scenery and you will be fine. This is not a place to expect to be waited on. The folks we met there at breakfast varied greatly, and were pleasant. I would definitely do Kelly Place again. Five Stars!
The Texans

Room Tip: The cabin is nice if you want to be more alone, and ground floor. Only a few dollars more. Great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

A beautiful, magical spot with easy access to the wonderful trails of Canyons of the Ancients, as well as Mesa Verde. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the breakfasts were decent, the management was friendly and responsive to our needs, the guests were enjoyable to converse with, and there were lots of spots to sit in the shade and enjoy the amazing view after glorious hikes. We loved sitting out on the patio and watching all of the birds. An all around lovely spot. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

If you're looking for a retreat like experience this is the place to go. But know that you're on your own. You won't be pampered w room service or conveniently located restaurants. Pack a cooler, turn off your cell phone and kick back and relax.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Kelly Place was recommended by a friend, and I was pleasantly surprised how it exceeded my expectations. We went just for the weekend, but I will definitely return - hopefully on a regular basis. It sits in a beautiful valley filled with fruit orchards and surrounded by mountains to the south, and desert cliffs and canyons to the north. The owners, Marc and Jerene, are helpful, knowledgable and friendly, and the property surrounding the main lodge is welcoming with benches, picnic tables, trees and flower beds. I would love to see it all later in the spring or early summer. We had unseasonably warm weather for March during our stay, which was an extra bonus. Our room was in one of the duplex cabins, and was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were delicious, and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests and owners. The hiking trails are accessible on foot and are incredible, with ancient Anasazi ruins galore! There wasn't a single aspect of Kelly Place that I didn't like, and although a part of me would like to keep it a secret, I'm hoping that by sharing it with others, it will be around for a long time to come!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariapompelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed two nights last June in the Deluxe Cabin which had a queen bed for us and a daybed for our 10 year old son. The evaporative cooler was terrific in the heat! We also liked the kitchenette for storing our beverages and snacks. The bathroom was so roomy, too (double sink?). The whole cabin had a nice southwestern décor. Jerene was friendly from the time she took our reservation and throughout the check-in process. We met Marc at breakfast – an excellent cook and an interesting man! Yes, the breakfasts---massive quantities of terrific fresh food! I enjoyed talking with other guests after breakfast. This is a fantastic place to explore, especially the kivas (just watch out for the bristly weeds along the path that invade your clothing and shoes). One kiva was refurbished and the other was in its original state. We also spent a day at Mesa Verde National Park (another place we’d like to see again). We hope to stay there again when there’s a new moon so we can view the stars at their best.

Room Tip: Cabin has privacy and additional comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OhioFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Excellent breakfast, very friendly staff, comfortable and quiet. Marc is very helpful. The cabins are the best value and most private. If I visit the area again, I will most certainly stay at Kelly's Place.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alaskanworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
12.5 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
16.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
10.4 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
12.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Place

Property: Kelly Place
Address: 14537 Road G, Cortez, CO 81321-9575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between majestic Sleeping Ute Mountain and the sculpted red rocks of McElmo Canyon, Kelly Place B&B has been attracting visitors since 1980. Explore prehistoric sites, including pueblo ruins and a fully restored kiva on the self-guided tour of Kelly Place property. Hike from here into Canyons of the Ancients National Monument on our northern border through the natural beauty of pinon-juniper canyons to remote cliff-dwellings. Relax in our Spanish-style courtyard, gazing at the 10,000-foot mountain and watching brightly colored birds while sipping a glass of local McElmo Canyon wine or a frosty beer on tap from our local brewery. Experience our relaxed southwestern hospitality, fruit trees and scrumptious home-style breakfasts. The adobe-style lodge features a comfortable lounge area with music, library, computer, dvds and games. Lodge rooms, cabins, RV and tent sites are available. Cabins have cooking and grill facilities, some with fireplace and a jetted tub. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kelly Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing