We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and extraordinary B&B”
Review of Kelly Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelly Place
Ranked #1 of 5 Cortez B&B and Inns
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique and extraordinary B&B”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We spent two nights at Kelly Place and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, could happily have stayed longer, so much to see and do in the area. Our room was comfortable, the bathroom small but manageable. The lounge and patio area are great for hanging out after a day of exploring. Mark cooked us two wonderful breakfasts and gave us lots of information about the area and its history. The scenery is outstanding, there's a very interesting walk on the property that includes two Kivas. We didn't have time but it's possible to walk into The Canyon of the Ancients area from the B&B, perhaps this is something better done with a guide - thanks Mark and Jerene for a very memorable and informative stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandG_Wallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    36
    7
    12
    9
See reviews for
52
48
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland,OR
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Mark & Jerene run a great B&B. We were here for a RoadScholar service trip, working at the Anasazi Heritage Center in Dolores, with Kelly Place as our headquarters. Rooms were good, our bathroom small, but usable.
Jerene & Mark are both great cooks, and turn out wonderful meals, both on site, and for our take-along lunches. They're informative, interested, and fun.
What other reviewers have said about sites in the area is true. We visited Castle Rock, just 12 miles down the road, and the south trailhead into Canyons of the Ancients, just 2 miles from the B&B.
It is out in the country - fully 11 miles from town, on a not-fast road, so plan that into your timing for activities.
I'd love to stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DC1843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I'm not sure that it's sensible to review somewhere like Kelly Place after a one-night stop, but it deserves a good word and potential guests ought to know how best to use it.

It's about ten miles west of Cortez, not far from the Utah border, and stands alone; you can't see any other properties from the door. The location is dramatic, in the valley of McElmo Creek, but although it's not on a main road it isn't difficult to find, even if you turn up, as we did, after dark. There are Ancestral Puebloan remains on the doorstep; the recommended circular walk from the house never strays more than about two hundred yards, and yet in that distance you come across a couple of kivas and a cliff dwelling or two. The best way to use Kelly Place would be as a centre for Hovenweep and Mesa Verde NP's, neither of which is any great distance away.

You won't get the full benefit on a one-night stay, but it's worth doing nevertheless, for the stars and the deep silence at night and the breakfast next morning. The rooms are comfortable, and at least one of them has a kitchen; this is a significant consideration, since it's a bit of a hike back into Cortez for dinner. The dining-room and sitting-room in the main building have a bit of a hostel-like feel, but in a good way. Make sure you try the home-made granola at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hank, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I'm sorry I only could stay two nights! The location is perfect, tucked into the edge of the Canyon of the Ancients. My sister and I stayed in the two-room suite and spent our evenings out on the porch, enjoying the view and fabulous sunsets. A perfect location for day trips to Hovenweep and Mesa Verdee but I would have liked more time to explore Canyon of the Ancients itself. Knowledgeable and friendly owners, beautiful grounds, and the best breakfasts I had my entire trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This Inn is located some 15 miles west of Cortez (CO). It is a superb location if you wish to investigate the natural wonders of this area or its Anasazi history and want to do some hiking. The Inn is located next to the Canyon of the Ancients and you can start your hike just outside the cabins. We stayed there for two nights in one of the cabins, which was fine and clean and we had some decent breakfasts. In the evenings we sat on the porch and enjoyed the wildlife, the sounds and the stars. Due to the location you should either bring some food or be prepared to drive some distance for dining.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hajsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

What a wonderful base camp to explore the 4 Corners area of the Southwest!
Attentive, friendly staff, awesome breakfast, spotless rooms but best of all you can walk out of your room to see ancient ruins right on the property. An excellent place for those wheelchair bound or who have difficulty walking. Can't say enough great things about Kelly Place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My daughter spent a week at Crow Canyon Archaeology Center near Cortez, so I opted to make a vacation out of the trip from Denver to retrieve her. Kelly Place -- with artifacts and kivas on the property -- was the perfect spot. We day tripped to Hovenweep, Mesa Verde, Canyon of the Ancients (on an archaeologist-led hike that started at our cabin door!) and Dolores, and my daughter showed me all she had learned. I would have loved to have had a kitchen to make dinner less of an issue, but the fridge in our cabin helped us manage picnic lunches and snacks, and breakfast was hearty. Comfy bed, quiet nights, nice people. We sat outside at twilight and watched the bats! With my daughter now applying to colleges to study anthropology, I predict more trips to this region and more excuses to come back to McElmo Canyon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Duplex Cabin, which was a little more private than the lodge rooms, with a microwav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa80005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
12.5 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
17.0 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
12.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Place

Property: Kelly Place
Address: 14537 Road G, Cortez, CO 81321-9575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between majestic Sleeping Ute Mountain and the sculpted red rocks of McElmo Canyon, Kelly Place B&B has been attracting visitors since 1980. Explore prehistoric sites, including pueblo ruins and a fully restored kiva on the self-guided tour of Kelly Place property. Hike from here into Canyons of the Ancients National Monument on our northern border through the natural beauty of pinon-juniper canyons to remote cliff-dwellings. Relax in our Spanish-style courtyard, gazing at the 10,000-foot mountain and watching brightly colored birds while sipping a glass of local McElmo Canyon wine or a frosty beer on tap from our local brewery. Experience our relaxed southwestern hospitality, fruit trees and scrumptious home-style breakfasts. The adobe-style lodge features a comfortable lounge area with music, library, computer, dvds and games. Lodge rooms, cabins, RV and tent sites are available. Cabins have cooking and grill facilities, some with fireplace and a jetted tub. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kelly Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing