We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, good stay”
Review of Kelly Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelly Place
Ranked #2 of 5 Cortez B&B and Inns
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, good stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I am really happy overall with choosing to stay at Kelly Place. The grounds and main building are beautiful. The night sky viewed from the property is amazing. It is cool that you can explore ruins on the property, and I felt a little weird about how we were just able to wander into the kivas, which are considered sacred spaces. Kelly Place is just about a mile down the road from Sand Canyon, which offers a beautiful hiking trail where you will see many ruins. I highly suggest it. We also visited Hovenweep, and other Canyons of the Ancients sites in the area.

We stayed in a room with a queen bed and bunk beds, which we did not use. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and perfect for our needs. The bathroom was small, but that was not a big deal. We could hear all the conversation in the room next door, so if you are looking for more privacy, I'd suggest not staying in a lodge room.

There are lots of great amenities in the main lodge--yummy snacks, TV area, books, a gift shop. The breakfasts are simple and cooked right in front of you! I can't remember if we were given an option online to indicate dietary preferences, but the first morning we could not eat the dish because we are vegetarian. Most likely my fault for not informing the hosts ahead of time! The cook took a lot of time one morning to help us plan our route to Denver, which was very nice of him.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    34
    7
    11
    9
See reviews for
47
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Kelly Place is on the road that goes to Hovenweep, and the property contains multiple archeological sites. It's quiet and pleasant, and although the inn and the accommodations tend toward being rustic, they are clean and everything works. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were full, and the sheets were soft. The swamp cooler really did cool the room. And it was a true non-smoking room with no trace of ever having had cigarette smoke. All pluses.

On the other hand, the room - we stayed in number 5 - was quite small. (Equipped with a queen bed and a bunk bed that my husband and I used for stashing luggage.) There is no closet, and because the room is long and narrow, essentially a gallery, there's no room for either a dresser or any kind of table or desk. No place to put a computer and use it, even though the wifi works fine. The cubbyholes on the wall worked well for keeping clothing out of the way, and there is a rod on which to hang clothing.

The room is set up for a couple with two kids, but would be uncomfortably tight for that many people. Plus there's no way to store clothing for a family.

The shower (no bath) is tiny and has little water pressure. My husband says that's the smallest toilet he has ever used. And when one person uses it, s/he had better knock on the door going out because s/he will flatten anyone who is at the single sink, which is positioned in front of the door.

There's a nice lounge and a pleasant patio with two very friendly cats. We spend little time in either spot.

Food at breakfast was good enough and plentiful, including at least one hot dish (scrambled eggs one morning, French toast another), but it was fairly basic and unimaginative. What I would expect from a good quality summer camp. There were multiple kinds of tea, good coffee, some juice, dry cereals and a lackluster granola. There's a toaster in which to warm store-bought bread and bagels.

Having said all that, we didn't come for the room or the breakfasts. We came for Mesa Verde and the surrounding sites. Kelly Place was a great launching pad for all that; but note, it's about 10-12 miles outside Cortez. Allow 15-20 minutes drive to get to dinner.

A very big plus: the place itself is really IN nature: we saw bats, a coyote, a lizard, rabbits and heard an owl near the inn. As others have written, there's a beautifully restored and preserved kiva steps from the door, and pottery collections found on site right in the inn. There's also a nice self-guide to what's there so you can look around at your leisure.

If you're interested in sophisticated food or a classy hotel-type experience, look elsewhere.
Kelly Place nicely met our needs given what we were seeking - a retreat and the ambience of the Four Corners area. If you're interested in being in nature and spending your time largely outdoors, it might meet your expectations too.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the 2nd floor and you have to carry your own bags up the stairs. If this is a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stay in this bad and breakfast in August 2013. The places is amazing because you stay in the nature. The breakfast is good and fresh.
The rooms inside the lobbyhome are to little and the badrooms are very bad.
The rooms are not very clean and the hotel needs a very renew.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bea1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Kelly Place is in SW Colorado near Mesa Verde. On the property are six or seven archeological sites, one of which has been restored including a Kiva that one can visit. Artifacts that have been found on the property are stored in a multi-shelved glass case by the kitchen. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, cooled with moisture-providing swamp coolers. I stayed here with a Road Scholar program that provided volunteer labor sorting and repackaging pottery pieces that were dug 20+ years ago at sites now covered by a reservoir. We worked at the Anasazi Cultural Center where we also learned the history of the area and its people. Our excellent guide and teacher, Jim Colleran made the history come alive and helped us appreciate the amazing pieces of pottery we were handling. I would highly recommend Kelly Place and this program but also as a place to visit with family and friends and learn more about the history of the SW. Owners of Kelly Place were most hospitable and the food was excellent--plentiful, healthy and delicious.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms if you can climb the stairs have a better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PLewis4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here with my extended family of 8 in two rooms. A difficult place to review because there were some excellent features and some disappointing aspects. The good included spectacular grounds and comfortable rooms, a well stocked library with board games we enjoyed playing outdoors at night, and the archaeological sites to tour. But there was a little snafu on our arrival (she didn't seem to know we were coming?) and overall the price seems a bit high for the area, especially considering the lack of some basic courtesies (no way to leave out a breakfast option for someone who has to leave early in the morning? no way to print a boarding pass?).

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DB_Silver_Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JereneJ, Owner at Kelly Place, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
I am genuinely surprised by this review, from someone who wanted to extend their stay but couldn’t because of lack of availability. Let me address each of the criticisms:
We were certainly aware they were arriving—both rooms were set and ready. I was momentarily confused that the group was under a single reservation rather than two. It took less than 30 seconds for me to realize this.

The lady who was departing very early the next morning stated that she was happy with the fruit and snacks we always leave out for guests. Our breakfasts consist of mainly fresh food—refrigerated or cooked. If she was not happy with the food we normally leave out, I thought she would have said something.

We do not have a business center and we are unable to print out boarding passes. Luckily our local airports are miniscule and there is no trouble at all to have them print out boarding passes, including those for connecting flights.

I don’t understand the statement that we are overpriced for the area. It is certainly possible to find budget motels in Cortez. I suspect this group would not have been happy at a budget motel, however, because they booked our two most expensive rooms.

As a value comparison, they could have stayed at the most popular motel on Main St. in Cortez for the same price as they paid for our 2-bedroom suite. However, that would have lodged only 2 people instead of the 4 people and they would not have had a full kitchen and a large wrap-around deck with fantastic views of the mountain and red rocks. They would have had a corporate breakfast rather than Marc’s home-style breakfast with eggs that he actually has to break open rather than pour from a carton. Members of this group seemed to enjoy hiking around the arroyos and on-site archaeological ruins during their stay. That would not be possible in a motel on Main St.

It is our desire to provide pleasurable and comfortable visits to all of our guests. We especially welcome immediate feedback to ensure the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Kelly Place is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at. We are no into TV or jacuzzis, just the stillness of nature and Kelly Place offers just that. Located about ten miles from Cortez, being adjacent to the Canyon of the Ancients added much to our stay. The rooms are clean and well furnished and there are ancient sites right on e property. There are also trails you can hike from the inn. The breakfasts are really special southwestern cuisine. Guests sit around a large table and share experiences from their trips. The staff is friendly and helpful. Also, there is a refrigerator in each room and a large refrigerator that guests can use. We will definitely be back. A very special place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimCarson46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Kelly Place is situated on about 40 acres in McElmo Canyon about 11 miles from town. It's quiet, clean and friendly. The grounds include anasazi ruins and remnants of original homesteads--with a self-guided tour. The veranda is perfect for breakfast with the hummingbirds--or afternoon reading (or siesta). The hosts are knowledgeable and willing to share that. The rooms are spacious, with fridge and stove burners. Breakfasts and first rate, especially the homemade granola. Canyons of the Ancients and Hovenweep are nearby. We visited just to get away from the summer heat--but we'll return any time of the year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williamhS4270EY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
12.5 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
17.0 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
12.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
6.4 mi away
Canyon of the Ancients Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Place

Property: Kelly Place
Address: 14537 Road G, Cortez, CO 81321-9575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between majestic Sleeping Ute Mountain and the sculpted red rocks of McElmo Canyon, Kelly Place B&B has been attracting visitors since 1980. Explore prehistoric sites, including pueblo ruins and a fully restored kiva on the self-guided tour of Kelly Place property. Hike from here into Canyons of the Ancients National Monument on our northern border through the natural beauty of pinon-juniper canyons to remote cliff-dwellings. Relax in our Spanish-style courtyard, gazing at the 10,000-foot mountain and watching brightly colored birds while sipping a glass of local McElmo Canyon wine or a frosty beer on tap from our local brewery. Experience our relaxed southwestern hospitality, fruit trees and scrumptious home-style breakfasts. The adobe-style lodge features a comfortable lounge area with music, library, computer, dvds and games. Lodge rooms, cabins, RV and tent sites are available. Cabins have cooking and grill facilities, some with fireplace and a jetted tub. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Kelly Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing