We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair enough value for a one night stop over !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fair enough value for a one night stop over !”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Nothing fancy ! A fair stopover at a reasonable price. Room clean enough and staff polite enough. From where I stand you get what you pay for and this was relatively cheap so don't expect anything fancy! Though I say relatively cheap I think if they dropped the price by $10.00 this would, I believe, better reflect what the room / staff / location was probably worth. Wouldn't recommend or, come to that, not recommend. It will do if you need a room and you are in Cortez.
One big PLUS was Dry Dock Restaurant & Lounge on Main St

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    18
    27
    15
    24
See reviews for
32
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed two nights, wished we had stayed somewhere else. Back rooms were shady and parking was unsafe. Room was outdated and needed some TLC! Breakfast was okay if you were starving but a "B" for effort. Location not the best. Stay here as a last resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L R, Manager at American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Responding to comments. We strive to make our guests comfortable and have memorable thoughts of the Mesa Verde Inn in Cortez. Our rooms are comfortable with large king and queen beds and modern facilities. We have the largest hot tub and swimming pool of any hotel in Cortez. We are sorry about a few guests that made comments about our rooms. We are recarpeting 30 rooms and have updated our bathrooms and buildings. We have thousands of guests each season and 99 percent thank us for a lovely visit and make comments. We aim to please and wish guest who were not happy had mentioned it to us. We offer 5 acre of grounds for pet walking large vehicle parking and a friendly staff to assist everyone.
Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Laguna Niguel
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

What a nightmare place to call a hotel. Stinky rooms, less then clean bathrooms and old furniture. Ants invading room under front door. Pool disgusting and breakfast buffet was unappealing. Breakfast in smelly, run down convention room. Only four people occupying hotel and we stayed in two of the rooms. Did not feel safe in area where hotel was located. Find other accommodations or sleep in your car.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L R, Manager at American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Responding to comments. We strive to make our guests comfortable and have memorable thoughts of the Mesa Verde Inn in Cortez. Our rooms are comfortable with large king and queen beds and modern facilities. We have the largest hot tub and swimming pool of any hotel in Cortez. We are sorry about a few guests that made comments about our rooms. We are recarpeting 30 rooms and have updated our bathrooms and buildings. We have thousands of guests each season and 99 percent thank us for a lovely visit and make comments. We aim to please and wish guest who were not happy had mentioned it to us. We offer 5 acre of grounds for pet walking large vehicle parking and a friendly staff to assist everyone.
Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, OH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

There were some moths and a pincher bug in our room which creeped us out initially but no additional bugs emerged. We were next to the laundry room so the A/C helped drown the noise. Beds were fine. Room was clean but dated. Breakfast was fine - hard boiled eggs were appreciated for protein. The breakfast was in the conference center which smelled musty, but the perishables were on ice and was run well and friendly.
Cons
I was anoyed they only gave us one key.
The people above had kids that were thundering around but A/C white noise helped with that too.
Pros
Wifi signal was strong and decent speed.
Room was spacious.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durants Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
513 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Horrible place to stay. The walls were so thin we were kept awake at night with noise above and on either side of us. The carpets were so old, I was not willing to walk bare footed. The bathroom - is an entirely different story. I did not feel clean after taking a shower in there, and the towels wre so small and worn so thin they hardly dried you.

Room Tip: It is not possible to choose a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L R, Manager at American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Responding to comments. We strive to make our guests comfortable and have memorable thoughts of the Mesa Verde Inn in Cortez. Our rooms are comfortable with large king and queen beds and modern facilities. We have the largest hot tub and swimming pool of any hotel in Cortez. We are sorry about a few guests that made comments about our rooms. We are recarpeting 30 rooms and have updated our bathrooms and buildings. We have thousands of guests each season and 99 percent thank us for a lovely visit and make comments. We aim to please and wish guest who were not happy had mentioned it to us. We offer 5 acre of grounds for pet walking large vehicle parking and a friendly staff to assist everyone.
Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Bad service. Our room wasn't made up, when I asked at least for clean towels I was told that because we had 2 people in our room we could only get 2 towels, guess using one towel for your hair and one for your body is no longer an option. AC didn't work. Our traveling companion's room was missing a bed. There are so many options for budget motels in the area, this shouldn't need to be considered. The online information does't represent it accurately. We didn't even attempt the breakfast. Mesa Verde though is fantastic!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank peg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We spent 3 weeks on the road in 5 different states and this was by far the worse "hotel" we stayed in. The room was old and dirty. The fridge was sat on a wooden plinth at a very strange angle. No Coffee or Tea in the room yet alone an iron. The sheets had not been ironed. The pool area was old, tired and stones in the water. The hot tub area was just a mess. The breakfast buffet was in a convention room opposite and resembled the aftermath of a natural disaster scene and the ice machine was broken......so I would NOT recommend this place at all - my wife was almost in tears when she saw the state of the place. Stick to Best Westerns/Holiday Inn is my advice - great style and comfort.

Room Tip: Do not stay here...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
1.2 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
93 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez

Property: American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez
Address: 640 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-3430 (Formerly Anasazi Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mesa Verde Inn Cortez Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing