We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible 'hotel'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Terrible 'hotel'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have travelled around Europe and USA quite a lot. I am sure our agent made a booking error (there is a Holliday Inn around with a similar name). It seems this hotel name sign changes with the desert wind. The attempts to keep it clean fell dead on the dated building with some 'cowboy DIY' installations. Please see my photos - sleep in the car if no other accommodation.- Ship dipping trench referred to as a swimming pool is in the middle of a busy car park. Should the management wish to reply please consider the following: 1. Miss leading name hence very hard to find!
2. Greasy palms on the windows ( not just fingers). 3. Profound smell of tobacco - if only? and fuel. 4. No security- rooms open into busy crossroad and junk yard in the backyard. 5. Pool it may be but not for swimming- in a middle of a business car park surrounded by plastic turf sheets and a metal net - no shelter from the public eye, all old and tatty. 6. one flat pillow per bed. 7. no kettle or coffee maker - you need to ask for one. 8. Long hair of various colours in between bedding. See Photos - Avoid.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maglip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L R, Manager at American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay. We apologize you stay was not a pleasant one. We strive to make our guests comfortable and enjoy their stay. We work on making improvements every day, and your our comments let us know the trouble spots we need to work on. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    27
    13
    23
See reviews for
31
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Well that's the only way to describe the outside . The pictures are very misleading ! The room itself was ok though but I've stayed in much better for much less ! Ok if your passing through but not the best :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whalemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel was hard to locate as the large sign showed as American Holiday, next sign showed as Mesa Verde Inn, and smallest sign showed Cortez Mesa Inn. For the price, value was OK and the room was large plus clean altho dangerous situation with M/W and Refrig. Outside was not appealing. Access into the hotel when heading west was confusing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
281 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

I have to say first the staff is fantastic, the night clerk who checked us in was very friendly and helpful.However, the property was kind of run down. Neither our sink or our tub would drain, so we had to shower in a tub full of backed up water. We had to where our shoes from the bed to the bathroom. And what's up with just an English muffin?Even some cereal would have been nice.The price is lower than most other motels, but still to high for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NateB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Acme, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Don't let the courtyard garden photo fool you. This place is very run down. The pool is filthy, the towels are like sand paper and the room itself, though large, seems as if it hasn't been occupied in years. The shower head is about 10-12 inches too low on the wall and there was no iron or ironing board in the room.

We booked this motel through Hotwire and checked "free parking" and "free breakfast" as search criteria; the parking because we've gotten really good deals in cities that ended up being almost nullified by paying $50.00 a day to park and the breakfast because we were going to be on the road for almost a month and we were trying to save money when we could. According to the clerk, breakfast consisted of coffee and English muffins, so we skipped it.

The only good part of this "inn" was its proximity to Mesa Verde National Park. Had I known what an easy drive it was from the Grand Canyon to Mesa and how much of the park we could see in half a day, I would have simply booked a room in Moab, Utah after staying at the Grand Canyon and added a half day stop at Mesa Verde, much the way we did on a long driving day from Mesa to the Grand Tetons with a stop at Arches.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
396 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel we initially reserved we fled for ours lives from. To this nice motel. The night clerk was a charming nice lady who sympathized with us. I am bad with names but I think her name is Layla or Layna. We paid for our room and carried our stuff up. Nice clean room with a clean microwave and refrigerator. Clean sheets, clean floors, clean bathroom, cable TV, and a large pool and hot tub outside. The place is well cared for; with a small need for touch-up of exterior paint.
The continental breakfast was a lite meal. We opted for breakfast in town.
This a well run Inn by caring people. A real treat at a fair price. Our 3 night stay was wonderful. My daughter and I have a new place to stay in Cortez, Colorado.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Ok when you go to Cortez you should not expect much. It is an old western town. This place is old but it is clean,and spacious. The pool area was nice with lots of outdoor sitting. If you are just passing through this place is not too bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cydney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
2.2 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.2 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez

Property: American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez
Address: 640 South Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321 (Formerly Anasazi Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mesa Verde Inn Cortez Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing