We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Cortez, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A roommate and I were staying at this motel and found a weird bug on the wall. After finding out it was a bed bug we immediately called the office to be moved into a new room. The owner was unhelpful and blamed us for it and wanted us to pay for the costs of killing the bed bugs. We certainly did not bring them to this motel and felt it was unfair we were gonna be charged for it. Owner was very unhelpful and wouldn't reimburse us for our room. We had to find lodging elsewhere!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 928JuniorR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L R, Owner at American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We appreciate you letting us know about this situation so we are able to correct it right away. These gentlemen have been staying with us for 7 weeks and complained of bugs. We inspected the room and determined the room must be fumigated and heated to kill any infestation. We would not move them to another room as their belongings need to be heat treated to kill any bugs. Otherwise they would create another problem. No one else has stayed in this room and they must have brought them while away on days off elsewhere. Our hotel is bug free and our rooms are spotless. These bugs appear from time to time mostly coming from travelers who have stayed at other properties or bus tours. We have special equipment that heat treat the rooms to 130 degrees to kill the bugs and all drapes and bedding must be heat treated and cleaned. The cost to do a room is approx. $300.00. I think we handled this situation appropriately and we did not give the guest a refund as we felt he was responsible. We are sorry for any inconvenience but we acted appropriately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    18
    27
    15
    24
See reviews for
32
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The single pro of this motel was its staff. All three staff members (two front desk clerks and one maintenance man) were very friendly. I almost hate to give it a negative review because tey were so nice.

Nevertheless, I think it is important to be honest about the conditions at the motel. The motel is in serious need of major renovations. The walls are terrible thin. What is worse is that there is little insulation between the second and first floors, so anyone staying in a bottom floor room can hear every footstep of the people above them. It is the worst! The rooms are dark, poorly ventilated (no working ventilation in the bathroom), and dingy. The furniture had stains and the bedding had several holes in it. There was a very bad odor in the room. The pool had a thin layer of slimy grime on the bottom that lifted when we walked on the stairs.

With an investment in renovation, this could be a nice hotel, but I will not be returning until this happens.

Room Tip: Do not get a bottom floor room or you will be listening to the steps and sounds of the top level all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

For a quick night's sleep, this motel is acceptable. The rooms are very outdated and worn. We were on the second floor, and the wood sub flooring creaked and made noise when we walked. I will say that the room was clean --which is one of the most important things for me-- but the shower was extremely vexing. The water would constantly shift between ice cold, and lukewarm --you could not find a steady temperature. The outdoor pool was OK, and the staff really was friendly. But for the relatively high cost, this was NOT a good bargain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalloweenHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our family has visited Mesa Verde in Colorado and it was a magical place. It contains old Indian cliff dwellings. You can take a wonderful ranger-led tour of the dwelling and palaces. My boys who were 10 and 13 at the time absolutely loved the place. It's a must see if you are in that area of Colorado.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is an old worn out property. The room we stayed in smelled heavily of disinfectant, the furniture was beat up and bruised. The light fixture in the bathroom had two bulbs missing. There was no hair dryer or clock. There was a visible air fresher in the room. The rugs were old and grungy. They advertised updated rooms but the worn Formica counter tops were right out of another era. It was not in the best location next to an empty gravel field where there were old parked trailers and old dumped hot tubs. I did research on this place before booking and was clearly fooled. There is obviously misinformation on line. Do not make my mistake. There are many other alternatives in the area.

Room Tip: Choose another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomaReturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have travelled around Europe and USA quite a lot. I am sure our agent made a booking error (there is a Holliday Inn around with a similar name). It seems this hotel name sign changes with the desert wind. The attempts to keep it clean fell dead on the dated building with some 'cowboy DIY' installations. Please see my photos - sleep in the car if no other accommodation.- Ship dipping trench referred to as a swimming pool is in the middle of a busy car park. Should the management wish to reply please consider the following: 1. Miss leading name hence very hard to find!
2. Greasy palms on the windows ( not just fingers). 3. Profound smell of tobacco - if only? and fuel. 4. No security- rooms open into busy crossroad and junk yard in the backyard. 5. Pool it may be but not for swimming- in a middle of a business car park surrounded by plastic turf sheets and a metal net - no shelter from the public eye, all old and tatty. 6. one flat pillow per bed. 7. no kettle or coffee maker - you need to ask for one. 8. Long hair of various colours in between bedding. See Photos - Avoid.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maglip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L R, Manager at American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay. We apologize you stay was not a pleasant one. We strive to make our guests comfortable and enjoy their stay. We work on making improvements every day, and your our comments let us know the trouble spots we need to work on. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Well that's the only way to describe the outside . The pictures are very misleading ! The room itself was ok though but I've stayed in much better for much less ! Ok if your passing through but not the best :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whalemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
1.2 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez

Property: American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez
Address: 640 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-3430 (Formerly Anasazi Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mesa Verde Inn Cortez Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing