We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Excellent choice and very convenient to Mesa Verde. Bedroom was very comfortable, and the overall accommodations were very attractive and tasteful. Very nice breakfast buffet with many choices Be sure to eat at the Denny's restaurant next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyL1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
AmyL1953! Thanks for the AWESOME review!!! Denny’s is open 24 hours a day and that is hard to beat! I hope you are somewhere warmer than here, its -4 degrees right now, but should warm up to be a beautiful clear, Colorado winter day! Come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    216
    41
    11
    9
See reviews for
272
247
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Booked very last minute, having stayed way longer than expected up in the Mesa Verde National Park, so arrived later in the day, tired, hungry and thirsty.

Charming Receptionist proved very helpful, efficient and warm.

This Holiday Inn is not exactly the same as others we have stayed at. Different shape, front, and sides, and Room configuration which included a Lounge up on the 2nd Floor (US 2nd Floor that is). Good, clean spacious room with all mod cons, and parking right outside.

At $128.55 for our Room, we felt it was a bit over priced for what it was - albeit there seemed to be fewer competitors/options locally. It was quite full too.

We missed Breakfast, as we wanted to be at Mesa Verde Nat Park gates at opening time, so cannot comment, but we did manage to take 2 sizable Cups as take-out and 2 bananas. Thanks.

Dinner was enjoyed just up the Road (Receptionist recommendation) at the 'Dry Dock Restaurant' - odd name for somewhere so far from the sea, but hey ho. Very good too.

Room Tip: Room 231 looked out at the Hills of the Mesa Verde, so whichever on that side, would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Safariholic! Sounds like a great addiction! So glad you stayed with us and thank you for the compliment. IHG has been understanding with us when it comes to individualizing ourselves and we certainly love it. I am glad you were able to take some breakfast items to go! The Dry Dock is a good restaurant, and so is Koko’s Friendly Pub and Grill just 100 feet away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We walked in last weekend and had a young lady very helpful and warmly to welcome us. Cortez is one hour away from home, perfect get away for a night. Neg.: door noisy, may be they should educate their guess to pay attention! That night, neighbors didn't pay attention at 5am and doors slammed for a while!!! :-(

We ate at The Farm Bistro and ran the single bike Bean Creek Loop near by McPhee in Dolores.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
MissBuzz!!! Thank you soooo much for reviewing us! I love your icon! Sorry we had some doors slamming, I wish we could find a way to solve that problem and meet Fire Safety and more importantly, Guest Expectation! The Farm is a Favorite here and we are wondering if you tried out Phil’s World? Please come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here after a trip to Mesa Verde, en-route to the Grand Canyon. This place had a bad feeling from the moment we stepped into the lobby. There was a horrible mildew aroma. The place was eerily quiet for early evening. The security warnings in the room were excessive to the point of making me unable to sleep. Warnings about opening the door, etc., etc., I have never seen anything like it. We were in a room by the stairwell and all night long I heard doors slamming. I have no idea why there was so much activity all night long in either the stairwell or the room across the hall. The activity was excessive. The room was a weird disappointment. A huge heart shaped hot tub in the corner of the room, sticking out like a sore thumb....very strange location with no appeal at all. The vinyl drape was stained with something that looked like dried blood. The best thing about this hotel was that I could check out and leave.

Room Tip: Just avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WDPope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
WDPope. I am not sure how to take this review. I am also unsure of the right thing to do when a person says you are “Creepy” and attempts to tell millions of people not to go to your business.. Am I still obligated to be inclusive, warm, understanding and sympathetic? My gut says that is always the right thing to do, but sometimes, that little devil on my shoulder tells me to be defensive and attack the person attacking you. WDPope, you are causing me to struggle, thanks for pushing the envelope with me on doing the right thing in abnormal circumstances, and thank you for taking the time to review us.
I am not sure if we can take responsibility for your emotions, but I can take responsibility for not including you more in our fun and friendship which we offer everyone who comes here, that is definitely bad on us. I will scour the lobby for a mildew smell and have one of our two (Angel & Bessie) full-time lobby cleaners look with me and we will make sure there is no mildew anywhere. The security warnings are written for us by IHG (Intercontinental Hotels Group) for the sole intention of looking out for your safety wherever you are. It is well intentioned and often informs and gives good advice to unseasoned travelers. I understand it was Excessive to you and prevented you from sleeping, and I am sorry that there are jerks in the world that make taking precautions like this important. As for doors slamming in the stairwell, we have two issues there. We are required to have self-closing doors with a certain “Poundage” or gauge of pressure as they are fire doors and must be able to close and latch unaided. We cannot put any cushioning in there as it is also a fire hazard and violates the code. “Lightening” the required pressure will make it close quietly but it will not close all the way or all the time, something that also violates the fire code, which is there to protect everyone in case of a fire, god forbid. I am sorry for this and will look again for another way to deliver fire safety and quiet. I am sorry you did not enjoy the hot tub in your room, we thought you would enjoy the free upgrade and were wrong. Hot Tub Suites are not for everyone :c

When I read this the first time I thought it was a gag, or a late Halloween prank. Then I realized, that if you were joking you would not have given us a one star rating and told everyone not to go to our Hotel. I took the room Out of Service and we (the owner, myself, the head housekeeper and two housekeepers) did a Complete Strip on the room and looked for the stains you mentioned and could find none, but we did find dust on top of one picture and some lint behind the bed so it was worth it!

I hope you give us another chance at including you and making you feel more comfortable, that is certainly a failure on our part and should you choose to give us another chance and winning your heart, Please come ask for me, I will introduce you to all our wonderful staff and tour the room with you to make sure your comfortable and give you my cell phone to call should you have any concerns or need anything at all. I hope the rest of your trip is awesome and thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I was always greeted warmly by everybody at the front desk @ ;Melissa,Jennifer and Crystal
because of work I expend lot of time in hotels and this time the girls in the front desk were relay helpful they know the city and restaurants and that is always helpful went you never bin in a city before and don't know any one they made me fill at home .
And the hotel was clean all the time i was working night and the house keeping were still cleaning my room daily



JG

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
JorgeG37! I will put this review on the “wall of Heroes” at the front desk for the girls, they will love it. We are happy to make you feel at home and hope that work brings you are way more often and for longer times!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We always try to stay at HIE whenever we are on the road. However, none of the others compares to the one in Cortez. The Lobby is furnished with Native American art and artifacts. It is beautifully decorated and very comfortable The breakfast has many choices. . and the Biscuits & Gravy rival other restaurants. The food is closely monitored by Grandmotherly ladies who aim to please. The rooms have everything you could want, including the comfy beds and pillows. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Midge B! Yes! Thanks for the Great review! We are now in the OFF season and rates are the lowest they will be until May of 2014, so come back soon! I will give a copy of this review to Madonna and her Breakfast Ladies also, they love the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed here several times en route to camping in the San Juan Mountains. Each time, I found the hotel reliably spotless and quiet for a good night's rest. It has a nice gym and a good breakfast; I’d recommend La Casita de Cortez for dinner.

For someone on a trip longer than a week, this Holiday Inn has an excellent laundry room. That is not a hotel feature you would read about in Travel sections, but I have always found it handy, the best I’ve encountered in the Southwest!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheninroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
When in Roam, Turn off your cell phone? Awesome review wheninroam! That is a significant compliment and I have shared it with the hardest working women in Housekeeping-business. They are the real heroes of our Hotel. So glad you keep coming back to us, and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
0.0 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.0 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Address: 2121 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-4202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wired and Wireless Internet access! Microwave and refreigerators in every room. Free Hot Breakfast Buffett! 100% Non-Smoking! Sorry, No Pets Allowed. Indoor Pool, Dry Sauna & Jacuzzi! Breakfast served 6:30am-9:30am M-F and 6:30am-10:00am Sat & Sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez Hotel Cortez
Holiday Inn Cortez
Cortez Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing