We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable, but as you would expect”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Suitable, but as you would expect”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here on a bike trip. It is an Econo Lodge.
No frills and kinda dumpy.

It was OK for a night though. And the place was fairly clean.

There were two Chicklets on the bed, that turned out to be the pillows :-)

$25 will get you to a Holiday Inn Express across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us.

I just wanted to clarify for all guests trying to book in cortez, that the Econo Lodge is priced in the range of 80 to 90 dollars less than the Holiday Inn Express.

The Econo Lodge prides in providing a firm and soft pillow on each bed for our guest usage. The soft pillows are feather and due to the filling get smaller in size. We feel that for an economy brand to provide a feather option to our guests is an added experince

Andrew Waight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    100
    85
    33
    17
See reviews for
93
133
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Below is my original review of this hotel of my stay there on 05/14/2014. I originally gave this hotel a 'terrible' rating, but due to management making things right with me by refunding a part of my original charges, I changed my rating of this hotel to 'average'. Although I really do appreciate the effort that Andrew (the manager) made to make things right with me, I am still concerned that he has his work cut out for him in hiring quality staff. Good help is hard to come by these days.

“No Satisfaction!”
1 of 5 starsReviewed May 19, 2014
Let me start off by stating that I travel frequently and I usually stay at a budget hotels. Staying at budget hotels, I don't expect perfection, but I do expect good service and if I experience a problem, I do expect that the management will make it right with me. On this particular stay at this hotel, the management failed miserably! When I checked into this hotel on 05/14/2014, the first thing that I noticed was that the remote for the TV was not working. I do give kudos to Andrew, the night desk attendant for being able to find another remote that was in working condition.
Before retiring for the evening, I noticed that the hot water in my room was lukewarm at best but not hot enough for me to take my nightly shower. Being tired and late as it was, I decided that maybe someone used too much hot water and the issue would clear itself up in the morning. When I woke up the next morning, I discovered that there was no hot water at all. I called the front desk and a lady said that a maintenance worker would investigate the problem. She called my back stating that the maintenance worker could not find any problems and there was nothing else that they could do. Needless to say, the water was way to cold for me to shower!
Now here is where I find fault with this hotel's management. I can totally understand that sometimes problems arise and that is all part of life but I expect management to make things right. When checking out, I requested compensation for not having any hot water during my stay. The lady at the front desk stated that the best that they could do was take $10 off of my final bill. I felt insulted considering that being able to shower and having hot water is a big part of staying at a hotel. I really did expect that management would have given me 100% compensation for my inconvenience of not having hot water!
Again, I can live with having the inconvenience of not being able to shower for one day but I certainly cannot condone piss poor service!

Room Tip: Check if the hot water is working!
Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
1 of 5 stars Value
3 of 5 stars Location
3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
3 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
1 of 5 stars Service

EconoLodge120, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Mr. Lawrence

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.

Our goal is always to make every guest stay a memorable and pleasant one. I am sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations.

I did speak with the Front desk associate who took over the ownership of your case, and was informed that she offered the discount for your inconvenience and you did not indicate that this was not acceptable and will like to either have a further discount or speak with the manager on duty.

We have a culture at the property to try and take care of our guests and I will like to have an opportunity to speak with you and be able to invite you back in the future

I can be reached on my direct line 970 565 9692

Andrew Waight

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Room Tip: Check to see if you have hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodge120, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
I am happy to learn that Andrew was able to speak to you and address your concerns.

Thank you for taking the time to review us again, we greatly appreciate your time and response

Bob Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
344 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The motel faces the mesa's, but is blocked by the businesses across the highway. It is located a very short drive from Mesa Verde National Park. They offer continental breakfast, but they did not have any type of protein. Which if you are planning on hiking at Mesa Verde would not be good for sustainability.
The room was fair, but it would have been nice to have a mini fridge. In the bathroom the tub looked dirty with stains and scratches. Who ever cleaned it in the past did not use a good clean or doesn't know the best way to clean the tub. The light cover was missing in the bathroom as well.
Overall the room seemed clean. The walls seemed thin, cause you could hear your neighbors on either side.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a place to eat that is close, DO NOT eat at the Denny's dinner across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcrumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodge120, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for rating the property at 4 stars.

The breakfast menu includes yogurt, which is a protein item that was added for our guests to have a balanced diet.

The menu is a " karma free" diet that includes fruits, protein and carbohydrates.

Andrew Waight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've stayed at this particular Econo Lodge a couple times before. I enjoy staying at this location because of consistency. Great customer service and room quality. I always come back because I know what I am gonna get. Swimming in the heated pool after complimentary breakfast was a great way to start my day!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Orvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodge120, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when in the area.

Andrew Waight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were on a family road trip through Colorado and this was the only bad hotel experience we had. (Look at my other submissions and you'll see that I give mostly good reviews.)

The kids were excited to use the pool after a long day hiking and climbing ladders in Mesa Verde. Unfortunately, they were scared off by a large drunk guy who was passed out on the side of the pool, surrounded by empty beer cans, and who then woke up and started yelling loudly to his friends on the second floor. The hotel staff seemed completely oblivious, which made me wonder if this was a typical experience.

The room itself was dirty, including mold on the shower, dirty carpets, and ripped, dirty chairs. There was all sorts of trash scattered on the sidewalk outside our room, the TV reception was terrible, and the free breakfast was sparse, at best, and not fresh.

For the price ($110!) I think we could have done a lot better.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
It is our goal to make every guest stay a memorable and pleasant one. I am sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations.

I will like to assure you that we did address the issue with the drank person, by having police remove him off property. He was a registered hotel guest at the property.

The hotel has new carpets in all rooms, and the property has a schedule in place where the housekeeping department goes over the rooms to ensure there is no mold formation in the bathtubs.

the property offers an extended breakfast menu that is geared towards a "karma free diet"

I will like to have the opportunity to welcome your family and you back and speak with you

Andrew Waight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Parker, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in several hotels on our road trip from CO to CA and back but for the price we paid I would not recommend here staying for more than one night because, I do not think the beds are cleaned after each checkout.So for the price 80.99$ I would recommend some other good places nearby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kinu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodge120, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Kinu

I will like to assure you that we make sure that all the linen is cleaned after check out.

We use the Ecolab line of chemicals and this is the standard line used in the industry.

The property is part of Choice Hotels International and follows brand standards.

Feel free to call me on my direct line if you still have any concerns



Andrew Waight
9705659693
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We were skeptical about the good ratings given for this facility, but decided to try it as most of the "better" motels were full. It was a very nice surprise. It was clean and comfortable. We requested a ground floor room so that we wouldn't have to haul luggage up the stairs. Even though our room was located directly beneath the stairway, we didn't hear a lot of outside noise. We could probably say that leaving the fan on all night helped cut the noise factor. The location is within walking distance of many food options. There is nothing fancy here but it gave us a good night's rest.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shirlee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodge120, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Shirlee

The property invested in areas that are considered key touch points for guest experience, one of which is the beds as this translates to quality of sleep.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to verify the reviews, for yourself

Andrew Waight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.9 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2020 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cortez
Cortez Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing