We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is room 307 is the worst in the hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
doncaster
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Is room 307 is the worst in the hotel?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The star rating of a hotel can vary according to the location of your room. This particularly applies to this hotel where the best room would probably get 4 stars. The problem is the design of the hotel. It is centred around a central atrium with a fair sized swimming pool. All the rooms opening onto this area smell of chlorine and are very humid and are not recommended. The answer is to ask for an outside room, preferably at the back with mesa view. The problems do not end there. The rooms are served by an outside walkway and for some reason there are no inner privacy curtains so people walking past the windows can just stare in your room.
The rooms are large, clean, refurbished with fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Complimentary breakfast was good in a spacious room with mesa view.
Back to room 307. Neither pool view or outside view, just a brick wall to look at. Near the elevator so everybody passing looks in the window and a door which opens onto the atrium so it suffers from the smell of chlorine and high humidity. The final straw, the lid on the coffee maker was broken and wouldn't work. Room 207 is the same position one floor down.

Room Tip: Avoid inside rooms unless you like the smell of chlorine and high humidity. Ask for outside room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnygardencity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April-Cortez, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that your stay was not up to our usually high standards. It is a shame that your room did not have the most appealing views. We do always try to accommodate a person's request for a view. As we do just the same for people wishing to overlook the pool area. Thank you for recognizing our large clean rooms as that is one of the most important things when you are traveling. Please stop by again next time to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    326
    191
    96
    50
See reviews for
375
304
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
459 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Yes, it's convenient to the Mesa Verde entrance, and it's a clean, comfortable stay. And we did receive a warm welcome, and the buffet is pretty good (yogurt, waffles, etc. as with most hotel buffets that are complimentary). However, the front desk staff doesn't really know what's going on in town, including when the tours run (they actually gave us information from 2013 in a brochure), nor did the women working in the breakfast area smile at anyone. I like to smile at people, especially in the morning, especially to thank them for setting out food for us, but there was no eye contact at all. There's a free drink discount at the restaurant next door that no one at the hotel told us about. There was exposed wires above our window and the A/C unit was surrounded by plywood and SCREWED into the wall. Kind of. One side was screwed in. Finally there was a pretty filthy towel hung up for our arrival, and they took the soap after the first day. Really? No soap at all? Is it budget? Yes. Is it pretty good? Yes. But only pretty good.

Room Tip: Face away from the highway and you can see the mesas in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April-Cortez, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you had a good stay with us. I am sorry the housekeeping forgot to leave you an extra bar of soap it was certainly an accident! Thank you for reporting the issues so that we could take immediate control of the issues. Please come back and see us the next time your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great hotel, love the pool area with the plant's etc.
Rooms were excellent, very helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjz1970, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Baymont Inn and Suites of Cortez, Colorado. I am so glad you got to enjoy our hotel. The Pool is definitely a favorite feature of the guests. And thank you for recognizing the staff for being helpful as we strive to go above and beyond. Please come back and see us the next time you are in the Mesa Verde area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel, with clean, spacious rooms. Especially for the price. It is also a great launching point for going to Mesa Verde.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjz1970, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Valued Guest: Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us at the Baymont Inn and Suites of Cortez, Co. We are glad you chose to stay with us while you were in the Mesa Verde area. Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of the rooms as our staff work hard and take pride in the hotel. I am also glad you noticed the extra space our rooms offer it sure is great! Please come back and see us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is very closed to the Mesa Verdes National Park. The mountain view behind the hotel is quite spectacular! The hotel rooms themselves are fine. It's decent size and the the staff services are good. We had to switch rooms for the first night because the smell from the center swimming pool is just too strong... So we switched to room facing outside, instead of center. This hotel has washers and dryers are every floor, so it's really convenient. The breakfast selection is also decent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayu312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjz1970, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Baymont Inn and Suites of Cortez. We are glad you chose to stay with us while in the Mesa Verde area. I am happy that you got a chance to enjoy the scenery from the hotel your right it is spectacular! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had reservations with a group, put us all over hotel instead of together, then mixed up one couple.
You could hear people running around all night long, then construction started at 4 in the morning next to one of the people on our groups room. Staff was ok but not great. Will look for other hotel next time I am in Cortez.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harley56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjz1970, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize you stay was not up to our usually high standards. We do try to accommodate each and every guest and group at that. Please understand we do our best to keep all parties together. We do sell out almost every night Easter to Halloween so sometimes we cannot get each party side by side. We do have multiple stairwells and an elevator so that you can get around the hotel easily. Please also anytime there is a noise issue call the front desk so we can attack the issue while present. Please give us another try next time you are in the area we would love to show we are a great choice to stay with while in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Address: 2279 Hawkins Street, Cortez, CO 81321 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Cortez
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez Hotel Cortez
Comfort Inn Cortez
Cortez Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing