We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - better than past reviews imply”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We pricelined in Madison and were matched with this hotel. After reading the reviews we were prepared to be disappointed. In contrast, we found the lobby classy and clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the room modern and well appointed. We were only there for one nigtht and we didn't use the pool or eat at the restaurant but they appeared nice. We'd definitely stay there again. I think I read somewhere about some renovations so if this is the case, they have done a nice job. At least on par with other Crowne Plaza hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The next time you visit we hope you will be able to take advantage of our indoor pool, as well as have a wonderful breakfast or dinner in our restaurant.
We look forward to having you with us again!

Best regards,
Sandy Harper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

My friend and I met here for the weekend. We both have adult children that live here but this weekend was about us having fun so it was nice to stay here and just meet them for dinner!
Our room was very quiet and clean. The beds were very comfortable and we both slept well. The housekeeping staff was great and so kind and friendly whenever you would meet one in the hall. The front desk staff could learn a good deal about customer service from the housekeeping staff. They were not overly friendly. I came down on Sunday morning to ask a question, two of them were standing by one computer screen trying to figure out a problem with a customers bill. I stood there for several minutes and neither so much as looked up to acknowledge me or the now two other people standing behind me. When one finally did look up it was to answer the phone--still no eye contact or "be right with you". This is not a big thing but it was irritating.

We ate one meal in the restaurant. The menu in the room upstairs did not match the menu downstairs and I couldn't get what I had seen on the upstairs menu. Our food was fine and it was convenient the first night as we were tired and not going out was nice.

I would defiantly stay here again, however Madison has much better restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middlesister2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad you where pleased with your room, and the housekeeping staff. The issue mentioned in regards to the front desk staff, as well as the restaurant has been addressed with the managers of each department. We strive to provide the finest service in the area, and appreciate all comments, so issues can be addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again!

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I was a bit leery when reading Crowne Plaza reviews . I had to stay close to the airport and to be able to use a shuttle - so my choice (due to last minute booking) was basically between Best Western Plus ( East Towne ) and Crowne Plaza. Best Western recent reviews seem to be a sure win over Crowne that gets through pangs of remodeling right now ( I didn’t see or hear any remodeling activity – other than old TVs lined up in one corridor ).
One thing that made me select Crowne nevertheless was a disclaimer on Best Western website that “shuttle to the airport needs to be pre-booked 24 hours in advance”. Maybe it is just it – a disclaimer, but frankly I had no time to call and check if they mean it. I also didn’t have 24 hour advance. Neither did I know yet what time is my flight out the next day. It is a very strange statement indeed – to advertise airport shuttle and then ask you to pre-book it 24 hours in advance. What if my flight got delayed? Tough luck?...
Anyways, I booked Crowne, bracing for the worst. Arriving to MSN I called the courtesy phone to get shuttle and was told that it is there , at the airport already. Unfortunately , my bag was lost by United and I had to stay and file the paperwork. Not to worry , I was told – they will drop passengers off and be right back. And they were – in 15 minutes sharp. Nice.
The reception was quick and efficient. Lobby looks quite nice , if a bit chlorinated due to pool area being literally inside the atrium. I didn’t use the pool but it looks lovely – bright with many windows outside, good size and not claustrophobic. I got a room on the 5th floor .When opening the door my first reaction was to check my reservation if I made a mistake and forgot to book non-smoking room. The smell of smoke was overwhelming. I rushed to the phone to complain but noticed that room itself was smelling clean – actually , not smelling at all ( if you know what I mean _ no chemical sprays)., I thought , strange -it is only the entrance that was absolutely stinky. I figured out the culprit immediately – and this was the only complaint, an unforgivable one to the maintenance people. The AC filter looked like it was not changed since the hotel was built. And it is probably the case. The layer of dust accumulated on it was unbelievable , about an inch deep . it looked more like clothes dryer lint filter after drying 10 chenille sweaters :-). Dust was hanging from the opening in big chunks, like some exotic fruits. Really unbelievable and gross. Dear people of Crowne Plaza – please , please change the filters now !!! The smoke smell was undoubtedly coming from there. Once I turned off AC , smoky smell stopped like by magic. Luckily the day was not hot enough to warrant the AC.
Everything else was just fine and nice. About the average to better Crowne Plaza. Good quality bed with enough pillows, very clean and maintained bathroom. The bathtub was actually sparkling !
Free internet was fast and reliable. Water quality is good enough to drink without flinching. There was ice maker and microwave near elevator – microwave was a welcome addition to have.
The area is good – the mall is across the street , easily reachable without danger to life crossing a busy street. Just turn right about 150 feet to use pedestrian crossing. There is McDonalds, Panera Brerad and several Starbucks outlets – including one in the lobby. People working at the hotel were very nice and cheerful without being overly familiar.
Overall, a very pleasant stay – particularly because my expectations were low . I was happier than I expected.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liska73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate our guests taking the time to do so. I assure you the A/C filter being changed has been addressed. This is something that is done on a regular basis.

We strive to provide the finest service in the area, and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Chose this hotel b/c they allow pets & it was close to the downtown area & supposedly it had recently been remodeled. The lobby was bright & clean looking....but that's where the ambiance stopped. The room was dingy & smelled awful. The carpet had multiple cigarette burns & it was a NON-SMOKING room!! The bathroom was filthy!! The glasses still had lipstick stains on them from the previous guests.... Needless to say, we will never return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blair0270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

I appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza, Madison, WI. Although it is obvious you did not enjoy your stay, negative comments are appreciated, so we can take care of those issues. The housekeeping issues you mentioned have been addressed with the Housekeeping Manager. You are correct we are a non-smoking hotel, and we do assess a fee when we know someone has smoked in the room.

Again, thank you for your comments. We strive to provide the finest service in the area, and it is very upsetting when we fall short of a guests expectations.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

To my surprise the Mall was located directly across from the hotel. The staff was very accommodating with room request and late check out. Rooms were clean and beds heavenly. Easy access from freeway. Car wash next door for those like myself who travel at night and need a quick clean in the morning. McDonalds next door for a quick bite.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyMeShall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all comments posted as we strive to provide the finest service in the Madison area.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I really wanted to give 3 1/2 stars, but I can't. To compensate for the rating that's a little lower than I wanted to give, I'll emphasize the strengths of this Crowne Plaza.

It's convenient to the airport. We arrived on a delayed flight and were happy to get the free shuttle right away, and it just took a few minutes.

The lobby area is very pleasant, light and airy.

The breakfast was fine, nothing spectacular but tasty and reasonably priced.

I asked for and got two doubles, which was important because I was traveling with my son.

Good hot water, good water pressure.

Excellent new television (so maybe the old ones that others complained about have been replaced).

We left the next morning, so I didn't spend much time at the Crowne Plaza, but in sum: everything worked fine, no complaints, but don't expect an Intercontinental!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crito0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct, that we have recently upgraded all the televisions in the hotel. We have also renovated one floor with new carpet, beds, headboard, and fresh paint. Although I know it was not your choice to stay over in Madison, however we are glad you stayed with us.

We strive to provide the finest service in the area, and hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is (probably) our 10th night at this hotel in the past couple years. I stay exclusively at "Holiday Inn" properties due to business requirements and obtaining Platinum status in their Priority club the past few years. We have family in Madison in a smaller home so it's easy to stay a few miles away at a reasonable business rate and get a good night sleep plus some amenities from being a Platinum member. My wife is always along and we enjoy the clean rooms and friendly staff. We occasionally use the pool/hot tub and stop for a tap beer at their pub and grab either a Starbucks or buffet breakfast in the morning.
This is an older hotel but they continue to keep it in good shape: good HVAC, rooms are quiet despite being right on Hwy 151 Washington Ave (about 1 mi from I90/94). They are upgrading all rooms to large HDTVs. The only problems tend to be some Fall weekends Sep-Oct where they only allow 2 night stays due to UW Badger football games; we have learned that and schedule alternate weekends when the Badgers are out of town (MUCH calmer and less traffic then anyway!).

Room Tip: We usually have a NE view but the rooms are well insulated/quiet. I'd probably avoid a SE room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SE_MN_warmth_seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. It is very important to hear both positive as well as negative comments from our guests, as we strive to provide the finest service in the area.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and ceratinly hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Sandy Harper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#49 of 64 in Madison
108 reviews
1 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#24 of 64 in Madison
282 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#18 of 64 in Madison
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Madison East
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
11.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 4402 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in Madison Wisconsin, and is the place to meet for meetings and weddings alike. Our premier Madison hotel is located on the east side, only 3 miles to Dane County Regional Airport, with free 24 hour airport shuttle (departing hotel on every hour), and near to downtown Madison, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and Coliseum, The Kohl Center, The new Overture Center for the Arts, University of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin State Capitol. The hotel has recently upgraded beds to a new level of comfort with 7-pillows, a plush duvet, luxurious sheets and a pillow-top mattress. A great night sleep-guaranteed! The Crowne Plaza Madison, Wisconsin is a newly renovated 6 story hotel conveniently located off I-90/94/39, near East Towne Mall, Madison's largest mall, as well as theatres and restaurants. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison - East Towne, a family-friendly hotel where kids stay free in parents' room and ages 12 and under eat free. Don't leave your pet home alone - the Crowne Plaza Madison is a pet-friendly hotel, offering added amenities at check-in for your furry friend! Crowne Plaza, the best value for Madison Wisconsin Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Madison
Madison Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing