We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We were just traveling through on I-94 and pricelined this property. I wish we could have stayed longer than just over night. As usual I presented my Priority Club card at check in to speed things up a bit. Always carry and present the reward/club card for any hotel chains you frequent. Even with coupons or priceline rooms I always seen to get better treatment. In this case I was upgraded to a King Suite that was outstanding, along with a free drink coupon for the bar or Starbucks in the lobby. Crowne Plazas typically have great beds and bedding and this was no exception. Also a separate couch and sitting area with sink, fridge, micro, and it's own flat screen TV. Windows open wide and the room was clean. Wonderful help and the front desk. My only regret is that we only had one night at this property.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waddayouthink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for taking time out of your day to post your comments on Trip Advisor, during your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison. We are glad you enjoyed the accommodations, and hope you let us serve you during your next visit to Madison.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here while passing through town. We got a great deal on Hotwire. No downside, all positives to say.
Right off interstate
Plenty of restaurants close by
Quick check in
Friendly staff
Clean room
Comfy bed
Quiet

No free breakfast but that's okay because we got the room so cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsychMike71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We welcome all comments, so we may make any necessary corrections, as well as pass on the positive comments to our associates.

We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison, and hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel has a very impressive lobby and a pretty good location if you want to be accessible to I-90-94-39 (but not downtown). However, the hotel is showing its age, especially in the saggy beds, scuffed paint and dirty carpets in the rooms. Internet access is free. There are many franchise dining options available (Outback, Texas Road House, etc). in addition to the limited bar menu in the hotel. Breakfast was not included in our Hotwire package, and would have been $13.50 which seemed a bit steep for WI. My advice, book on some package deal, because you could be dissappointed if you paid full price. Also, for Summer 2012, the access road on 151 is really torn up with construction. Be sure to request a room on the back or side of the building.

Room Tip: To avoid construction noise on Hwy 151, request a room on the east or the North side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoutMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear ScoutMidwest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and apologize you were not satisfied with the accommodations received. It sounds like we fell below your expectations on this visit. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel looks very nice from the outside and the inside lobby is acceptable as well. However after the 4 of us checked in we discovered two double beds for us to sleep on. One of the women was 7 months pregnant so that made for some tight sleeping arrangements to say the least. There was no frig or microwave (can't believe that in this day and age!!!) Then there was no sink or acceptable mirror outside of the bathroom so that others could dry their hair or put make up on while another person showered. The one mirror that was present didn't have a outlet near enough to plug in a hair dryer. No fan in the bathroom and it was so hot and steamed up after my shower I felt like I needed to take another shower when I got out!!! I will say the room was neat and clean. No problem with that. It was nice to see the Starbucks stand in the lobby and get a nice scone and cup of tea for breakfast:) However we also ate lunch at the hotel for our conference. Absolute worst lunch ever!!! The staff were polite and prompt so the service was fine but the food was terrible. The salad was a "slice" of off color iceberg lettuce with some milky slimely yellow dressing poured over it. The bread was old and dried out...perhaps from last night's spaghetti supper??? The main course of lasagna was all right but not to my liking...very bland. Thank goodness there was a piece of chocolate cake for dessert because that's all I really ate. Oh, don't let me forget that the water was turned off at 1:30 in the afternoon for a construction project out in front of the building and there were no working toilets for the rest of the conference. Nothing like having indoor "outhouses" available for everyone to use without flushing!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison. We always appreciate guest feedback, as it helps us see what we are doing right, and items that can improved upon. I am glad your were happy with the cleanliness, Starbucks, and the lobby of the hotel. However, I am sorry you were not happy with your room, and banquet food during your meeting. All your issues have been discussed with the Chef, and Chief Engineer of the hotel. I do apologize for the inconvenience of the water having to be turned off, while the city was working on the water lines. We tried to choose a time that would not interupt guests taking showers, etc.
Once again, thank you for your comments.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Checked into a non-smoking room that smelled like it had been smoked in for about twenty years. Stayed for four days and had to visit the front desk every day to have my card reset, which was obviously annoying. The staff kept asking if I was keeping it by my cell phone which I'm careful not to. It was found to be a clerical mistake on the last day. I was in Madison on business and had to be up extremely early, but unfortunately the school aged wrestlers that occupied almost my entire floor didn't. Pretty much a terrible experiance! Staff was nice and food at the bar was pretty good, and there's a starbucks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kencalled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking time out of your day to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry for the inconveniences you incured during your stay with us. I have spoken with housekeeping regarding the smokey smell in your room. Unfortunately although we are a non-smoking hotel we do sometimes have guests that do smoke in the rooms. The housekeeping department is typically good about noticing this, and we do a deep clean of the room. I have also spoken with the Front Office Manager in regards to your key issue. I am glad you felt the staff was friendly and the food was good in Growlers; however we want all services to be above expectations, and I am disappointed we did not meet those expectations. I hope you do give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel had very comfortable beds and a very clean professional environment. With a restaurant on site there was not free breakfast, but everything else was wonderful. Recently remodeled rooms with a 12 noon checkout time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza, Madison, WI.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to provide the finest service in the area.
We look forward to having you stay at the Crowne Plaza, during your next travels to Madison, WI.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

From the minute we stepped foot into the hotel, it was a positive experience. Very nice lobby with view of the pool and fitness area. There was a Starbucks inside the lobby as well. Staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean and well stocked with towels. There was also a full restaurant. Worth paying a little "extra" to get a top hotel. The rooms were a bit small (we had two double beds for the 4 of us) but very clean and modern. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasajs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza in Madison, WI. We are certainly happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide the finest service in the Madison area, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#49 of 64 in Madison
108 reviews
1 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#23 of 64 in Madison
282 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#18 of 64 in Madison
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Madison East
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
11.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 4402 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: £77 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in Madison Wisconsin, and is the place to meet for meetings and weddings alike. Our premier Madison hotel is located on the east side, only 3 miles to Dane County Regional Airport, with free 24 hour airport shuttle (departing hotel on every hour), and near to downtown Madison, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and Coliseum, The Kohl Center, The new Overture Center for the Arts, University of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin State Capitol. The hotel has recently upgraded beds to a new level of comfort with 7-pillows, a plush duvet, luxurious sheets and a pillow-top mattress. A great night sleep-guaranteed! The Crowne Plaza Madison, Wisconsin is a newly renovated 6 story hotel conveniently located off I-90/94/39, near East Towne Mall, Madison's largest mall, as well as theatres and restaurants. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison - East Towne, a family-friendly hotel where kids stay free in parents' room and ages 12 and under eat free. Don't leave your pet home alone - the Crowne Plaza Madison is a pet-friendly hotel, offering added amenities at check-in for your furry friend! Crowne Plaza, the best value for Madison Wisconsin Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Madison
Madison Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing