We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff - maintenance and up keep lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is in serirous need of maintenance and updating. Outlets in bathroom didn't work. Paint and wallpaper peeling in room. Paint chipped on doors. Bed was in poor shape.

On a bright note every staff member I talked with was pleasant and helpful. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinfreak68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your kind words in regards to the staff. I would like to apologize for the room issues you incured. I assure you they are being addressed with the engineering department. I don't know if you let the front desk know about the outlets not working, as they could have moved you to another room, or had engineering repair them.

Our goal is to always exceed our guest's expectations, and certainly that did not happen during your stay, and I do apologize for that.

Sincerely,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Came to Madison for a Badger game weekend and four of us stayed in two rooms here. Hotel was good. When you walk in you'll see the wonderful indoor pool. Very nice for this level of hotel! We actually never used it but I was disappointed I didn't bring my suit and we didn't have time. We were on the 6th floor, which was some special "club" level, but didn't see any benefit to being up there. They had a club room which was closed the entire time we were there? And, our room was cold and the problem couldn't be fixed by a technician so we needed to use extra blankets all night. There's a Starbucks in the lobby, which we were excited about as we got up Sunday morning, but it was closed by 11:30 Sunday? Seemed odd. The staff at the front desk was super friendly and helpful! I'd stay here again, but I wouldn't pay as much as we did to do so. .. try for a deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueEyeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

I would like to thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison. We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay with us; however I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you incured in regards to the heating problem.
Unfortunately the lounge on the Club floor is not opened on the weekends, and we do close Starbucks at 11:00AM, which is the time the restaurant closes for breakfast. I am sorry this was not told to you upon check in.
We do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you during your next visit to Madison.

Sincerely,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a conference. The room was $400 a night. We're struggling to understand just what we got for the premium that we paid, aside from a floor that was accessible only by a key card, and a breakfast that was no better than any of the cheaper hotels in which I've stayed that include breakfast. What's more, it had a tiny little gym, which made it impossible to work out if there were more than two people interested in working out the same time. The location was also unremarkable, located between downtown and the airport, and near nothing to speak of with regards to dining or entertainment. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs, and we were treated to a rather snarky bartender, who told us when we arrived late on our evening of check-in and were looking for a drink, "I'm done with my shift and I'm getting out of here". (We did get a begrudging beer.) I'm usually not one to post anything but positive feedback, but honestly I would not stay at this hotel again if the room were free.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarHeelMD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Although it was very disappointing to hear that you were not happy with the hotel, it does assist me in correcting issues for future guests. I assure you all issues with be addressed with the appropriate personnel.

Our goal is to always exceed our guest's expectations, by providing the finest service in the area.

Please accept my sincere apology that we did not exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza about 15 years ago and the decor seemed outdated then. During a recent visit (booked by my boss) it looked like the carpeting in the room hadn't been cleaned, much less replaced, since then. There were spots and stains all over the rug. Walking barefoot in this room was out of the question.

To be fair, the bedding seemed relatively clean and fresh, and after an hour or two the temperature rose to the level that I could take off my coat.

The stopper in the bathtub was pulled out of the drain and sitting next to it. I don't know why the maintenance people hadn't fixed it.

The worst, most disgusting moment came in the morning when I tried to use the coffee maker. One of the supposedly clean coffee mugs was half-filled with old coffee! There was still a used coffee packet sitting in the machine. The following day the holder for the coffee packet was gone (the cleaner must have seen it sitting in the tray and thrown it out), rendering the coffee maker useless. Obviously the cleaners never actually replace the coffee mugs or glasses in the rooms.

In addition, when I returned to the room the second night there was used toilet paper sitting in the toilet. This wasn't there when I left the room in the morning.

With the obviously lax hygiene issues at this hotel, it makes me wonder about the cleanliness issues that aren't quite so obvious. They really need to pay more attention!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williamsons4855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

I would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the issues you incured during your recent stay with us. There is absolutely no excuse for the cleanliness issue, and I assure you it will be discussed and action will be taken, with the Housekeeping Manager. This is not typical and it is very disappointing to hear your comments. The maintenance issues will be discussed as well. In regards to the carpet, we do clean them on a regular basis, and we are hoping to have all guest room carpet replaced by year end.

Once again please accept my sincere apology.

Sincerely,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The property is pretty old and seriously needs renovation. The location is good even though its far away from city center. If I start to tell about the problems in facilities like shower, carpet, etc., it will be a long story, lot of things need to be fixed. The house keeping is total disaster of the property and after lot of complaints they changed my linen in my 4th night stay. The only great thing about the hotel is the staff in front office and guest relationship manager Ms.kirsten handle the guest in a professional way and she supported us in the issues. The break fast is another terrible that even it does not matches the normal high star hotel standards. The rates are too high for the hotel standards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhupeshrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. All comments are certainly welcomed as it assist us in areas that need to be addressed. I aplogize for the housekeeping issue you encountered, as well as the breakfast issues. I assure you all will be addressed with the apropriate personnel. Thank you for you positive comments in regards to Kristen and the front desk staff. Those comments are passed on as well.
We understand you have many choices when it comes to booking your stay in Madison, and I do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future, so we may demonstrate that was not typical of the service you receive at the Crowne Plaza.

Sincerely,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights. The air conditioning and TV were not working when I arrived in my room. They sent up the engineer who got them running; the air was set at 60 with fan on high and the room was barely comfortable. There was a big rip in the curtains which let sunlight in, a slat missing off the dresser and you had to hold the knob down to get the toilet to flush. This was the "club level" which needed your room key to get to in the elevators; only worked part of the time. Very disappointing stay. I've done this trip several years in a row, but will reconsider before staying there next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Although it is always disappointing to receive negative comments, I assure you we use them to correct issues.
I truly apologize for all the inconveniences you incured during your stay with us.
Our goal is to always exceed our guests expectations, and clearly that did not happen.
I do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future, so we may demonstate that your stay was not typical of the hotel.

Sincerely,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I was glad I got the room on Priceline for $54. A/C was out in the room, complained and was told they were having problems and it wouldn't be any better changing rooms. Rooms were clean. Staff was very nice. Overall just not what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza property...much more Holiday Inn quality.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your kind words in respect to the staff and the cleanliness of the room.

I do apologize for the inconvenience you incurred with the air conditioning. I do not know why you weren't moved to another room, as it is not true that all the rooms have the same issue. I assure you I will discuss with the Guest Service Manager.

We do hope to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Sandy Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#49 of 64 in Madison
108 reviews
1 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#23 of 64 in Madison
282 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#18 of 64 in Madison
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Madison East
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
11.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 4402 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: £77 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in Madison Wisconsin, and is the place to meet for meetings and weddings alike. Our premier Madison hotel is located on the east side, only 3 miles to Dane County Regional Airport, with free 24 hour airport shuttle (departing hotel on every hour), and near to downtown Madison, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and Coliseum, The Kohl Center, The new Overture Center for the Arts, University of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin State Capitol. The hotel has recently upgraded beds to a new level of comfort with 7-pillows, a plush duvet, luxurious sheets and a pillow-top mattress. A great night sleep-guaranteed! The Crowne Plaza Madison, Wisconsin is a newly renovated 6 story hotel conveniently located off I-90/94/39, near East Towne Mall, Madison's largest mall, as well as theatres and restaurants. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison - East Towne, a family-friendly hotel where kids stay free in parents' room and ages 12 and under eat free. Don't leave your pet home alone - the Crowne Plaza Madison is a pet-friendly hotel, offering added amenities at check-in for your furry friend! Crowne Plaza, the best value for Madison Wisconsin Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Madison
Madison Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing