We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #50 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Flying out of Madison on a 6 a.m. flight and needed to travel to Madison and stay overnight because of bad weather predicted. Called around to hotels near the airport and the Crowne Plaza was the only one that had a 24 hour shuttle to the airport. Made the reservation over the telephone and the front desk was very helpful and when we arrived they were also very nice. Room was clean and comfortable and suited our needs. Ate at the small bar/restaurant and the waitress was friendly. Not a large selection on the menu but didn't go away hungry. Chekout was easy and shuttle on time to take us to the airport. Next time we have an early flight out of Madison, we won't hesitate to stay at the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    117
    111
    72
    57
See reviews for
101
78
34
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Everything at the hotel was great BUT the bed was so hard I couldn't sleep. I already have back issues and couldn't get comfortable as the bed was like sleeping on the floor. Everything else was nice except for this and unfortunately, the sleeping/bed are a very important part of a stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobiqueenx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I recently spent three nights at this hotel. The cons far outweigh this pros, and I could not recommend this hotel. I've stayed at the Cambria and Holiday Inn about a mile away and they are much better.

Cons:
~Freezing cold lobby including the bar area. I know it is winter but they should be prepared for a Wisconsin winter.
~Freezing cold room - the heat was turned up to 90 and it was barely tolerable. Bring warm jammies!
(When I wrote a note for the maid that the room was cold, she just turned the heat up to 90. Didn't really help.)
~Reports of spiders in other rooms from travelling companions
~Flaking paint on the bathroom ceiling
~Mystery "water" (I can only hope it was just water) from the bathroom ceiling one night in the area of the flaking paint.

Pros:
~Staff is friendly - this is the only thing that kept me from rating this hotel as terrible.


You can do better for lodging on the east side of Madison. Definitely.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bustergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madison hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My experience with this hotel is limited to just one night, but we found it to be very comfortable and pleasant. Their pet fee is only $25, which is very cheap relative to the quality of hotel. We choose to stay at the Crowne Plaza because others of this quality were charging $75-$100 for our dog. They even provide a "gift bag" for your pet at check-in.

Rooms were clean and spacious, as were common areas. We didn't eat at the on-site restaurant or bar, or use any of the pool/fitness facilities. The hotel is in a great area with a lot of shopping and restaurants nearby. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bretts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The room was very ordinary, but very clean. Nothing to stand out about the room itself, but I guess that is a good thing. The lobby is very nice, with a beautiful pool, a bar and lounge, and plenty of space. There is even an arcade for the kids. No complaints, I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Madison.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyannis, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stay at Crowne Plaza whenever we come to visit son at college and haven't ever been disappointed. People always friendly,easy, and welcoming. Rooms all redone and comfortable.Only thing I'd ask for is another blanket for bed. Great pool/hot tub area. Across street fromEast Towne Mall and whatever food you'd want surrounding it. 10minutes from downtown and colleges.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitingC0llegeM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I reserved two rooms at the Madison Crowne Plaza via Priceline. A few days before our arrival, I called the hotel and spoke to a manager to make sure our late arrival was noted, and to discuss a few concerns I had as a result of reading some recent Trip Advisor reviews. My husband has allergies and asthma, so I was concerned about the mold and ceiling leaks mentioned in some reviews. I was assured that renovations had resolved those issues, and that we would be pre-assigned to rooms on the fourth floor, where the renovations had been completed.

Upon arrival, although no one else was checking in at the time and there were two people working the desk, our front desk attendant seemed a little preoccupied. During our check in, her young daughter appeared in the lobby, which seemed a surprise to her. She commented that she didn't know why she was there, and that she wondered where her babysitter was. It was about 10:30 p.m., and we just wanted to get to our room and relax, so the situation with her daughter was frustrating, because of the attention it took away from checking us in. Finally, she handed me two sets of room keys, one of which I gave to my daughters. They left for their room while we finalized the check in process. By the time we got to the fourth floor, our daughters were back at the elevators planning to go back to the front desk, because there were people in their room! While I have heard of such a thing happening, I had never experienced it, and was quite concerned. So we dropped off our bags in our room and went back to the desk. There didn't seem to be any explanation as to how it could have happened. The front desk clerk who checked us in said she would deal with the issue later, and offered a suite as a replacement, due to the problem with the first room. Our daughters quickly claimed the suite, and went off to their room. Apologies were offered, while I asked how this kind of thing can happen, especially when our rooms had, supposedly, been pre-assigned. I felt the least they could do was offer my husband and me a free drink, so I asked if that was possible. They gave me a coupon for one free drink, which was limited to certain beers and wine.

My husband and I went to the bar, ordered a beer and a martini, and asked if they served any food or snacks. The bartender said "no" to both, but advised we could find snacks at the small lobby store near the front desk. Knowing we had gone to the bar, the gentlemen at the front desk saw me choose a bag of Gardettos. He said they had the same snack at the bar, and it was complimentary. I thanked him for letting me know, and went back to the bar, asked the bartender if he had such snacks, and he replied "oh yeah, I guess we do!", and poured some into a glass. After the lone person at the bar with us left, the bartender began chatting with us about where we were from, etc. He proceeded to tell us how he was looking for a transfer to another Crowne Plaza, somewhere where it doesn't get so cold. He proceeded to express his displeasure with some parts of his life, and talked to us like we were drinking buddies, using the f-word once or twice. In hindsight, I don't know if we actually received a complimentary drink, because when we said we would sign for it to our room bill, we didn't get anything itemized. You might be seeing a theme here, relating to the title I gave this review, which in my opinion, suggests a loose style of management.

Our rooms, which should be the biggest concern of a hotel stay, were fine. The beds were comfortable, our daughters appreciated the refrigerator and microwave they had in their room, having had some leftover pizza for breakfast, and our shower and bathroom were nice. The shower had a great shower head and very good water pressure. The only minor issues in the bathroom were a slightly loose toilet installation, and that the shower curtain was a bit short, and therefore, didn't cover the entire opening. Fortunately, it didn't result in water on the floor, so it was fine. The shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc. were outstanding; they had a great scent.

Since we were traveling for the holidays, we had a lot of bags, etc., and tried to plan for our day by combining some things in our suitcases. We pulled out two items which we purchased for a gift exchange later that day, and set them on the bed. Somehow, with multiple trips to the car and "I'll take this, you take that" discussions, we left the two, unwrapped exchange gifts on the bed! When we realized what had happened, less than an hour after leaving the hotel, we called them to request that they hold them until we returned to Madison after Christmas. Although my first call suggested "no problem", a subsequent one indicated they hadn't been found, and asked that I call back. When I did so, I was told they were not found. Fortunately, they were not expensive gifts. Unfortunately, we were clearly dealing with dishonest employees, at some level.

So overall, it was not our best hotel experience. The hotel itself appeared well maintained, the lobby was nicely decorated, and the pool (visible from the lobby) seemed inviting. From a personnel level, however, it was quite disappointing. I can't say I would stay there again or recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear bgonner,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Madison.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#47 of 63 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#21 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Address: 4402 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in Madison Wisconsin, and is the place to meet for meetings and weddings alike. Our premier Madison hotel is located on the east side, only 3 miles to Dane County Regional Airport, with free 24 hour airport shuttle (departing hotel on every hour), and near to downtown Madison, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and Coliseum, The Kohl Center, The new Overture Center for the Arts, University of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin State Capitol. The hotel has recently upgraded beds to a new level of comfort with 7-pillows, a plush duvet, luxurious sheets and a pillow-top mattress. A great night sleep-guaranteed! The Crowne Plaza Madison, Wisconsin is a newly renovated 6 story hotel conveniently located off I-90/94/39, near East Towne Mall, Madison's largest mall, as well as theatres and restaurants. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison - East Towne, a family-friendly hotel where kids stay free in parents' room and ages 12 and under eat free. Don't leave your pet home alone - the Crowne Plaza Madison is a pet-friendly hotel, offering added amenities at check-in for your furry friend! Crowne Plaza, the best value for Madison Wisconsin Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Madison
Madison Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing