We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never going back there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Never going back there!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I'm in the customer service field, and there staff was not very friendly. If I'm gonna be paying for a place to stay for the prices they charge for rooms, I would want better friendly service! Just awful:(

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsunset97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Tsunset97,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with the service you received and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    118
    113
    78
    61
See reviews for
105
78
35
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very nice facility, extremely comfortable bed, and nice, quiet room. The pool and whirlpool seem like they are brand new. Had a problem with room service and they went well beyond canceling the meal charges in order to remedy it. After I left the hotel, the Head Chef even called me to personally apologize. I really appreciate that. Mistakes happen, but its how the staff deals with them that really matters. Pet Friendly, though there isn't any real space on the hotel property to walk your dog. (Also, if you use room service check your bill - sometimes you mistakenly get charged for the calls! )

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen T, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. You are so right...Mistakes happen, but we are dedicated to making it right for our guests. I am so glad our Executive Chef called to do just that..make it right. We look forward to your next visit to Madison. Enjoy your day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

If you are looking for a contemporary hotel probably not your place today. They are remodeling and they need to. Food is good; service is good; conference rooms are nice and they do a great job helping and servicing. Really the only knock is to get the remodel completed. They don't overcharge for the rooms but it may be a good idea to take a look at your room before moving it all in. I read that in an earlier review and I followed suit. Again, I wouldn't say don't stay I would just make your decision based on what you prefer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriN188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear BriN188,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your compliments on the food, service and conference rooms.

However, I sincerely apologize for you did not find some aspects of our hotel to your liking. We regret that this has negatively impacted your overall experience with us.

Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had stayed at this hotel before, so when we had to be in Madison for three nights, we were confidant that this hotel would fill the bill. It did not disappoint! The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable. Arriving around the supper hour the first night, we were happy to find the bar menu to our liking. It was nice to not have to venture out again, since it was very cold. We ate the breakfast buffet one morning, and Starbucks the next two mornings. It wasn't that the buffet wasn't good, we just didn't want that much food. After spending two long days at State High School Wrestling tournaments, it was very pleasant to relax and have a drink before settling in for the night, The bartender was especially helpful in giving directions, etc.

Room Tip: We like the top "executive" level - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Ok, so a huge snowstorm here in the east has crippled air travel.......6000 flights cancelled over more than 2 days. Called hotel to explain our flight had been cancelled........but being within 24 hrs of check in, they had no sympathy and kept all our money. Yes I realize it's written policy, but if you are unfortunate enough to stay here, remember it's staffed by corporate polices, not caring people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenJC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madison hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Flying out of Madison on a 6 a.m. flight and needed to travel to Madison and stay overnight because of bad weather predicted. Called around to hotels near the airport and the Crowne Plaza was the only one that had a 24 hour shuttle to the airport. Made the reservation over the telephone and the front desk was very helpful and when we arrived they were also very nice. Room was clean and comfortable and suited our needs. Ate at the small bar/restaurant and the waitress was friendly. Not a large selection on the menu but didn't go away hungry. Chekout was easy and shuttle on time to take us to the airport. Next time we have an early flight out of Madison, we won't hesitate to stay at the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Everything at the hotel was great BUT the bed was so hard I couldn't sleep. I already have back issues and couldn't get comfortable as the bed was like sleeping on the floor. Everything else was nice except for this and unfortunately, the sleeping/bed are a very important part of a stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobiqueenx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
0.6 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#46 of 63 in Madison
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
1.4 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#21 of 63 in Madison
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Address: 4402 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in Madison Wisconsin, and is the place to meet for meetings and weddings alike. Our premier Madison hotel is located on the east side, only 3 miles to Dane County Regional Airport, with free 24 hour airport shuttle (departing hotel on every hour), and near to downtown Madison, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and Coliseum, The Kohl Center, The new Overture Center for the Arts, University of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin State Capitol. The hotel has recently upgraded beds to a new level of comfort with 7-pillows, a plush duvet, luxurious sheets and a pillow-top mattress. A great night sleep-guaranteed! The Crowne Plaza Madison, Wisconsin is a newly renovated 6 story hotel conveniently located off I-90/94/39, near East Towne Mall, Madison's largest mall, as well as theatres and restaurants. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison - East Towne, a family-friendly hotel where kids stay free in parents' room and ages 12 and under eat free. Don't leave your pet home alone - the Crowne Plaza Madison is a pet-friendly hotel, offering added amenities at check-in for your furry friend! Crowne Plaza, the best value for Madison Wisconsin Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Madison
Madison Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing