We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown(Madison)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western East Towne Suites(Madison)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison(Madison)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn by Wyndham Madison West(Madison)(Great Value!)
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
180
244
261
150
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
244
261
150
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeep endfrench toastlarge poolbreakfast staffan older hotelhot breakfasthotel barexercise roomnice staygamewi
Filter
Updating list...
883 - 888 of 944 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

my husband and 10 month old daughter and i just stayed at Howard Johnson in Madison for 2 nights. The survives was great loved the people that work there they were so nice and helpful. the breakfast staff was wonderful loved the breakfast they have there. we really liked the pool. the rooms were great clean nice and neat. this is a great hotel one we will defiantly be coming back to this hotel soon. great price and great place to stay. its cheap to stay here and you get more then you pay for. love the location. i was hesitant form the reviews i read before going. i read all of them and i did not find uncleaned or bad survives people are very nice here i will remand it to every one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria W, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

I really think breakfast area should be much cleaner. Dirty fingerprints are everywhere on the food tray, coffee pot, hot water pot......Clod cereal spancer ære not working, sweet roll box is very dirty....Bathroom fan is not working, Both mattress has to be at least 10 years old. Emplyees should do møre clening not keep singing. Breakfast person love to keep sing but we need to have nice clean breakfast not loud voice songs every few min. Love the building Love the location, but after this 6 days stay We will not come back. Wonder where is the manager for this property...???? This place could do much better...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria W, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearence of the hotel. We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

We appreciate your input and hope you decide to stay with us again so we can make your overall experience more enjoyable.

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here in mid-April while in town for a wedding at another hotel. While the staff is friendly and housekeeping is very good, this hotel is in dire need of a renovation. Hallway carpeting is stained, wallpaper is peeling off of walls, etc. The room was clean, but dated. Very nice, large indoor pool area and the free breakfast is pretty good. Wi-Fi is next to impossible to pick up in most areas of the hotel. Would probably not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoAwayPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria W, Desk Representative at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearence of the hotel. We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

We appreciate your input and hope you decide to stay with us again so we can make your overall experience more enjoyable.

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at the Ho-Jo for a weekend while attending a high school athletic event. Rooms are a little outdated but clean. Overall the hotel was quiet, considering there were so many kids running around. Front desk was friendly and helpful, We needed extra towels and housekeeping was prompt and courteous. Overall a nice weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenandgoldfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria W, Desk Representative at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel is digusting!! Do not stay here! We were here just this past weekend and if you want a hotel that allows dogs - EVERYWHERE, then go for it! Barking dogs as 6am - big dogs, little dogs, in the hallway - everywhere! Also, the rooms are very small (pictures are not accurate), dirty, gross - and no smoking..ha! We had to ask to be moved from the 1st room they gave us as the room was still thick w/ the smoke in the room and cig. butts on the ground. The lobby, eating area and bar are the only areas that look half decent. The bed, although suppose to be a queen, was VERY small, even for our 2 little boys. And you could feel the springs coming through. The only thing they have is very nice staff. They were very friendly and did their best to accommodate, but it's not their fault this place is a dump. Also - everyone needs to be aware that this place is a maze - seriously! It is not designed like a normal hotel. We were on the second floor and I can't tell you how many fire doors and turns we had to make to get to the lobby. Don't expect to allow your kids to go meet dad down the hall at the lobby eating...it's not that easy, and I promise they will get lost here. We all got lost...many times. It's freaky...add that with coming around the corner to a huge barking, growling dog and it all adds up to...if you are reading this review....do NOT stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here - go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annk60370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria W, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearence of the hotel.We are also a pet friendly hotel so from time to time there can be multiple pets on property. We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

We appreciate your input and hope you decide to stay with us again so we can make your overall experience more enjoyable.

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews