We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 22 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tyrel M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Better than expected. Breakfast food was ok, coffee great, attendant was a Rock Star entertainer. Would go back just to hear him entertain as he made the room of gloomy faces light up. great way to wake up. Wish I had brought my swim suit. fabulous indoor pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! ! I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff and Mike our Breakfast attendant he will be thrilled to hear!, We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel accomodated my needs - to be shuttled from airport to the hotel and back to the airport. My room was very clean and exceptionally well decorated with up-to-date design. A good overall experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank writingalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! ! I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff, We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I'd never stayed at a Howard Johnson before and wasn't sure what to expect. The lobby and room were up-to-date for an average room. My biggest disappointment was that our room had horrible wi-fi where we were located. Other guests reported it being fine. The breakfast was good (scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, oatmeal, muffins) that was made excellent by Mike, the man who was so energetic that it was catching. Aside from the wi-fi, my only complaint was as we went to check we had everything we found small garbage (plastic wrappers and some other items) between the bedskirt and bed stand that we know weren't ours.This caused our ranking to slip from excellent to average in cleanliness. The workout room had above-average equipment (except one of two treadmills wasn't working) except the hours were awful (7 a.m. opening versus earlier) especially considering there are no rooms nearby to disturb and was too hot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I do apologize about the bed skirt issue and I will pass a long this information to my housekeeping supervisor. Our game room and work out room are 24/7 but our pool does have to close at 11pm but it reopens at 7am! I will pass along the feedback with our staff, We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I was just hoping to find a room for Homecoming weekend. I did, at the Howard Johnson and I was very happy with everything. Super friendly staff from my booking the room until I checked out. It is in a great location. Easy access to the Interstate or to Downtown. It was super clean from the public restrooms to my room. The pool was enormous. Game room, exercise room, awesome bar and a real hot, free breakfast. I even saw they have a fish fry. If I haven't mentioned the great staff and service it is something to repeat. Everyone I passed said "hello" and asked if I needed anything. My room was everything I wanted. Big, comfortable bed, plenty of space and storage, and the bathroom looked newly remodeled. Definitely going to use them again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff, We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#49 of 63 in Madison
102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 3841 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3648
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: £61 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the largest indoor pool in town and one of the best room rates, our full-service Howard Johnson Madison hotel is located near Dane County Regional Airport with airport shuttle service available. Our Madison, WI, hotel offers easy access to Interstates 39, 90 and 94, with easy access for events at Lake Mendota, UW Madison, the state capitol and Alliant Energy Center. Enjoy our enormous game room, work out in the fitness center, or a soak in the whirlpool during your stay. Guest room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access and refrigerators are available upon request. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our pet-friendly Madison, Wisconsin, hotel, and there is parking for your truck, bus or RV. Room service is available or you can enjoy a meal at the Northwood's Bar & Grill, our on-site restaurant. After a sound sleep, start fresh with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a hot buffet before heading out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing