We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Madison”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    216
    234
    135
    96
See reviews for
343
134
60
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Clean room. Very poor wifi signal in room. Excellent pool, hot tub, exercise room, arcade, pool table and bar. Breakfast was super. Scrambled eggs, sausage, French toast along with cereal, juices, milk, coffee.

Room Tip: Inquire about wifi strength in your room before you accept it if this is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff, We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon! We have just changed our service provider and we now have a free wireless high speed internet!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Or
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After a long drive from western Idaho, we checked in easily enough, and proceeded to get unpacked. When I was all done I went to make the bed the way I like it and found that the linens were dirty. I went and got new sheets from the front desk.
After I remade the bed myself, I went to set up my computer on the bedside table, I had to move it to get to the outlets on the wall, and under the table was a 1/2 drank soda bottle on the floor, and a couple handfulls of chips of various kinds scattered about as if this table had never been moved to be cleaned under.
Okay so I dealt with that mess, then went to open the window to see that the window sill were moldy and peeling.
My partner then said, "what does the bathroom look like?"
The tub was dirty with mildew and hair, both toilet paper rolls were nearly empty and there was no tissue.

The building itself was in disrepair! The room door was not hung properly so it made a horrible unsticking sound when you opened it. All over the hotel wall paper was peeling off the walls.
It gets better! On our way to the bar in the lobby; we saw mice.
The internet connection was crap because they never reboot there server or routers nor is their internet password encrypted.
Simple little things were poorly maintained too, the batteries in the remote were dead.
I understand that the breakfast buffet is complimentary, and not meant to be extravagant in any way. However, when trying too hard to save time vs cost, quality suffers. The breakfast buffet was really bad.
The service seemed to be a half hearted attempt at doing their job. They all seemed to be on their own agenda.
I expected way more out of HoJo. Considering this specific hotel is in a capital city, one would figure that they would put forth more of an effort to maintain a higher standard of quality.
I was highly disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. I will forward these concerns to our general manager to ensure everything gets handled accordingly, We are in the process of a remodel, we just received new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just re-updated our largest indoor pool in madison! And we also just changed our internet provider and now have a free high speed internet!


We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madison hotels

Burnsville
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I came as part of a group show at the hotel. I learned afterward that there was both a group rate and that members of the group where lodged in the same wing. I was uninformed of this by staff upon my arrival and ended up in a different wing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff, We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
1.3 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#47 of 63 in Madison
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Address: 3841 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3648
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the largest indoor pool in town and one of the best room rates, our full-service Howard Johnson Madison hotel is located near Dane County Regional Airport with airport shuttle service available. Our Madison, WI, hotel offers easy access to Interstates 39, 90 and 94, with easy access for events at Lake Mendota, UW Madison, the state capitol and Alliant Energy Center. Enjoy our enormous game room, work out in the fitness center, or a soak in the whirlpool during your stay. Guest room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access and refrigerators are available upon request. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our pet-friendly Madison, Wisconsin, hotel, and there is parking for your truck, bus or RV. Room service is available or you can enjoy a meal at the Northwood's Bar & Grill, our on-site restaurant. After a sound sleep, start fresh with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a hot buffet before heading out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing