We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nothing spectacular, but more than adequate. Nice breakfast. Our tub drain did not hold water, so taking a bath was not possible. Not luxurious, but nothing in Madison is! It's 10 minutes from the University. So the location was convenient for us, and the price was comparably low.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review,
we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are glad to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities we have to offer, I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My family of 4 stayed 5-24-14 to 5-25-14 in a room with 2 double beds but very close to the pool and our vehicle. Beds were a tad to hard for me and the hubbers liking but ehhhh no worries. Pool was a nice temp but the way we saw it when we left sunday night is the way we found it monday moring...no towels, dirty towels all over etc.....front desk staff was average except for the lovely lady that was there around 8am monday morning...she's a real gem, customer service is in her blood. If my business was in madison, I would snatch her right up! NOW ON TO BREAKFAST.....not only was it good but Mike I believe his name was, I just cant say enough about him....he greated us all individually and spoke to my hubbers about the weather and coffee....he was singing and making the rounds asking how everyone was doing. It is very rare to have someone with that kind of personality, and have it be genuine. He made our stay in all honesty, he was a breathe of fresh air in world where the level of customer is dependent on what they get paid.... will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Gulletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review,
we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are glad to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities we have to offer, I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After a long day of driving, any place with a bed looked good. We asked for a quiet room as it was not terribly full. We were way around the back side, which was fine, but trying to find the lobby and breakfast was a challenge. Room was average, beds were very firm, typical amenities. Front desk staff was a bit preoccupied with friends, co-workers. I will say though, the breakfast was excellent and staff there very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarmGirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Customer Satisfaction is our number one goal! I will have to have a talk with our staff to ensure that everyone stays in their assigned departments if that was the case, I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cathi P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Bugs in the room, room not cleaned, moldy, smelled of mildew, ROOM DOOR DIDNT LOCK, heater was dirty and smelled of smoke when operated, housekeeping.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. I will forward this to our manager, We do inspect every room before they are rented to ensure they are up to guests and HOJO Standards. All of our Guest rooms doors lock on our property, as they should at every hotel to ensure guest safety, we even lock our main doors at 11PM and have a security officer onsite. We are in the process of a remodel, we just recieved new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just reupdated our largest indoor pool in madison! We also just finished upgrading our T.V's to Flatscreens! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Reguards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 63 in Madison
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#49 of 63 in Madison
107 reviews
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 3841 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3648
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: £55 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the largest indoor pool in town and one of the best room rates, our full-service Howard Johnson Madison hotel is located near Dane County Regional Airport with airport shuttle service available. Our Madison, WI, hotel offers easy access to Interstates 39, 90 and 94, with easy access for events at Lake Mendota, UW Madison, the state capitol and Alliant Energy Center. Enjoy our enormous game room, work out in the fitness center, or a soak in the whirlpool during your stay. Guest room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access and refrigerators are available upon request. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our pet-friendly Madison, Wisconsin, hotel, and there is parking for your truck, bus or RV. Room service is available or you can enjoy a meal at the Northwood's Bar & Grill, our on-site restaurant. After a sound sleep, start fresh with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a hot buffet before heading out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing