We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Safe and good location not anything great.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Madison
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Safe and good location not anything great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Looking at the room I thought this will be great. My bed was really stiff and uncomfortable pillows sucked. The walls are paper thin so I heard people inside and outside really early. My shower seriously sounded like it was screaming high pitch(which I couldn't get to stop) and the temp goes cold to scaulding hot on its own.. I am super tired still and not overly pleased I thought they just fixed the placed but it seems like they just got new TVs. There is no book in the room like most hotels with the WiFi password, pool,fitness room breakfast or restaurant hours. The phone had no directions on how to call the front desk either.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review,
we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are glad to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities we have to offer, I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff! and bring these concerns up with our General Manager to ensure everything gets handled accordingly, We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    182
    191
    120
    80
See reviews for
286
114
53
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My pals at United Airlines put me up for the night last month at the Ho-Jo in Madison when their sorry excuse for airplane had an engine that wouldn't crank. We passengers were "assured" they'd tried everything including "jumper cables." Confidence building for sure!! The room was clean. I caught dinner at the grocery store next door. I had never seen a Hy-Vee. What a nice place with great food to eat-in or take away. I suggested to my wife that it was like Whole Foods for the common man. One reviewer recently said the Ho-Jo's neighborhood was sketchy - not true - I felt very safe.

Room Tip: 2nd floor addition rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onmyhonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review,
we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are glad to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities we have to offer, I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I've stayed at the Howard Johnson Madison several times and for the most part had a pleasant stay. No, it's not the Ritz but the rooms were clean, the pool area big and relaxing, and the breakfast a nice touch. I'm not a fussy person, I even feel a little awkward complaining about a budget hotel, but my last visit was unacceptable.
I recently stayed and I have to say this is the first time I've been disappointed. I stayed in the West wing and my room was badly in need of an update. The desk had huge and obvious ink, writing, and scorch marks all over it. The chair was stained and definitely seen better days. The toilet ran constantly and had large rust stains. The air conditioner would turn on for only 3 minutes tops, then shut off for a hour, making the room very hot. Lastly, the internet was iffy at best. Mostly it was too slow to even use at all.
This hotel needs to pay more attention to maintenance and upkeep. I'm not sure I would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EziliGede23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. I will forward these concerns to our general manager to ensure everything gets handled accordingly, We are in the process of a remodel, we just received new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just re-updated our largest indoor pool in madison! And we also just changed our internet provider and now have a free high speed internet!


We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Got stuck in Madison, and needed a hotel for the night. For some reason, many of the other hotels on the east side were booked solid. Managed to catch an opening here. The neighborhood was "interesting" (in a bad way), the hallways all stunk of cigarette smoke, and the carpets were all dirty. The room itself was semi clean, but the light poured in around the door frame at night. Luckily my motorcycle was still there in the morning, and I headed out of town. There was a shooting near by the following night. On top of that, it wasn't cheap.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor_Ratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. I will forward these concerns to our general manager to ensure everything gets handled accordingly, We are in the process of a remodel, we just received new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just re-updated our largest indoor pool in madison! And we also just changed our internet provider and now have a free high speed internet!

At the Howard Johnson Plaza we aim for 100% guest satisfaction! All of our doors around our property stay locked 24/7 then the main entrance will get locked after a certain hour, and we do have security on property to ensure the building is quite and safe and secure.


We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Thank you for your great service Kyle was busy and took care of all of us very efficiently missed the regular breakfast guy.The staff are always great.Ive seen that they have done some remodeling the hotel, love the Friday fish fry

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carriemu2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review,
we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are glad to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities we have to offer, I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for a quick night before our 5am flight. The hotel is clearly in need of a renovation but I wasn't going to complain because the park and fly rate was very good and the staff was very nice. Went to the bar and had drinks and dinner. The bartender was VERY nice.
Here are my complaints
1. There was mold in our shower
2. The bathroom sink was cracked, like when a rock hits your windshield and starts to splinter off, that's what it looked like. The whole sink was cracking
3. We were in some weird hallway very far away. After taking the elevator to the top and walking to the end of the hallway there was a sign saying more rooms were though a door. So we walked all the way down that hall. Found another sign and followed that to end of another hallway.
4.We were next to another door going to another hallway so all night long I heard the slam of this door. 2 am, 3am, 4am.
5. Hotel food was awful, I mean just awful. I wish I had not been exhausted and would have just gone anywhere else.
6. Our room smelled..
7. On the chair in the room, it was covered in stains. ew

Room Tip: I would ask for the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mergarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. I will forward these concerns to our general manager to ensure everything gets handled accordingly, We are in the process of a remodel, we just received new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just re-updated our largest indoor pool in madison! And we also just changed our internet provider and now have a free high speed internet!


We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stopped here on our way home from Wyoming for 2 days. This is a very nice hotel and they have a great pool area for visitors. It is an older hotel but the rooms were clean and we had no problem with noise. There is a game room next to the pool, an exercise room and laundry next to that. Was very convenient to sit and watch kids in pool while getting the laundry caught up. Internet was good, and all in all we had a nice stay. Breakfast was good, and the man running it was very friendly and entertaining. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneO489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review,
we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are glad to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities we have to offer, I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#46 of 61 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Address: 3841 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3648
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the largest indoor pool in town and one of the best room rates, our full-service Howard Johnson Madison hotel is located near Dane County Regional Airport with airport shuttle service available. Our Madison, WI, hotel offers easy access to Interstates 39, 90 and 94, with easy access for events at Lake Mendota, UW Madison, the state capitol and Alliant Energy Center. Enjoy our enormous game room, work out in the fitness center, or a soak in the whirlpool during your stay. Guest room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access and refrigerators are available upon request. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our pet-friendly Madison, Wisconsin, hotel, and there is parking for your truck, bus or RV. Room service is available or you can enjoy a meal at the Northwood's Bar & Grill, our on-site restaurant. After a sound sleep, start fresh with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a hot buffet before heading out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing