We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bunk beds in the family suite were TERRIBLE!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The bunk beds in the family suite were TERRIBLE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a family night away before we went to a play in Fort Atkinson. We booked this hotel due to the fact it advertised a water park and we have family in Madison. If your children are very little the water park is great, but we have a 6 and 8 year old and that is probably the oldest that would enjoy it. The first room we were given had a view of the pool which was nice to look at, but the chlorine smell was terrible. We called the front desk and they were working on finding us a new room when a maintenance man came by. He could see we were standing outside our room, the chlorine smell was too strong for us to even be in there. He immediately got on his radio and found us a new Room. If you are sensitive to smells at all make sure you get a room not facing the pool. Our room was a room at the end of the hall so it was extra large. We loved the room, the view everything until it came time to go to bed. Our room had a bunk bed room which the kids thought was great, but every time they moved the bed squeaked. It was TERRIBLE. Not only did it squeak but screws fell out of it. We did eat lunch and breakfast at the restaurant and the food was ok, but not great. Breakfast is free so that was nice. If we needed a room somewhere in Madison we would consider this place again it was clean, and had a pool, but we wouldn't get a bunk bed room again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslielf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites while you were visiting the Madison area with family. The Crawdaddy Cove Waterpark is the perfect getaway with small children - however even adults can go down our slide. There is also a whirlpool, game area and boat area with slides for small children. I apologize our guest room did not meet your expectations, please contact our general manager at the hotel direct 608-203-4700 if you would like to discuss further. We do offer the kids eat free program in our Benvenuto's Italian Restaurant. The hotel is located just 3 blocks from over 25 stores and restaurants as well. The perfect location for relaxing and shopping. We hope you will give us a second chance when visiting our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    111
    49
    26
    22
See reviews for
175
34
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel at the last minute. It was myself, wife and 10 year old daughter. On our way back home from Mayo's. The hotel looked very upscale and inviting. The rooms were clean. We ate at their in house restaurant. Very good food and reasonable considering it was a pricier menu. Now for the down side. Their advertised water park is extremely small though it did provide some entertainment for my daughter. The room above us had a children's birthday party going on. We heard every foot step running across the floor along with every jump off the bed to the floor. This went on until 11 pm. Awesome parental supervision. Then we received our 6:30 am wake up with the sound of the dumpster under our window being slammed about. We thought a thunder storm was blowing through. Then the room above us began their acrobats again. This is probably a nice hotel if it wasn't for all the unsupervised children running around. Probably a great place for a kid's birthday or a bachelor party but not so much if stopping in for a night's rest after spending all day on the road.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites home of Crawdaddy Cove Waterpark while you were passing through the Madison area. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our waterpark and Benvenuto;s Italian Grill Restaurant. I apologize you had to deal with the noise of one of our other quests. Our goal is to make sure our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay. We hope you will give us a second chance when visiting our area.

Thank you again for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Room was large and nicely decorated but beds/pillows not that comfortable to us. Front desk staff were nice and helpful. Pool area was unique and nice but small. Don't know I would necessarily call it a "water park", but my kids still had fun. Went on the weekend so seemed a little crowded and there was a B-day party there next to the pool area. Water and air
temperature in the pool area could have been warmer. If it was less crowded and water was warmer, would have had a better time. Wi-fi password given to me at check in didn't work on my phone (didn't inquire further into it; wasn't a big deal). Stayed there on our way back from the Dells, so it was a little underwhelming... But overall, nice hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JSNDRLNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were passing through the Madison, and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate your feedbeack about the waterpark and will address it with our staff. Our goal is to make sure our guests have a fun and enjoyable time during their stay with us. Crawdaddy Cove is the perfect getaway for a weekend with small children. We hope to see you again when you are visiting our area.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We recently stayed for a wedding, and were pleasantly surprised by the amenities of the property. The on-site Italian restaurant was ideal for a pre-wedding lunch with friends. The pool area is great for kids. Adults will enjoy the hottub. The staff was friendly and our room was clean. We were able to check in early without issue, and our stay was quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in a room above banquet hall if you need to go to sleep early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBoehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, home of Crawdaddy Cove Waterpark - Have fun on the slides or just relax in the whirlpool.

The hotel is a great place for families of all ages. You can relax in our Lobby Bar area by the fireplace, enjoy cocktails or dine at Benvenuto's Italian Grill. Holiday Inn Kids Eat Free Program.

Our goal is to make sure our staff provide an excellent stay so you feel at home when you are traveling. We look forward to seeing you again when you are traveling to our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is amazing for the rating.
Way above the average hotel. The pool is awesome and the hotel looks like a 4 star hotel.
REALLY worth it, specially if traveling with Family and kids.

The beds were very comfortable and the lobby luxurious. There was a wedding going on and there was not a sound or vibration bothering in the rooms.

GREAT HOTEL

Room Tip: Bring your swimming suits this pool is not an ordinary pool. More like an indoor park & spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjllau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites while you were in town for the Dairy Expo. The hotel offers something for everyone. Kids can enjoy the waterpark, adults can unwind at one of our bars or have breakfast, l;unch or dinner at our Benvenuto's Restaurant.

The hotel is located just 6 miles from the Dairy Expo Grounds and just 3 blocks from over 25 stores and restaurant. It is the perfect location for business or pleasure. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at this property for an a wedding, and I'm of two minds about it.

One the plus side, the facilities, food, and service for the wedding were lovely, the on-site restaurant had very good food (albeit poor service), and the common areas were better than a typical Holiday Inn (we didn't use the pool, though, which seems to be the main draw).

On the other hand, our experience as overnight guests was exceptionally disappointing. We arrived around midnight the evening before our event. The first room to which we were assigned had a broken air conditioner (and noticeable white stains on the couch), so we went back down to the lobby to get reassigned. The staff member said that he did not have another king suite, so he "upgraded" us to a room with a large Jacuzzi along one wall. Though it would have gone unused, this would have generally been fine had it not been for the condition of the room—the Jacuzzi was not clean (the jets were stained, and there was hair in the tub), the furniture and carpet were very worn, a lampshade was broken, and the grout in the bathroom was black along the edge of the shower stall. Because it was after midnight, we did stay in the room that night, but rather than trying a third room at the Holiday Inn, we checked out the following morning, and instead spent the next night at the newer, cleaner, more comfortable Hilton Garden Inn a few blocks to the north (for the same cost as the 'discounted' block rate).

I saw several other rooms during our visit to the property, and they were much cleaner and better kept (though still a bit tired), so I'm not sure why we were placed in some of the worst rooms in the house. But from our experience, I can say for sure that I would not chance a reservation at this property again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerps, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the hotel. I apologize we did not meet your guest room expectations. Our goal is to deliver excellent customer service and to make sure our travelers have a comfortable and relaxing stay. Please contact the General Manager at the hotel if you would like to discuss your stay further. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us a second chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed with teenage kids. While a lot of the water park type swimming area works best for younger kids, the area is spacious & enjoyable for older kids too especially with the rooms that have pool access. Our family didn't use the pool as much as the spa. The areas surrounding the pools have plenty of tables & chairs outside each room. The bar right in the lobby was convenient. this location is a bit hard to find even when in front of it as it doesn' t have a big "Holiday Inn" sign. Use a GPS & you'll be fine. All in all, Very satisfied.

Room Tip: If you intend to swim, the extra money to get a room connected to the pool is worth it. We preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 007TravelDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites home of Crawdaddy Cove Waterpark. The waterpark is fun for kids of all ages especially children 10 and under. The waterpark offers boat area that is perfect for children even under 2 years old. Adults can enjoy the large waterslide and the whirlpool, or just sit back and relax.

The hotel offers a variety or room types to choose from to fit your family needs along with our on-site restaurant and bar. We are also located just blocks from over 25 stores and restaurants

We look forward to seeing you again when you are visiting our area
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison West
12.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
12.9 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel
Magnuson Grand Hotel
#50 of 61 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West
Address: 1109 Fourier Drive, Madison, WI 53717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West This upscale full service Madison, Wisconsin hotel is walking distance to dining and upscale shopping at the Greenway Station in Middleton, WI. Located less than 3 miles from the University of Wisconsin Madison Research Park and 5 miles from the University of WI Hospital & Clinics, Camp Randall Stadium & the downtown Madison, Wisconsin capitol. Complimentary daily shuttle to and from Epic Systems & other businesses, airport & attractions by pre-arrangement. Expect to be impressed at this Madison, WI hotel if you are visiting one of the areas nearby - 5 miles from the Kohl Center, Alliant Energy Center and a short drive to the Monona Terrace Convention Center and the Madison Overture Center. Spacious guest rooms with business amenities; free wireless in-room high-speed Internet access and free airport shuttle. 69 deluxe suites; whirlpool suites, two room suites and kid suites. Executive level business floor. On-site George's Chophouse Restaurant and Z Martini Piano Lobby Bar, room service and 4,000 square feet of elegant Madison, WI meeting space. Catering to the needs of business travelers with such unique programs as: our Monday - Thursday Priority Club Reception from 5 PM - 7 PM or our bonus point offers, see Priority Club rates for details. Traveling with your family? Enjoy this Wisconsin hotel's Indoor Water Park - Crawdaddy Cove! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Madison West
Holiday Inn Madison
Madison Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing