We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Independent Opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
dixon, United States
1 review
“Independent Opinion”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The service was great! The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had at a hotel. Parking was a little confusing but once we figured it our it was good. The rooms were comfortable and I had a good nite sleep! The bed was so comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Donna, Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting in the area. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our outstanding breakfast, as well as our spacious guest rooms with our Sweet Dreams Bed. Thank You again for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    232
    51
    17
    8
See reviews for
282
163
71
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed last night for one night. As many have noted, the hotel is very conveniently located to State offices and to UW. What struck us, though, was the friendliness of all of the staff whom we encountered - the front desk workers, the restaurant staff, the maintenance man that we visited with at the pool, and the courtesy van driver. The next time we are in Madison, we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Mark, Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the area. We are beyond thrilled you recognized our award-winning staff and our superb downtown location on the UW campus. We take pride in delivering exceptional customer service in every department with our friendly team members. Thank You again for your review and we can’t wait to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice hotel- very friendly receptionists and quite helpful. They gave us extra cookies at checkout!! The breakfast buffet was excellent with many gourmet and healthy options. The presentation was quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello, and Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while on your stay. We are pleased our friendly staff could be helpful and that you enjoyed our incredible breakfast buffet. We really do believe it is the best in town! The cookies are the best in the world—make sure to ask for an extra next time you check in! Thank You again for your review and we hope to have the privilege of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, WI, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This a great hotel in a great location between the Capitol and the UW campus. We have stayed a number of times and have always been pleased. The rooms are attractive, well appointed and clean. The staff is great, very quick check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Michael, Thank You for being a loyal guest with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison. We are delighted that we can provide you with outstanding customer service in every department. Are you a HHonors Member? If so, when you stay with us now through March 31st, you can earn FREE double points. Again, Thank You for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Within walking distance of The Kohl Center, State Street, General Campus. Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely stay here again, great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Alyssa, Thank You for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for your kind review. We couldn’t agree more that the location of our hotel is extraordinary, especially if you’re wanting to visit State Street, the UW campus, or the Kohl Center for a Badger game. Our staff is exceptional and we take pride in serving every guest at our hotel. Thank You again for your review and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I say this even though we changed rooms. The staff was exceedingly pleasant, and had a room for us last Sunday about 11:00am. The rooms are very nice, clean, and one of the only hotels I know of with nice bright lights. Also, you can't beat the location, and once parked, can walk to most anything. We checked in and went to a show. We came back after dinner, and about 8:30pm, the two rooms next to us were so loud I thought their doors were open (they weren't). I asked the desk if we could move, and they said sure, but offered to take care of things so we could stay. We just moved to save any future issues. Once In our new room, it was quite, except for my snoring, as I slept thorough the night. There is free parking on the second level. A very nice stay, but again, whom ever trains the staff is doing an excellent job.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrenceDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Wow! Thank You for your very thoughtful review and selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison for your stay. We are beyond thrilled that our award winning staff could go above and beyond for you while accommodating your every need. We also agree our complimentary parking and location is hard to beat, with hundreds of shops, restaurant and entertainment just a few steps away. Again, Thank You for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing