We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only problem is the shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Only problem is the shower”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I found the facilities and the staff great, but the shower was very weak. Getting the correct temperature was also difficult! The hotel is in a good location if you wish to be downtown. The hotel shuttle is really helpful for getting to and from the airport. The staff are helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank rosemaryr154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling the area and for taking the time to write your review. We have passed along your message to our maintenance department and they have addressed the issue. Our location, as well as our complimentary shuttle, is a fantastic asset to our property. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    223
    47
    17
    8
See reviews for
267
155
68
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pleasant prairie wi, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were extremely happy with our stay. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean. Location was excellent. No need to get back into the car, we were able to walk to the concert, dinner, around the capital. Pool and whirlpool very clean. (maintenance was testing the pool water when we can in to swim). And yes, the chocolate chip cookies given when checking in were excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Teresa, Thank You for your fantastic recommendation and for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with your family. From our award-winning staff, to our incredible downtown location, we truly are the best property in Madison! Our warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in will ensure your stay with us will feel like home. Thank You again for your thoughtful review and recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Slept like a rock and felt that even though many of the staff members were students, they took pride in the service they provided. My stay was for business and was during a block party and I slept like a rock. The only complaint I have is that the bathroom counters are very small and my toiletries did not all fit. Great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Ashley, Thank You for your fantastic review and choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling on business. Our Sweet Dreams® Bed is a favorite among our guests and makes every night's sleep enjoyable. We are very happy that the service of our staff made for a great stay. Thank You for your review and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

ALL of the staff was professional, friendly, and helpful. Our stay was wonderful and will be back on our next visit. Your schuttle service was a huge help while we were there. The breakfast we ate in the resturant was excellent as well as the service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 663jerrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello, and Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling the area. We are excited to hear you enjoyed our property, including our award-winning staff, our complimentary shuttle service and our delicious breakfast buffet. Again, Thank You for your kind words and we hope to see you on your next visit to Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Most enjoyable experience. From the moment we were picked up at the airport via the complementary shuttle we were treated well. I would highly recommend this spot if you are in Madison for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Clara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Clara, Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the area. Our complimentary shuttle is certainly a great amenity of our hotel, whether you're traveling to Madison for business or pleasure. We are thrilled you enjoyed your hotel experience with us and we Thank You for your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I use to stay at many hotels in Madison, until I found the DoubleTree. The front desk staff goes above and beyond to help you. They even made a restaurant reservation and scheduled a free shuttle to take us there! We had two different shuttle drivers and they were both so much fun to talk to on the way. Staff is friendly and you can't beat the centralized downtown location!! Keep up the fantastic work!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We are so glad you found us! You're right, our staff does go above and beyond to help every one of our guests in the best possible way. Our front desk is knowledgeable about the downtown area and are great at making fantastic recommendations to restaurants, shops, and entertainment within the area. Thank You again for your sincere review and we can't wait to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mapleton, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very comfortable hotel with excellent, helpful staff. The hotel is conveniently located, especially for University of Wisconsin activities. Convenient off-street parking. Overall, a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank HewhotraveledtoLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for your great review! Our location, as well as our complimentary parking and shuttle, absolutely make us a 'good place to stay' when in Madison. Again, Thank You for your thoughtful review and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing